We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upgrade - standard single rooms too small, noisy and cramped.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Hotel City Copenhagen
Ranked #20 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Despite it being a great hotel, I couldn't give it a good review based on my standard single room next to the elevator. You can hear everyone using the lifts. The bed had a foam cushion top loosely placed on the top of the bed. Very soft. The showers are the smallest size you can get. Add to this curtain shower screens which reduce the interior size even more. It is impossble to shower without hitting the sides.

I would recommend upgrading. I assume the rooms are further from the lifts and the size of the showers are larger.

That aside the location was great and the hotel is in good condition. Great staff.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Becstar_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,243)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

565 - 571 of 1,243 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2013

I visited Copenhagen for a business congres. I booked the hotel based on previous reviews on tripadvisor.com. The location of the hotel is excellent, in the center of the city and it is very easy to reach every major attraction within minutes walking. The staff was very polite and helpfull. The room was spacious enought but the bathroom was small, the closet was small and the heating was very difficu

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paristraveller62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Good location only 5 minutes walk from Kongens Nytorv Metro and round the corner from Nyhavn. Great buffet breakfast with good selection of breads, meats, cheeses etc. Friendly, helpful staff.

We opted for a superior double which was a good size although the bathroom was very small with a tiny shower, but clean and comfortable.

Altogether a reasonably priced hotel in a good location.

Room Tip: Worth payng the bit extra for a superior double or twin
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Girard5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

The desk staff was wonderful. One of them even biked out of her way to check for us on the location of a bustop. This she did after her shift at 11:00 P.M. on a night when it under 30 degrees F. Also the breakfast is sumptuous and delicious. The room was relatively large, and of course, spotless. The only drawback was that the shower space had been shoehorned into an irregular space and it resulted in a shower space that was inconvenient, at best. Overall, I would stay here again since the location was convenient for visiting the major attractions and the museums.

Room Tip: We had room 403. I have no idea if other rooms have a larger shower space, but you might ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sonostudente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

I booked this hotel online through Expedia on the strength of the positive reviews and I was not disappointed. Short of staying at The Admiral or the Scandic (or The Strand round the corner actually on the canal) there isn't a better location to visit the city. It is 5mn from the beautiful harbour of Nyhavn, by the canal, with wonderful walks to do, and 5mn from the big metro station Kongens Nyhavn, station straight to/from the airport in 15mn. Could not be easier. I had a superior single, lovely room opening on the quiet street with a side view of the canal. Loved the pics on the wall of jazz musicians...The breakfast buffet, in the very pleasant breakfast hall, was wonderful. Lots to eat for all tastes, nice quality food, lots of fresh choices. I did not have massive dealings with the staff but they all seem very friendly and if I'd needed anything I 'm sure they would have been lovely. The hotel decoration is very slick, as mentionned, lots of black and white pictures, very stylish. So why is this hotel only a three stars? One unfortunately, massive clue: the very thin walls of the bedrooms. 3 nights out of four I had neighbours on one side, and thanks god, each nights, this 3 set of couples were silent after 11pm or so. If you are unlucky enough to have noisy ones, your stay will be ruined. The floors creak and it's as if people are in your own room. Multiply this by two sides and possibly some above, it could be nasty. The quality of a stay is only equal to the quality of your sleep, whatever else the hotel offers. Mine was fantastic each nights, but close shave I would say. I think with some sound-proofing of walls (corridors, lifts are very quiet) this hotel would really be a 4 stars. Adding a mini-bar fridge in the rooms too. Apart from that one down note, book confidently, it is an absolutely great place to stay.

Room Tip: Usually I would not be a fan of staying street side but this one is lovely, sunny, quiet with canal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Josephien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We just return from a 4-day stay in Copenhagen. Best western city hotel is very well situated in the center near almost every attraction. The hotel staff was very friendly and professional, rooms very clean and spacey (superior), very comfortable bed and pillows, and the breakfast more than average with a variety that is not the same every day! I would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: Superior rooms are really spacey!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DrMaslow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Great location near the Metro and Nyhavn. We had asked for an early check in and the room was available when we arrived at 10.15am. The room was very clean but the bathroom was very small - easy to bruise your elbows in the shower. Breakfast was great. Overall a perfect place for a short break in a lovely city.

If you fancy doing something a bit different, go to the zoo!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gibbsgirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
#24 of 117 in Copenhagen
4,177 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Scandic Palace Hotel
Scandic Palace Hotel
#23 of 117 in Copenhagen
2,287 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Skt. Petri
Skt. Petri
#8 of 117 in Copenhagen
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 117 in Copenhagen
2,658 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#4 of 117 in Copenhagen
352 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Strand
Copenhagen Strand
#26 of 117 in Copenhagen
1,495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Hotel City Copenhagen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Hotel City Copenhagen

Address: Peder Skrams Gade 24, Copenhagen 1054, Denmark (Formerly Best Western Hotel City)
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
#16 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
#21 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range: $159 - $448 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Hotel City Copenhagen 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Hotel City is a Danish design hotel in the center of Copenhagen. Located in a quiet street behind the Royal Theatre and Nyhavn, close to shopping, restaurants, museums and The Opera House.All rooms are furnished with Danish design like Arne Jakobsen and GUBI, large black/white jazz portraits, Samsung flatscreen TV and free WIFI all over the hotel.Easy access from the airport by Metro to Kongens Nytorv ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Plus Hotel City Copenhagen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Copenhagen
Best Western Copenhagen
Copenhagen Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing