We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and great service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Hotel City Copenhagen
Ranked #18 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location and great service”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for a few days in the spring and we were very happy.
This hotel is almost perfectly situated in a quiet street 100 meters from Nyhavn.
The room was nice and clean and good sized.
Breakfast was very good and the breakfast staff was very serviceminded and effective.
I absolutely recommend this hotel for every one who is staying in the fantasic city of Copenhagen.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marius H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    566
    209
    35
    14
See reviews for
148
557
101
166
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

I went here for a weekend with friends. Really pleasant staff and good value food. Breakfast was really good quality and the bar was reasonable for Copenhagen. The location is one of the best things and you really are minutes from the centre of things. The bars etc in nyhaven are just around the corner. The room was basic in terms of facilities but had everything for the stars the hotel is. Definitely stay here again.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank melyn27042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

We picked this hotel as a deal package bundled with airline tickets via one of the travel websites. I believe that if you book it as a stand alone, you get the flexibility to cancel your reservation up to a few days before, which is a nice option.
We stayed there over a weekend visiting Copenhagen. As many reviewers mentioned, it's conveniently located close to a subway station that takes you directly to/from the airport, no train changes. Also, just a couple of blocks away from the hotel are a couple of options for city canal tours on boats.
The staff at this hotel are fantastic and extremely helpful! They took the time to suggest places to see and things to do around the city and that really added to our experience. They also were gracious to open a bottle of wine we had and let us use wine glasses from their bar!
Breakfast includes a very good variety and we had no complaints about food quality. The hotel had quality bicycles that you can rent for 125 DKK per day, flat fee. We thought it was the best way to see the city in the limited time we had.
The room was clean, but a bit dated in terms of bathroom setup and fixtures. The bed has a soft mattress and the pillows are quite cozy.
It included a teapot and the usual choice of tea and coffee in the room, but they didn't have any regular coffee packets, just decaf!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank ayk73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed here twice (one night on the way down to Geneva and two nights the way back). The hotel room was spacious enough and we were allowed to bring our dog with us. Staff was pleasant but nothing over the top. The hotel is centrally located and in walking distance to shopping as well as many good restaurants/cafes in the "harbor". The only unfortunate aspect was that we had to park on the street which is pricey.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tique222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

...because there certainly isn't the space in the room to swing it ! The rooms are very small and cell like with minimal facilities, OK to crash, but you will not want to spend any time there.

There is no restaurant in the hotel and only a small, minimally stocked bar. Breakfast is fine and served buffet style in the foyer extension. Don't arrive late expecting to get a meal though, the hotel is reasonably well located but there are only two places to eat close by (Indian and a steak house). It is a good 15 minute walk into the town where you will find a good selection of bars and restaurants.

Staff are friendly, hotel is clean but lacking ambiance and the areas to relax.

In short, not a place in which you would want to spend any time at all, but a reasonable base from which to explore the town.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mal A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Assen, Netherlands
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

This well-run city hotel is an excellent base for either business or pleasure. The service is excellent, helpful advice is on tap and the rooms are cosy, quiet and well-appointed. There is a wonderful, low-lying jazz music feel about this place and please read the other positive comments about the breakfast.

The location of the hotel is excellent; lovely harbour-side restaurants are just around the corner and you can access the city metro system after a 5 minute walk around the Royal Theatre. For pub afficionados, the local at the end of the street is...local.

This is sophistication in an affordable city hotel - thank you!

Room Tip: Even the single rooms have everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BritTravellerTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed here for a couple of days at Christmas time to experience the Christmas atmosphere. Rooms were not good and the bathroom was very bad with a bad smell. Hot water was all the time an issue. Breakfast was OK but we appreciated it was included otherwise it would be too expensive to get some elsewhere in the city, everything so very expensive in this city. No value for anything!!! The staff at the hotel was extremely accommodating and helpful. They really helped us and answered all our questions. The reason I rate it with four is because of the staff.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly_Burns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#3 of 116 in Copenhagen
200 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 116 in Copenhagen
1,814 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Scandic Palace Hotel
Scandic Palace Hotel
#19 of 116 in Copenhagen
2,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
#23 of 116 in Copenhagen
3,858 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#4 of 116 in Copenhagen
2,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Hotel City Copenhagen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Hotel City Copenhagen

Property: Best Western Plus Hotel City Copenhagen
Address: Peder Skrams Gade 24, Copenhagen 1054, Denmark (Formerly Best Western Hotel City)
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
#16 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
#21 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Hotel City Copenhagen 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Hotel City is a Danish design hotel in the center of Copenhagen. Located in a quiet street behind the Royal Theatre and Nyhavn, close to shopping, restaurants, museums and The Opera House.All rooms are furnished with Danish design like Arne Jakobsen and GUBI, large black/white jazz portraits, Samsung flatscreen TV and free WIFI all over the hotel.Easy access from the airport by Metro to Kongens Nytorv ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Hotel City Copenhagen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Copenhagen
Best Western Copenhagen
Copenhagen Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing