We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Best Western City, Copenhagen” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hotel City
Ranked #16 of 119 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Best Western City, Copenhagen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Short 4 day break with my wife. The hotel was much better than some of the previous reviewers suggested. Are room overlooked the court yard. The room was nicely furbished and was very large for a city centre hotel. The entire hotel was very clean and had a nice feel to it. Breakfast was a welcome start to the day, and has the added bonus of not closing till 10am. Staff very helpful. Kongens Nytorv st Metro was a short 5 minute walk away. The hotel is 5 minute walk away from Nyhavn and a 15 minute walk from Tivoli. Great location for access to most areas. Take a map and you can access most of the best bits within a 20 minute walk. Well recommended.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a superior room, the extra charge is minimal but guarantees you one of the larger refurbi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mark h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,008 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    498
    188
    30
    10
See reviews for
119
496
89
140
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sussex
Level Contributor
66 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Only 10 easy minutes from the metro. A cheery welcome and early access to a great room. A typical city centre well heated hotel room. Good bed, a roomy room but a cubicle sized bathroom.Breakfast was good,but high demand at a weekend reduced choices for 'late' risers.Too cold to use the hotel's bikes. A suprisingly good value hotel bar, at night.
Easy walks to all the main sights,including the amazing Tivoli gardens.
Only down side was the only grumpy person in Danemark on afternoon reception duty.

Room Tip: Try for a room at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oldhippy58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

Nothing in Copenhagen is cheap, but this hotel proved to be an excellent value. The room was spotlessly clean and larger than I was expecting. The breakfast buffet was large and had a great variety of foods. The location was great for Nyhavn and the rest of central Copenhagen. Plenty of restaurants near the hotel.

Hotel was a short walk from the Kongens Nytorv Metro stop with quick, easy access to CPH Kastrup Airport.

As an aside, be sure you have a ticket for the Metro. On the short trip from Kongens Nytorv to the airport we had ours checked twice. I understand the fine is large for getting caught without a ticket.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank djw251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for a short weekend in Copenhagen. I was there to visit the Christmas market at the Tivoli Gardens and chose this hotel due to previous reviews that it was fairly close to Tivoli. However, this hotel is not close to Tivoli. It is close to a 30 minute brisk walk "across town". It is not far from other attractions; the Little Mermaid, Queens castle, pedestrian shopping mall, etc., but not close either. I believe there are more centrally located hotels.

On a positive note, the front desk staff were very kind and helpful and the hotel is as mentioned in other reviews, very quiet.

The rooms are smaller than small. I live in Europe and used to European-sized rooms, but this was tiny. A very small almost triangular shaped room with an incredibly small bathroom. Large bathrooms are not a priority for me, but this shower had just enough room to squeeze between the walls. Without question, the smallest room I have ever stayed in.

And although upon seeing the room I had my doubts about the comfort of the bed, it was very comfortable with a comforter and plump pillows.

So, all in all, it was fine.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Living_in_Paris_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I booked this hotel on the strength of its reviews, and was not disappointed. The hotel is well located, within easy walking distance of Nyhavn and Strøget, and close to Kongens Nytorv metro station. The self-service buffet breakfast is varied and worth getting out of bed for, and the staff were friendly and helpful.

We were in room 505, which was perhaps a little small with two single beds, but perfectly clean and comfortable with no noise problems. Don't expect great views as there is another hotel directly opposite.

A good 3-star hotel, and the large keyring with a handy bottle opener is a nice touch. I'd happily stay again.

As others have said, the Copenhagen Card is well worth the money - you can get this from the information desk at the airport.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spiritedlydave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Pros: front desk helpful and cheerful. Rooms, while small, were comfortable, two large pillows, down comforters, TV at a nice angle for ease of viewing. Yes, bathroom is very small, but probably in line with a 3 star. Great, comfortable leather chairs in lobby. Complimentary international newspapers available.
Cons: Dirty, tattered carpet and chipped paint in elevators. They breakfast was expansive, but the eggs were (really) inedible. It was if they had been prepared from a powdered mix? There were half eaten plates all over the dining room. A shame if you have chosen a hotel for its inclusive breakfast. Lastly, we could never get internet working on my computer. The attendant at the front desk gamely assisted, but no one could seem to figure out the problem. It was odd, as I had just traveled with the computer through two other countries the previous two weeks without problem.

Overall the hotel was fine, but I would check out other options were I to visit Copenhagen again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thibaultravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We did a lot of research and reviewed trip advisor inside and out before we selected this hotel based on all the mostly good feedback. We booked a 'superior' room. When we arrived, the man at the front desk was less than helpful, quite unfriendly, and gave us a room key. We went up to the 'closet' that was a room on the 1st floor and said - wow - we get to spend 8 days here paying how much to live in a closet and look at the vents from the lobby below? Think not. So we went back down and asked, "is this the best you can do for us - our money and supposedly superior room?'. He seemed taken aback asking what we meant. After we explained that we were here for a good amount of time and had requested a superior room - that if that was superior we've got a problem. He gave us another room - on 4th floor - it was a palace compared to the first one. We wondered if he stuck us there because we were women? Hope not. Anyhow, it got better after that. We loved the location, and found it very handy, conveniently located to most of what we wanted to see and do. The breakfasts were great - lots of variety and plenty for everyone. The room was comfortable, the staff were friendly - even the unhelpful fellow at the front desk seemed to get nicer as the days went on! Would recommend the place, generally Best Westerns don't disappoint and overall, this worked really well for us.

Room Tip: 409 was good - room faced court yard was quieter- floor sloped a bit from window side of the bed - b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bracam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
#21 of 119 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 stars 3,305 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 119 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 stars 1,165 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Scandic Palace Hotel
Scandic Palace Hotel
#18 of 119 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 stars 1,622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Vesterbro
Copenhagen Marriott Hotel
Copenhagen Marriott Hotel
#7 of 119 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 stars 875 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
CopenHagen Strand
CopenHagen Strand
#29 of 119 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 stars 1,210 reviews
Outer Vesterbro
Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel City

Property: BEST WESTERN Hotel City
Address: Peder Skrams Gade 24, Copenhagen 1054, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
#16 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
#21 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel City 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Hotel City is a Danish design hotel in the center of Copenhagen. Located in a quiet street behind the Royal Theatre and Nyhavn, close to shopping, restaurants, museums and The Opera House.All rooms are furnished with Danish design like Arne Jakobsen and GUBI, large black/white jazz portraits, Samsung flatscreen TV and free WIFI all over the hotel.Easy access from the airport by Metro to Kongens Nytorv ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Copenhagen
Best Western Copenhagen
Copenhagen Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing