We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well situated and optimal service ! I recommend it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Hotel City Copenhagen
Ranked #20 of 118 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 1, 2011

I just spent a week at the City Hotel in Copenhagen with my friend.
We were looking for a very centered situation and we got it !
It is only 10 min from the Airport by metro, and only 5 min walking from the metro station.

The hotel is just 5 minutes away (on foot) from Nyhavn, the city's oldest and most beautiful port. Close to the main shopping streets too ;)

We rented 2 bikes and it was ideal to visit !
All sights are visitable on foot or bike.

The service was good and the people working at the front desk were very helpful and smily (mainly the asian woman ;)).
Rooms are not so big but nice, clean and functional.
TV and wi-fi internet for free (if you don't have your computer, there is one in the hotel)
Our bathroom was small but good. Towels, soap etc changed everyday.

The breakfast was very good, with a lot of choice (bread, croissants, eggs, bacon, salads, pasta, yoghurts, cereals, cheese, ham, fruits...)

My friend thought that the bed was not hard enough...but I thought it was ok.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Joy_Lykke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,232)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

711 - 717 of 1,233 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2011

close to the city centre, nyhavn, restaurants nearby e.g. Custom House,Noma, theater, Opera, kindly hotel staff, and a good breakfast.

Room Tip: ask for the new rooms..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pimvanvelsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

A great hotel within walking distance of all the city centre attractions. It is only a short bus ride from the front of the main railway station to the hotel (bus #5A).
Very pleasant breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barry047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

Reception staff pleasent. Double room smaller than average, bathroom door hit the bed everytime you opened it, shower was a tiny triangular affair had you had to sit sideways on the toilet as there wasn't room to face forward. That said the breakfast was lovely, plenty of choice and good quality food. The location was pretty good as well just round the corner from many restaurants and cafes.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lI0ve2h0liday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

This funky hotel has the feel of a well run boutique hotel, not an international chain.
The rooms are spotlessly clean, nicely decorated and the beds are really comfortable. The location is brilliant, an easy walk to just about everything, but off the main road in a nice quiet street. Wi-fi excellent ... and the breakfast ... WOW! The breakfast was superb - amazing variety and beautiful quality from the delicious breads to the specialty dish each day - grilled vegies, cold meat, hot dishes - and I don't usually eat breakfast!
The staff were friendly and helpful. The only negative - and it probably won't matter most of the year - was the rooms were stifingly hot overnight even when the day wasn't so warm. They did provide fans though, so in all, a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: clean, comfortable and chic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ozzy_trav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

I booked this hotel for a weekend break as it had good reviews on Tripadvisor.

The lobby area and the staff are very nice, however the rooms are quite dated.
The worst part was the lack of airconditioning, we were there in July and, with the window open, the room was very stuffy.

On one of the mornings the hotel didn't have any hot water - they explained to us that it was due to a burst pipe nearby and that the council would hopefully solve the issue. While I understand that such situations can occur, it was very unpleasant not to be able to take a shower when paying 150 euros a night!

I wouldn't go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bananana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2011

We stayed in the superior room which was nice and spacious. The location is terrific, very close (walking distance) to the main attractions. Overall , the room was clean and overall quiet , we could hear the TV from the next room via the bathroom wall and on the first night we heard footsteps above our floor (we were on the 3rd) but, the following 2 nights were pretty quiet. The breakfast was nice and tasty , probably a bit more varied than other European hotels. We ate at Geist nearby, and Dimora (Japanese) highly recommened but pricey, as we found to be most restaurants in the area. By expensive I would say around 140 euros per meal. The highspeed internet wasnt that speedy :) Overall, we would recommend this hotel to friends and would come back.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelVav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
Scandic Palace Hotel
Scandic Palace Hotel
#24 of 118 in Copenhagen
2,260 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
#25 of 118 in Copenhagen
4,112 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 118 in Copenhagen
2,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#4 of 118 in Copenhagen
339 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Skt. Petri
Skt. Petri
#9 of 118 in Copenhagen
314 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 118 in Copenhagen
2,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Hotel City Copenhagen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Hotel City Copenhagen

Address: Peder Skrams Gade 24, Copenhagen 1054, Denmark (Formerly Best Western Hotel City)
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
#13 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
#16 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
#21 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range: $161 - $447 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Hotel City Copenhagen 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Hotel City is a Danish design hotel in the center of Copenhagen. Located in a quiet street behind the Royal Theatre and Nyhavn, close to shopping, restaurants, museums and The Opera House.All rooms are furnished with Danish design like Arne Jakobsen and GUBI, large black/white jazz portraits, Samsung flatscreen TV and free WIFI all over the hotel.Easy access from the airport by Metro to Kongens Nytorv ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Hotel City Copenhagen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Copenhagen
Best Western Copenhagen
Copenhagen Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing