We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good service food was unexceptional”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Gasten & Galionen

Gasten & Galionen
Ranked #607 of 2,311 Restaurants in Copenhagen
Cuisines: Scandinavian, Danish, Seafood, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Indre By (Inner City)
Wales
Level Contributor
71 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good service food was unexceptional”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013 via mobile

We picked this restaurant because I fancied eating mussels. They were not of the quality I would have expected, my wife on the other hand ordered sole which she thought was very fresh and tasty.

The wine, Sancerre was not overpriced for Copenhagen.

We shared a selection of desserts which were very good.

Beware of the sting in the tail! When the bill arrived it stated that there was a 4.25% surcharge for foreign credit cards which I think is extortionate

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Taffvalais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    82
    40
    19
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
1 review
“Very expensive fastfood”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Just really cheap fasfood for the price of good restarsunt. If you like overpriced cold fastfood - you will love this place...

Helpful?
Thank Zepp07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lutz FL
Level Contributor
135 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Memorable and delightful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

It was her mmmmmnnn birthday and time to celebrate my precious daughter and traveling companion. Knowing Copenhagen's prices, we ate at Andersen Bakery to save up for this experience. We hopped the Step On/Off bus and hopped off at Nyhaven as the sun came out.

The whole area lit up with light bouncing off the canal as well. The nearby boats and free sightseeing boat (Copenhagen Card) were delightful to watch go by. The happy colors of the buildings, including ours, was joyous. While we snagged an outside table near the walkers, we had no need for the bright red blankets that are thrown over each chair though they added to the color. My daughter had the Danish plate and I, allergic to fish, had the giant hamburger. Both were amazing and delicious. We each had a wonderful ale with the meal. Our waiter was friendly and helpful. And yes, our credit card was dinged for about $90...for lunch. Still memorable in so many ways.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelTampaHgl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, UK
Level Contributor
146 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Top quality, but not exactly cheap.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

Our last night on business, we ate here. Food was very good, from a small menu (which is generally a good sign). I had the Crab Tartare followed by the Lamb, both of which were pretty nigh on perfect. Interestingly enough, even though it was expensive, the wine was a bit cheaper than other places and of better quality. Expect to pay about £40-£50 a head including half a bottle of wine though, so it is definitely at the expensive end. Good service as well.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank jools&alison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsens, Denmark
Level Contributor
105 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Average - and a bit boring!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

When your restaurant is placed on Nyhavn, you do not really have to focus on quality. And I would be surprised if many of them do.

Gasten & Galionen had the first available seats on a sunny afternoon on Nyhavn. Otherwise I would usually choose a different spot. A classic tourist trap.

Food was as expected and somewhat uninspiring...

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mikey8700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gasten & Galionen also viewed

Copenhagen, Zealand
Copenhagen, Zealand
 
Copenhagen, Zealand
 
Copenhagen, Zealand
 

Been to Gasten & Galionen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing