We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Generator Hostel Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect location!”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Everything is nearby; metro station, main tourist attractions, and shopping area. We got a private room with shower, it was very nice, not too small. Staffs are helpful. Check out time is a bit too early (at 10 am) though.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Fon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison D, Front Office Manager at Generator Hostel Copenhagen, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Hi Fon J,
Happy to hear that your stay here was a good one, that's what we aim for :) We do offer a late check out till 13.00 (1pm) which can be bought in reception anytime for 100dkk for a private room. Gives a bit more time to snooze... We also have luggage storage so you can always deposit your bag with us and explore the city before leaving.
Hope to see you next time and thanks for the great feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    965
    1,060
    288
    83
    61
See reviews for
194
495
673
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Great environment, the rooms are pretty clean, hot water, good location and i really enjoyed this time in Denmark.

The staff knows a lot of the places and i hope could return soon and spend more time there.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andres0587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison D, Front Office Manager at Generator Hostel Copenhagen, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Hi Andres0587,
Good vibe, hot showers, clean rooms, knowledgable staff and a great location, what more can you ask for? We are very happy that we lived up to your expectations and look forward to seeing you here next time!
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
250 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013

this hostel is located near to city centre and also the metro station. the service was great, the receptionists are helpful. there's free luggage storage after checked out. the bar facilities and atmosphere was great! the room was quite small, no common area in the room. the decorations of this hostel is great too. great soundproof and strong wifi in the room. strongly recommend this hostel!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunl29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison D, Front Office Manager at Generator Hostel Copenhagen, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Hi Xue Han Li,
Thanks for staying with us! We look forward to welcoming you back here, or perhaps at another Generator in Europe? :)
A big thanks from the Copenhagen Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013

I haven't stayed in a hostel for years, I've always chosen hotels as I always thought they were guaranteed to be better for couples who want a private room. The Generator was great for this though.

I initially thought they would just give us a twin room but they pushed the beds together and added a thin mattress on top so it felt like one big bed! It was a basic room but modern with no TV or drinks facilities but I wasn't too upset, free WiFi meant we could just watch things on our phones.

Checking in and out was easy, staff were friendly and welcoming all the time. The general atmosphere and social events were great, I saw they even did yoga classes. The location of this one is perfect as it's such a short walk away from everything and as it's tucked away a bit it means you get to explore the smaller roads which is great if you want to see more of the culture.

The only thing I can think of was the elevator wasn't working for a bit and we were on top floor so that was a bit annoying, other than that - thanks for a great weekend break!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MangaLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison D, Front Office Manager at Generator Hostel Copenhagen, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Dear MangaLou,
Thanks for your feedback. We're happy that you had a great weekend break staying here. We aim for clean and comfortable rooms, central location so you can explore the city easily, a warm atmosphere, and fun events... Yes, we do have yoga once a week (Tuesdays)! We hope to see you next time!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

The Hostel is superbly located in Central Copenhagen. The rooms are small but clean. Bedding is provided but bring your own towel.
The lounge/bar/ relaxation space is great. Relaxed and funky.

Wireless is good but it would be helpful if reception staff let you know on registration the internet access ( Generator and password your email address entered at registration).

I recommend the free walking tour of the city centre. One of the guides meets you at reception around 10.20 am and you walk to join the "free tour" at 11.00am.
Whilst this is free the guides are fabulous and their only payment for this 3 hour tour is your donation. Sugest 50-100 krone per person is fabulous value for money. You orientate yourself to the city, learn about the sights, the history and many humourous anecdotes as well. Do go! So worthwhile.
Definately a great place to stay.
I stayed in a 6 bed female dorm. Did not have a padlock for the luggage storage-used my cabin baggage lock for my bag. If you are concerned about security bring a padlock as your luggage lock will not fit. It was not a problem for me over my 3 night stay as everyone was lovely in our room.
If you have a problem with pillows the one provided is small so an extra may be helpful.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clare R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison D, Front Office Manager at Generator Hostel Copenhagen, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Hi Clare R,
Thanks for your review. Happy you enjoyed the relaxed and comfortable atmosphere. We agree, the Free Walking Tour is a great way to get introduced to Copenhagen, they pick up here every day come rain or shine.
As for the rooms, we sell padlocks in the reception if you are in need of one. And we can always provide an extra pillow if this helps, just see our Reception.
Safe travels and hope to see you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

In the incredibly expensive Copenhagen, this hostel represents a great choice to save some money for the rest of your trip. Clean and simple rooms. Modern decor. Close to the metro station and the city center.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jodi_Partners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison D, Front Office Manager at Generator Hostel Copenhagen, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Hi Jodi_Partners,
Thanks for staying with us. Happy you enjoyed the rooms, our design, and super central location. Copenhagen can be an expensive pleasure, but happy we could keep some of the expenses low :)
Hope to see you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 9, 2013

The reason I visited Generator Copenhagen was out of complete desperation. I landed at Kastrup Airport planning on travelling further to Lund, Sweden, when they closed down the Öresund-bridge because of the storm that was going on and it wouldn't be opened until the next day. At the airport information desk, a lady circled this hostel at a map and after some texting, me and my new friend, an American girl that also was stuck at the airport, called the hostel and they ensured us that they would have rooms for us. "Over two hundred rooms available!" We thought that the receptionist made a mistake and meant two hundred beds, but when we finally arrived at the hostel, it became clear that it wasn't a mistake at all. It is HUGE.

We took the subway from the airport and found the hostel quite easily. Its location is very central. The reception desk is on the second floor, and the walls were designed with illustrations, which gave the place a very friendly feeling. The people at the front desk were very nice and helpful.

The rooms (we were in a mixed 8-bed dorm, at 190 DKK a night very affordable in general and especially for Danish standards) were very clean and included two showers, one toilet with sink and one separate sink+mirror. Under the beds, there were steel lockers for which you could get locks at the reception desk. Sheets for the beds were provided without charge, which was very nice. The thing that we appreciated the most was the free WiFi (also in the rooms) and easy accessibility of power outlets. The room was very quiet, we were not bothered by any noises from either the neighbours, people in the corridor or outside noise.

Because we stayed only one night, arrived late and left early, we did not experience the rest of the hostel, even though we did get a look at the bar when we tried to get food two minutes after they closed the kitchen, which was a bit unfortunate. The bar and the restaurant area looked very cosy and nice, and apparently they have different events every night (that night was Ladies Night). Still, it didn't neccessarily feel like one of those party hostels where people walk around drunk. Food and drinks were not allowed in the room, which I thought was quite a good rule (even though I broke it a little bit too with my water bottle and candy) because that made it a lot less messy and also not a hang out spot, which is nice for the people that just want to sleep.

The next morning, we checked out about 45 minutes too late because we misread the time but it was not a problem at all.

Over all, an easy and relatively cheap upgrade from hard cold airport floor to soft beds and free WiFi. Would definately recommend!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmaAdriaens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison D, Front Office Manager at Generator Hostel Copenhagen, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Hi EmmaAdriaens,
Thanks for your comments and recommendation. Happy you enjoyed your surprise stay here at Generator Copenhagen! We aim to provide you with all the essentials: clean, good beds, a great sleep, lockers and attention to safety, bed lights and power outlets, ensuite bathrooms, extra mirrors and sinks, 24h reception staff available, laid back social atmosphere, bar specials and nightly free events, value meals, breakfast and of course free wifi! We are quite a big hostel at 175 rooms, but we do try to keep it personal :)
We hope to see you next time. A big thanks from the Copenhagen team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
Wakeup Copenhagen, Borgergade
Wakeup Copenhagen, Borgergade
#32 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,387 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Wakeup Copenhagen Carsten Niebuhrs Gade
Inner Vesterbro
First Hotel Mayfair
First Hotel Mayfair
#27 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Ibsens Hotel
Ibsens Hotel
#20 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,765 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Kong Arthur
Hotel Kong Arthur
#13 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Generator Hostel Copenhagen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Generator Hostel Copenhagen

Property: Generator Hostel Copenhagen
Address: Adelgade 5-7, Copenhagen 1304, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 38 Specialty Lodging in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Generator Hostel Copenhagen 2*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You’ll find Generator Copenhagen just off Kongens Nytorv, the largest square in the city. Centrally located and an ideal location for anyone wanting to be a hop, skip and a jump from everything that is a must see in this great city. The best way to see and do it all is by foot, and when you need to rest your tired feet Generator is the perfect place of refuge, with great beds for sleepy heads, a bar and lounge that serves the best drinks and entertainment for miles around, and of course you’ll be enjoying Copenhagen life in the most stylish and authentic surroundings. Choose from a great selection of rooms, from Dorms, to Private en-suites Twins, Double & Quads with innovative mod cons like individual power points and your own LED light for late night reading. Fast and free Wi-Fi is all yours too. To get the most out of your stay visit the travel shop and our city experts will help you devise an itinerary that will take you to all the hidden treasures this dynamic city has to offer. This really is a city worth discovering. We’ll see you there soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Generator Hostel Copenhagen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Generator Hostel Copenhagen Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing