We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey, but so is Copenhagen”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Generator Hostel Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Pricey, but so is Copenhagen”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

The private room we stayed in was great. Spacious and clean one of the best hostels i have stayed in. Things to note- the hostel gets a mixture of people from families to an older crowd. Its a large hostel, which means the front desk is normally crowded and therefore there much interaction with the staff. Its a great location, most things are walking distance and if you want to go further th uses and trains are a few mins walk :D

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank divy_d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMGENCPH, Guest Relations Manager at Generator Hostel Copenhagen, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear guest - the staff at Generator thank you for your nice comments. It is with comments like yours we can maintain, improve and develop our product and services, to make sure we meet our guests expectations.
We appreciate and thank you for taking your time to give us your opinion regarding your stay with us, and we hope to see you back in Generator Copenhagen some day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,528 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    988
    1,089
    299
    88
    64
See reviews for
201
504
701
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

This is one of the best hostels i have stayed in whilst travelling in europe and would stay here again
the location is a 5min walk from Kongens Nytorv metro stop ( airport to hotel in under 30mins ) and is on a quiet side street which is easy to find due to its huge neon sign outside so ideal if your arriving in darkness as you'll see this 1st

i had a 8person dorm which was very clean and fresh and had 2 showers 1 WC and a seperate sink outside , bunk beds were good and had dual plug sockets and reading light and a decent ladder if you was on the top ( i find sometimes hostels have dodgy ladders ) , was provided with pillow/sheet/duvet

towels are not provided but you can buy them at reception for 55DKK

on the 1st floor is located a great bar and lounge area which is also the breakfast area and the bar runs regular 2for1 deals on beer & wine which is good as prices in CPH are very expensive but theres a lot of happy hours around if you look

the bar charges 35DKK for a pint of carlsberg but 1pm-3pm & 9pm-10pm its 2for1
also included is red/white wine for the ladies and bottles of tuborg
you can also purchase bar snacks crisps nuts sandwiches and pizza slices , a lot cheaper than in town
the lounge area was good with lots of seating , TVs showing sport and a pool table and fussball table and also a dancefloor complete with disco ball

i had breakfast twice (55DKK) which was help yourself and included
orange/apple juice
tea/coffee/hot chocolate
4 different cereals
yoghurts
fruit salad
fresh warm bread rolls
salami/ham
cheese
plus butters/jam/honey/nutella for your bread

go to the bar and get a tray and pay and eat

price was ok if you had plenty but compared to prices in town was very good ( coffee and a danish in town was 45DKK upwards )

walk outside the hostel and go right and right again there was a ALDI supermarket , go right then left and there was a 7/11 convienence store and the main shopping street was only 5mins away

i had a couple issues with the door card but a trip down to reception and it was sorted and got an apology as well which is always good

in reception theres a luggage room if you have a late flight , i was told i left it at my own riskj which is fine , my only concern is that its an open door policy , anyone can walk in and have full access to pretty much anywhere in the hostel , i was in the luggage room on my own for 10mins sorting my case out and was unchallenged/checked on by any of the 4 reception staff and could of helped myself to anything out of the many unlocked cases

this hostel is very good though and give it 5stars my only critisism is the security or lack of it
everything else was spot on and would stay here again

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kernow666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMGENCPH, Guest Relations Manager at Generator Hostel Copenhagen, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear guest - the staff at Generator thank you for your niceand very thorough comments. It is with comments like yours we can maintain, improve and develop our product and services, to make sure we meet our guests expectations.
We appreciate and thank you for taking your time to give us your opinion regarding your stay with us, and we hope to see you back in Generator Copenhagen some day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

A stones throw away from many attractions, comfortable rooms, plenty of evening entertainment, helpful staff and a right bargain. Great for young travellers and city breakers. The hostel is very clean and well set out, i felt very comfortable and relaxed at all times. Well worth a stay here. Checkout the free walking tour too - leaflets in repection.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LouisaTheTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMGENCPH, Guest Relations Manager at Generator Hostel Copenhagen, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear guest - the staff at Generator thank you for your nice comments. It is with comments like yours we can maintain, improve and develop our product and services, to make sure we meet our guests expectations.
We appreciate and thank you for taking your time to give us your opinion regarding your stay with us, and we hope to see you back in Generator Copenhagen some day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Very clean and organized hostel. A bit too big for my preference, but nothing wrong with the place. Nice bar area to use wifi and meet other travelers. Also, nice that a walking tour meets at the hostel. The big lockers under the bed were able to hold all my luggage and the fact that the rooms are on separate floors than the common area, means there is no noise disruption and still a good party to be had in the same building.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peterTnomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMGENCPH, Guest Relations Manager at Generator Hostel Copenhagen, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear guest - the staff at Generator thank you for your nice comments. It is with comments like yours we can maintain, improve and develop our product and services, to make sure we meet our guests expectations.
We appreciate and thank you for taking your time to give us your opinion regarding your stay with us, and we hope to see you back in Generator Copenhagen some day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano, Italia
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Excellent position in the very downtown of the city, friendly and professional staff, clean and accessorized rooms & bathrooms, lowest prices in the area, great bar with cheap drinks, lot of activities (disco, soccer matches, cinema, live music) and lots of great people from all around the world! Perfect for a short staying in Copenhagen, the best hostel chain!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank giorgiom707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMGENCPH, Guest Relations Manager at Generator Hostel Copenhagen, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear guest - the staff at Generator thank you for your nice comments. It is with comments like yours we can maintain, improve and develop our product and services, to make sure we meet our guests expectations.
We appreciate and thank you for taking your time to give us your opinion regarding your stay with us, and we hope to see you back in Generator Copenhagen some day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Pleasantly surprised at this hostel, that has a hotel standard (as I shared a twin room with bathroom with a friend).
The location is perfect, minutes walk to the main shopping street and the metro station that will take you to the airport in 15/20 minutes.
The hostel has its own bar and has entertainment every night (Sunday= movie night, Tuesday=karaoke etc) as well as a dancefloor. Great too, the drinks in that bar are not that expensive! 5€ a cocktail, 2€ a shot of Fisk...
It can be a tad noisy the Saturday night with the disco at level 1 of the hostel, but nothing that can prevent you from sleeping.
Breakfast is a buffet, so you can eat as much as you want for 6/7€ with enough variety (ham, cheese, honey, jam, different breads, coffee/cappucino/tea/latte, milk cereals etc)
The hostel is very clean - only issue for me is that I am allergic to dust mites and I don't think the bedding is anti-allergic as my allergies started acting up - but to be fair I never thought of asking them before the trip.
I would definitely recommend to anybody that wants to stay in central Copenhagen for cheap!

Room Tip: try to stay at level 5 or 6, away from the disco/bar on level 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gininou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMGENCPH, Guest Relations Manager at Generator Hostel Copenhagen, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear guest - the staff at Generator thank you for your nice comments. It is with comments like yours we can maintain, improve and develop our product and services, to make sure we meet our guests expectations.
We appreciate and thank you for taking your time to give us your opinion regarding your stay with us, and we hope to see you back in Generator Copenhagen some day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed at "Generator" at the beginning of November 2012. My friend and I shared a private room, with the luxury of a private bathroom.
The hostel is located within easy walking distance of everything Copenhagen has to offer, including many food options and a variety of nightlife.
The hostel itself was very well presented, clean and well maintained. The staff were polite and courteous and informed us of local amenities and events when we checked in. We also enjoyed a few drinks in the lively first floor bar, each evening before we hit the town.
"Generator" is definitely geared up towards the younger (18-25) traveller, but is certainly suitable for a person/people above this age bracket, that enjoy a hostel style environment.

Overall a very enjoyable, fun and convenient place to stay, in a wonderful city. Superb value for money.

Thank You Generator!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMGENCPH, Guest Relations Manager at Generator Hostel Copenhagen, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear guest - the staff at Generator thank you for your nice comments. It is with comments like yours we can maintain, improve and develop our product and services, to make sure we meet our guests expectations.
We appreciate and thank you for taking your time to give us your opinion regarding your stay with us, and we hope to see you back in Generator Copenhagen some day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
Wakeup Copenhagen, Borgergade
Wakeup Copenhagen, Borgergade
#32 of 116 in Copenhagen
2,495 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Wakeup Copenhagen Carsten Niebuhrs Gade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#3 of 116 in Copenhagen
232 reviews
Frederiksberg
Avenue Hotel Copenhagen
Avenue Hotel Copenhagen
#1 of 6 in Frederiksberg
1,089 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
#22 of 116 in Copenhagen
3,928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Generator Hostel Copenhagen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Generator Hostel Copenhagen

Property: Generator Hostel Copenhagen
Address: Adelgade 5-7, Copenhagen 1304, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Generator Hostel Copenhagen 2*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You’ll find Generator Copenhagen just off Kongens Nytorv, the largest square in the city. Centrally located and an ideal location for anyone wanting to be a hop, skip and a jump from everything that is a must see in this great city. The best way to see and do it all is by foot, and when you need to rest your tired feet Generator is the perfect place of refuge, with great beds for sleepy heads, a bar and lounge that serves the best drinks and entertainment for miles around, and of course you’ll be enjoying Copenhagen life in the most stylish and authentic surroundings. Choose from a great selection of rooms, from Dorms, to Private en-suites Twins, Double & Quads with innovative mod cons like individual power points and your own LED light for late night reading. Fast and free Wi-Fi is all yours too. To get the most out of your stay visit the travel shop and our city experts will help you devise an itinerary that will take you to all the hidden treasures this dynamic city has to offer. This really is a city worth discovering. We’ll see you there soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Generator Hostel Copenhagen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Generator Hostel Copenhagen Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing