We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced Hotel- minimal comforts, and great location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ibsens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ibsens Hotel
Ranked #21 of 114 Hotels in Copenhagen
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Overpriced Hotel- minimal comforts, and great location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

We resided at the ISBENS Hotel, Vendersgade 23, Copenhagen on June 26-29, 2014. As anticipated, the rooms are very small for the price. The staff was very professional and kind, and provided assistance. Service was very good. Dr. Daniel Stabile, Falls Church, Va

Room Tip: Largest rooms are very pricey and very small according to United States standards. Travel light, ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DrStabile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

885 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    413
    163
    53
    25
See reviews for
140
401
37
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Level Contributor
75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

The Ibsen is very well located, a short walk from Norreport train and metro station, so don't take a taxi from the airport. We had a triple room and it was spacious on the top floor, even with a walk in robe. There are no extras in the rooms, no toiletries except a soap dispenser, no fridge or air conditioning. The windows open and a fan can be borrowed from reception. This is an inner city hotel and the city goes to sleep late and wakes early so expect noise with the windows open. The wifi is free but was erratic in room 656, so we often had to sit in the hallway or the foyer to use it. I advised reception, but they just shrugged. There is a 'cozy hour' with complimentary, generous glasses of wine, but in summer you don't want to be in the hotel between 5-6pm when so many attractions are still open. Copenhagen is a terrific city to cycle and you can hire good bikes from the hotel, but can get cheaper rates at bike stores within walking distance. We didn't eat at the hotel - too expensive. Torevenhalle is an excellent food market a block away and Laura's bakery is good for a breakfast pastry or muesli yogurt and coffee. We ate good food at Gorm's pizza, Hache burgers, and Cafe 22 across the lake. All are walking distance.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank CanberraAussieMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCopenhagen, Guest Relations Manager at Ibsens Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear guest

Thank you for you review. We are glad that your overall experience was good. I have a few comments to add.

Regarding the toiletries, we have worked for a while on making changes on the bathroom. We will soon equip the bathrooms with a new brand of toiletries instead of dispensers.

True we don’t have A/C. Denmark is a Scandinavian country and A/C is necessary only very few days a year. Usually we have a very good and rather clean air in Copenhagen. Moreover A/C has a negative impact on the environment.

We are investigating the mentioned WiFi problems. The case is, we have a very huge fibre-optic broadband, and the connection ought to be very good. At the moment we have technicians working on improving the functionality of the WiFi, focusing on increasing the number of hotspots.

The restaurants at the hotel are actually not expensive. However, for a family dining at restaurants will fast turn into a costly business. And yes, in the near surroundings of the hotel many cafés and fast food delis offer their services. Ibsens Hotel is situated in a “a land flowing with milk and honey”.

We hope to welcoming you again some time!

All the best
Marie /Ibsens Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

We actually enjoyed our 2 nights in this hotel. Very small rooms and as in most Danish hotels there is no soap bars or closets!! Nice staff (even though we got our room without it being cleaned from former guests)!!
With that said nice boutique hotel with decent breakfast centrally located.

Room Tip: No A/C (not good for the environment) a very noisy from the street. Ask for a none street room if we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ove S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

This fine hotel is filled with Danish design (Hay) and has a great young atmosphere situated in an old place. Nice restaurants and bars nearby. If the carpet is replaced by something a little bit cleaner and the bathroom was just a little bit bigger it would be perfect.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Esserlaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach
Level Contributor
109 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

We chose Ibsens for its central location, close to the Metro, and for its reasonable price. The quality of the hotel was very good for the price and location. Yes, the rooms are small, but typical of Europe. The beds and bathroom fixtures are of high quality. The rooms are quiet with the windows closed; but if you want some outside air, you must be willing to accept some street noise.

The staff was very accommodating, and the complimentary wine was a nice touch. We didn't have the breakfast because we don't eat a large enough breakfast to justify the extra charge. Not far away, though, is the market with many shops -- pastries, coffee, fruit and vegetables, wine, cheese, just about anything. The market is a destination of its own.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dmnickel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookings, Oregon
Level Contributor
99 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was recommended by Rick Steves. We found it to be a good stay. We are on the sixth floor with a larger room. However, it is still European small – especially the bathroom. Beds are comfortable and the staff is very helpful. It is about two blocks from the metro (which goes to the airport )and about a 10 block walk to the canals. There is an extensive outdoor market/vendors a block and a half away for breakfast and lunch. The room is clean,modern, and has good free Wi-Fi. We have four windows opening to the courtyard/outside restaurant and it is noisy.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank richruppert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
407 reviews
157 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

I came back to this hotel only because the sister hotel Kong Arthur didn't have a space for me and two of my coworkers for the last night of a business trip to Copenhagen. The rest of the group was at the Kong Arthur.

Here are my thoughts...
- It looks like the rooms have been renovated but in a cheap sort of way. I absolutely HATE the carpet. It just feels dirty to me.
- This is an old hotel so the rooms vary in size and shape. This time I was give a large room that faced the inner courtyard. The bad thing about that is that the courtyard is also a restaurant and can get noisy.
- There is no A/C in the hotel so you have to open the window and therefore the noise could be a problem.
- It is on the corner of a quiet street and is close to restaurants, the Torvehallerne market, botanical gardens
- The bathroom is the shower but luckily, this time there was a shower curtain so that whole bathroom didn't get wet. This bathroom was bigger than the last time I was there.
-The room and bathroom were twice the size of the room I had at the Kong Arthur but lower in price.
-The breakfast was eggs, cheese, veggies, fruit, yogurt, breads. Everything is supposed to be organic. The girls serving in the morning were not very friendly and it took them forever to set up the breakfast. We arrived downstairs at 7 and they still weren't finished getting it together by 7:30
-Internet was free and generally good
-The flat screen tv had a lot of cable channels in English
-There was an iron and board hanging on the wall in the hall
-There was only one person working the front desk. I had to wait forever to check out. None of the girls in the restaurant can help so don't even ask them.

For me the room just feels dirty maybe because of the carpet. Too bad they didn't expose the hardwood floors or even fake wood floors would be better than that carpet.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IntlTrainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCopenhagen, Guest Relations Manager at Ibsens Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear traveler

Thank you for taking your time to write a thorough review.

I don’t know when you stayed here the last time, but I guess it must have been several years ago, since Ibsens hotel was refurbished in 2011. The refurbishment was carried out by a well-known Danish interior designer, Morten Hedegaard. The idea was to mix vintage and local designers (from the street the hotel is situated in – Nansensgade). Another major design contributer is Hay that you might know. Many of our guests love the new a and very personal style of Ibsens Hotel, but of course it is not to everybodys liking.

Regarding the more specific points:
- The rooms comes with and without carpets. Just ask for a room without in reception.
- We don‘t have A/C installed because 1. In Denmark we have few days during a year where A/C is necessary 2. A/C have a negative impact on the environment
- Both Ibsens Hotel And Hotel Kong Arthur have rooms of many sizes. Make sure to read about the sizes of the different room categories at our website before you make your reservation. Doing so, the matching of expectations will be improved.

Having said all that, we are glad that you after all appreciated parts of your stay!

All the best
Marie Thyssen / Ibsens Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Kong Arthur
Hotel Kong Arthur
#14 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,541 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#4 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,654 reviews
Frederiksberg
Avenue Hotel Copenhagen
Avenue Hotel Copenhagen
#1 of 6 in Frederiksberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Christian IV
Hotel Christian IV
#24 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
First Hotel Mayfair
First Hotel Mayfair
#29 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibsens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibsens Hotel

Property: Ibsens Hotel
Address: Vendersgade 23, Copenhagen 1363, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibsens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibsens Hotel is an oasis in the heart of the city. It overlooks the Nansensgade area, bustling with café life and small shops. Just a 5-minute walk away, you will find the city lakes in the one direction and Nørreport train and metro station in the other.The lobby area offers a café, a library room and a cozy livingroom area with a fireplace. The minute you step inside, you will sense the Nansensgade atmosphere: ”Mingle” tables, magazine holders, an old record player and beautiful textiles adorning the lobby. All design pieces are made by neighbouring artists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Ibsens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibsens Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing