We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very noisy”
Review of Ibsens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibsens Hotel
Ranked #17 of 118 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 4, 2014

I am staying at Ibsens, the location si Very good and the room is clean but there is a party exactly in front Of the hotel on the Street with Very Loud músic and drunk people shouting so it is impossible to sleep. I went to talk to the receptivo and they told me they cannot do anything about it and it may last allí night long until 6 a.m.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Amg0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stine J, Guest Relations Manager at Ibsens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your review. I am sorry about the noisy people outside, but with our central location in the city center, this is a part of the game, unfortunately. However, to reduce the noise, we are soon to replace all our windows in our old, historical building with sound proof (or as sound proof as possible) windows. Though I must say that this much noise is not common. It seems you were here during the Distortion street party festival, and yes, that one day of year is extreme (but also quite an experience in itself). I can definitely recommend you to come back next year and take part in the street party if possible :-)

Kind regards,
Stine Jørgensen / Ibsens Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,115)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

701 - 707 of 1,117 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2014

We had a junior suite on the 5th floor in the round tower which was plenty big enough for the four of us. When we arrived the service at reception was very warm and friendly and we were told about cosy hour between 5-6pm. We enjoyed this on a couple of nights as it was a good excuse to relax in the bar/lounge area which is very stylishly furnished. We were able to buy our tickets for Tivoli gardens so we didn't have to queue for them at the entrance and we were also going to hire the hotel's bicycles but they only had one size and they were too big for a couple us in the family. The hotel is in a great location, 5 mins from the tube, although we walked everywhere from the hotel. Another helpful service is the left luggage facility.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TSgamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Good location and walking distance to most things in the city. Smallish rooms and basic but they were ok. Shower next to the toilet with a curtain which was not a problem for us. Lots of great food options close by. Did not do the cozy hour so can't talk about it. Rented bikes and saw the city which is a great way to go. A bit noisy. Staff friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Garry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in May, our check in was smooth, our room was on the 4th floor at the back of the hotel, so noise wasn't a problem for us. Whilst the room was small it did not cause us a problem, there is a desk and enough room to put your bags, you just can't hang much up. The bathroom was fine even though it didn't have a shower curtain it didn't take that long to dry out.

The only thing that was off putting was that we could the man in the room next when he was in the bathroom, we turned the tv up.

We weren't informed about the free drinks in the afternoon but the hotel more than compensated for that, they allowed us to leave our bags at the hotel on check out and also when we returned from our cruise for the day so we could do some sightseeing before heading to the airport, they also made the internet accessible to us.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen1158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stine J, Guest Relations Manager at Ibsens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your review! I am very happy you had a nice stay :-) I am sorry you were not informed about the Cozy Hour. I know it is difficult to inform (and to hear about) all the exciting aspects of our hotel that we like to share (did you for instance notice the artmoney wall?), so this is why we have put all information in the small flip over on the desk in the rooms. Here we explain our environment policy (no air con), we tell about the Cozy Hour etc. I am so sorry you did not get to see this so you could have joined us for Cozy Hour. Next time... ;-)

Best regards,
Stine Jørgensen / Ibsens Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

Hotel was located in lovely local area. Staff very accommodating with kids. Have us an upgrade at a fair price. Excellent area away from tourists. Walking distance to everything. Beds very comfortable. Great breakfast area. Excellent for informal meetings.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StuartBru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

First impressions of this hotel were positive, particularly after being told I was being upgraded from a medium to a large room. Front desk staff were helpful (if a little bit disorganised), but this sheen didn't last throughout the hotel.

The room itself was fairly basic, but was perfectly clean and comfortable. Although it was overlooking a courtyard and not the street, it was still very noisy - from the paper thin walls that meant i could hear my neighbours coughs all night long, to the open kitchen windows allowing the sound of clanging cutlery and clattering crockery to travel up to my 2nd floor room. For this reason, the lack of air-conditioning was also an issue during the recent hot weather, as I couldn't open the window due to the noise.

Breakfast struck me as very poor value - 155 Krone for a very basic buffet style breakfast - so I gave it a wide berth after my first morning.

The location is good, walking distance to the centre of Copenhagen and all of its attractions, and only a few minutes from the metro link to the airport.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scottravel32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Excellent value and very central location (minutes from the Norreport station). Staff are very welcoming and accommodating. Rooms are minimal but good quality with very comfortable beds and the showers are fantastic. No kettle in the room for making a cup of tea but we got used to that as you are very near cafes, etc The street is very noisy to the early hours, unfortunately, so we were kept awake until late. We opted out of breakfast as there is a brilliant bakery down the street and also very near to the Israel Plads indoor market which is lovely and has everything you could need - 'Brunch' at Laura's Bakery is highly recommended.
It was so good to be able to leave our luggage all day once we had checked out. And the hotel's 'Cozy Hour' for residents with free wine is a great idea.

Room Tip: No A/C in this hotel and choose a room away from the main street for a quieter sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Kong Arthur
Hotel Kong Arthur
#12 of 118 in Copenhagen
1,919 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 118 in Copenhagen
2,620 reviews
Frederiksberg
Avenue Hotel Copenhagen
Avenue Hotel Copenhagen
#1 of 6 in Frederiksberg
1,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
#25 of 118 in Copenhagen
4,113 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Skt. Petri
Skt. Petri
#9 of 118 in Copenhagen
314 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#10 of 118 in Copenhagen
1,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibsens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibsens Hotel

Address: Vendersgade 23, Copenhagen 1363, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range: $125 - $305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibsens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibsens Hotel is an oasis in the heart of the city. It overlooks the Nansensgade area, bustling with café life and small shops. Just a 5-minute walk away, you will find the city lakes in the one direction and Nørreport train and metro station in the other.The lobby area offers a café, a library room and a cozy livingroom area with a fireplace. The minute you step inside, you will sense the Nansensgade atmosphere: ”Mingle” tables, magazine holders, an old record player and beautiful textiles adorning the lobby. All design pieces are made by neighbouring artists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ibsens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibsens Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing