We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money. Friendly staff”
Review of Ibsens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ibsens Hotel
Ranked #19 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good value for money. Friendly staff”
Reviewed May 20, 2014

Stayed in a medium room at the Ibsens. Room was on the small side, but it was clean and had a hot shower and you pay for what you get, I had seen people's reviews complaining about this before I went but if you don't pay for a suite you won't get a big room!! The staff were also extremely helpful and friendly. It is in a great location for the sights of Copenhage. Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jblackburn88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stine J, Guest Relations Manager at Ibsens Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review. I am so happy to learn you had a good stay at Ibsens Hotel :-) Yes, we have many different room types; from Tiny (which are extremely small rooms as the name implies, 10 sqm) to Junior Suites which are 30 sqm. I am glad the room you had was just what you needed :-)

I look forward to seeing you back at Ibsens Hotel!

Best regards,
Stine Jørgensen / Ibsens Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,022 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    463
    181
    57
    27
See reviews for
173
461
44
162
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014

My partner and I stayed here in February and really enjoyed our stay. Copenhagen has a reputation for being one of the more expensive weekend break destinations but at around £60 a night, this hotel didn't seem to fit the stereotype, so we went with low expectations. The hotel proved to be lovely. Clean rooms, a nice bed and perfectly located just 2 minutes from Norrebro station and an easy walk to just about everything. We visited the onsite restaurant on the last day of our stay and were very happily surprised. We will book again for our next trip to this lovely city.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NikkiJF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

A very nice, hotel in a very good spot, perfect for sightseeing with friendly staff, caring about the good feeling of guests with a smile on their faces. I would strongly recommend this hotel and Copenhagen in general.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Scigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stine J, Guest Relations Manager at Ibsens Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your visit and for your review! I am so glad you had a good stay at Ibsens Hotel :-)
I look forward to welcoming you back!

Best regards,
Stine Jørgensen / Ibsens Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

We stayed for three nights at Ibsens Hotel. The hotel has some small issues that might be a bit annoying (no aircondition, noise from the street, no fridge, small bathrooms) - but, the athmosphere and the friendly staff make you forget this. No matter what time a day (or night) - or what we asked for, they were just super friendly and helpful.

The rooms are small, but clean. Beds are good. The furniture is not worn and the selection of art and decor works really well. Will visit again!

Takk for oss :)

Room Tip: There will be noise from the street. Choose a room that faces the backyard if that's a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Superkajsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stine J, Guest Relations Manager at Ibsens Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear guest, Norwegian friends!

Thank you for your review. I am very happy you had a good stay and that we will have the pleasure of seeing you back at Ibsens Hotel!

Nope, no air con and no fridge. There are two reason to this: 1) We are a 3-star hotel. Fridge is a 4 star requirement, air con a 5 star, and 2) we will rather conserve electricity as part of our climate friendly policy. However, I am very happy you survived anyway :-)

Please let us know if you have any special requests for your next visit.

See you soon (hopefully!),
Stine Jørgensen / Ibsens Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Terrible noise coming from the kitchen door's restaurant constantly open and close, ridiculous small shower and old bathroom , towels dirty . Noise from the ventilator of the restaurant . Good position and polite people but these are the only positive things . Never back here

Room Tip: Not room on the interior side and never on the top of the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matteo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stine J, Guest Relations Manager at Ibsens Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to learn you had a bad experience at Ibsens Hotel. We have 118 rooms in total in many different sizes, located on five floors. Next time, if you need a more quiet room, please ask for one on one of the top floors. Also, perhaps you should try a different room category - for instance our junior suites with bathrooms with tub.

We will do our utmost to give you the perfect stay, so please let us know directly if there is anything we can do for you.

Best regards,
Stine Jørgensen / Ibsens Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

This hotel calls themselves a design hotel. In fact, it's an old and dated hotel. Adding some Hay furniture to a room and painting the old wall paper doesn't tranform it into a design hotel. Tv-/writing table was dirty.
But even more disappointing was the fact that they didn't manage our request for a quiet room in a good way. Or does quiet mean facing a busy Street with a noisy pub until far after midnight, room connected with a door to another room, etc?
The only thing they could offer us (but that's what all the arriving guests was offered) was an (extra cost) upgrade to their neighbourhood hotel. But that's not what I define as service and doing the upmost to make yournguests feel comfortable. That's upsell!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ni S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stine J, Guest Relations Manager at Ibsens Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review. In relation to the term "design hotel", it seems you might have had some different expectations about Ibsens Hotel. We are not a design hotel (I think the term demands specific standards); we are hoteliers who love art. This is why we asked the local, neighboring artists to help us decorate the hotel when we renovated it in 2011.

We are a Copenhagen hotel, a mirror of the residential Nansensgade area if you like - because we love our neighborhood; a little vent in the center of Copenhagen. However, when being in the city center, noise is difficult to avoid. We always do what we can to meet our guests' requests.

When contacting us directly in advance with your requests, you can always be sure that we have received your requests and will do our absolute best to meet them, However, if booking via a third party agent, we cannot guarantee that your request is communicated to us. Unfortunately! This is a shame for us too.

However, I hope you will take your time to read some of the good stories about Ibsens Hotel and our many art pieces. Those a good stories - informal ones not trying to live up to predefined design standards. That's how we like it.

Kind regards,
Stine Jørgensen / Ibsens Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at Ibsens - the rooms weren't the biggest or the most luxurious, but the hotel had a good feel and lots of nice touches. It also felt very in keeping with the city of Copenhagen, which I really liked (as opposed to staying a generic chain hotel which could be anywhere). The staff were all really helpful and polite, and bar area was a great place to relax - there are also two restaurants which are directly accesible from the hotel. The location was good, very near Norreport station (which was easy to get to from the airport) and a short walk to all of central Copenhagen.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank tcz_8127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stine J, Guest Relations Manager at Ibsens Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review and kind words! I am very happy you enjoyed your stay at our little urban, Copenhagen hotel in the residential Nansensgade area :-) No, the rooms are not big; they are typical Copenhagen hotel rooms decorated in a minimalistic, Scandinavian style. Nothing luxurious about that, it's not meant to be - and I am very happy you liked it!

I look forward to welcoming you back to Ibsens Hotel :-)

Kind regards,
Stine Jørgensen / ibsens Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Kong Arthur
Hotel Kong Arthur
#14 of 117 in Copenhagen
1,780 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#11 of 117 in Copenhagen
1,297 reviews
Frederiksberg
Avenue Hotel Copenhagen
Avenue Hotel Copenhagen
#1 of 6 in Frederiksberg
1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#3 of 117 in Copenhagen
261 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
#25 of 117 in Copenhagen
4,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibsens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibsens Hotel

Property: Ibsens Hotel
Address: Vendersgade 23, Copenhagen 1363, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibsens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibsens Hotel is an oasis in the heart of the city. It overlooks the Nansensgade area, bustling with café life and small shops. Just a 5-minute walk away, you will find the city lakes in the one direction and Nørreport train and metro station in the other.The lobby area offers a café, a library room and a cozy livingroom area with a fireplace. The minute you step inside, you will sense the Nansensgade atmosphere: ”Mingle” tables, magazine holders, an old record player and beautiful textiles adorning the lobby. All design pieces are made by neighbouring artists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibsens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibsens Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing