We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ibsens Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Kong Arthur(Copenhagen)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Jorgensen(Copenhagen)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Windsor(Copenhagen)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Skt. Petri(Copenhagen)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel SP34(Copenhagen)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,241)
Filter reviews
1,241 results
Traveler rating
402
538
201
67
33
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
402
538
201
67
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnorreport stationcozy hourfood marketmedium roomextra large roomla roccafood halltorvehallerne marketfree glass of winewet roomsister hotelstreet noisecozy hoteltop floormueslilounge areathe room was nice
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
807 - 812 of 1,241 reviews
Reviewed April 25, 2014

This hotel calls themselves a design hotel. In fact, it's an old and dated hotel. Adding some Hay furniture to a room and painting the old wall paper doesn't tranform it into a design hotel. Tv-/writing table was dirty.
But even more disappointing was the fact that they didn't manage our request for a quiet room in a good way. Or does quiet mean facing a busy Street with a noisy pub until far after midnight, room connected with a door to another room, etc?
The only thing they could offer us (but that's what all the arriving guests was offered) was an (extra cost) upgrade to their neighbourhood hotel. But that's not what I define as service and doing the upmost to make yournguests feel comfortable. That's upsell!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Ni S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stine J, Guest Relations Manager at Ibsens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your review. In relation to the term "design hotel", it seems you might have had some different expectations about Ibsens Hotel. We are not a design hotel (I think the term demands specific standards); we are hoteliers who love art. This is why we asked the local, neighboring artists to help us decorate the hotel when we renovated it in 2011.

We are a Copenhagen hotel, a mirror of the residential Nansensgade area if you like - because we love our neighborhood; a little vent in the center of Copenhagen. However, when being in the city center, noise is difficult to avoid. We always do what we can to meet our guests' requests.

When contacting us directly in advance with your requests, you can always be sure that we have received your requests and will do our absolute best to meet them, However, if booking via a third party agent, we cannot guarantee that your request is communicated to us. Unfortunately! This is a shame for us too.

However, I hope you will take your time to read some of the good stories about Ibsens Hotel and our many art pieces. Those a good stories - informal ones not trying to live up to predefined design standards. That's how we like it.

Kind regards,
Stine Jørgensen / Ibsens Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at Ibsens - the rooms weren't the biggest or the most luxurious, but the hotel had a good feel and lots of nice touches. It also felt very in keeping with the city of Copenhagen, which I really liked (as opposed to staying a generic chain hotel which could be anywhere). The staff were all really helpful and polite, and bar area was a great place to relax - there are also two restaurants which are directly accesible from the hotel. The location was good, very near Norreport station (which was easy to get to from the airport) and a short walk to all of central Copenhagen.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank tcz_8127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stine J, Guest Relations Manager at Ibsens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your review and kind words! I am very happy you enjoyed your stay at our little urban, Copenhagen hotel in the residential Nansensgade area :-) No, the rooms are not big; they are typical Copenhagen hotel rooms decorated in a minimalistic, Scandinavian style. Nothing luxurious about that, it's not meant to be - and I am very happy you liked it!

I look forward to welcoming you back to Ibsens Hotel :-)

Kind regards,
Stine Jørgensen / ibsens Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

The purpose of our stay in Copenhagen was to spend quality time with our sons, both residents of Copenhagen. From the minute we arrived at the hotel we felt welcome and were overwhelmed by the friendliness of the staff. The hotel provided us with the requirements we had: comfortable surroundings and good beds,a really good breakfast and a central base for our time there.

Room Tip: As the hotel has a lift, we were satisfied with our room on the third floor.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Sandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stine J, Guest Relations Manager at Ibsens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your review and kind words! I am very happy Ibsens Hotel was just what you needed to frame your family visit :-) We look forward to welcoming you back home, next time you are in Copenhagen :-)

Kind regards,
Stine Jørgensen / Ibsens Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We enjoyed our 3 day stay in the hotel. The medium room with the office area and wet room was attractive and clean. Our room looked over the courtyard as I had asked for a quiet room after reading some reviews. There was some noise from the outside extractor fans which could have been more of an issue in the warmer months. Excellent location, near the metro station and lakes. Thought the room was very good value in an expensive city but the breakfasts although tasty, a bit overpriced (the alternatives nearby in the food market are worth looking at !). 'Cozy hour' with a complimentary glass of wine in the very stylish lounge area was welcome! We would not hesitate to go back but next time I would request a firm mattress - I'm sure they would be accommodating to this! Beautiful, welcoming city which I believe by Scandi standards is not too expensive - there are certainly places you can eat for good value.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank happynotundercanvas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stine J, Guest Relations Manager at Ibsens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Dear guset,

Thank you for your review! I am very happy you had a good stay at Ibsens Hotel :-)

Just a small info: All of our beds are Jensen beds in medium hardness, so if you found your bed too soft, unfortunately there is not much we can do about it :-( We can always handle extra pillows, blankets etc., but this probably will not help you much. I do hope to see you back at Ibsens Hotel, though :-)

Best,
Stine Jørgensen / Ibsens Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

A very nice hotel nearby the metro and only 20 minutes from the airport. they also have bikes to rent what is very good to explore Copenhagen.
The breakfast was good, a lot of healty food but was not included.
Agood Italian restaurand is nextdoor for a pizza and more.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Keetje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews