We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic friendly service”
Review of Ibsens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibsens Hotel
Ranked #20 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Spoettrup, Denmark
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic friendly service”
Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

The only slight downer with this hotel was that the breakfast wasn't my kind of breakfast but I'm sure some people will love it. Otherwise this hotel cannot be faulted. Super friendly service, extreemly polite staff, great room, and a very comfortable bed and a squeaky clean bathroom.
This hotel is well worrh a return visit.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Dsheerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

958 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    444
    171
    54
    25
See reviews for
152
433
42
157
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Excellent location however the hotel had many shortcomings. If you enjoy bathing within centimetres of the toilet, house keeping that continues into 4PM (even though the hotel only had two floors of operational rooms) and poor customer service, then this hotel is for you. I mean the problem really started when we first arrived to find that there were steps leading to the hotel's entrance (poor design; not "tourists-with-luggage" friendly).

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ymlchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCopenhagen, Guest Relations Manager at Ibsens Hotel, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Dear guest

You were obviously not happy with your stay. We are sorry that we didn’t meet your expectations. Our reception staff take pride in making our guests feel welcome, but in this case, It is obvious that something went wrong. Unfortunately you don't describe what happened.

However we find it hard to see the problem regarding our house-keeping working after 4pm. Of course a need for extra cleaning occur from time to time, and we are so lucky we have house-keeping services available after 4pm also.

Regarding steps by the entrance, yes there are two steps up. For walking disabled persons, we have an elevator from street level.

Best regards
Ibsens Hotel /Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Walking distance from Copenhagen center. Very clean and friendly people at the reception. Not a beautiful hotel, but very comfortable for tourism ad business. The only problem was too small bathroom (not in all rooms).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vittorio_Enrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel a couple of times and always find it a welcoming stay. Some of the rooms are a bit small but they are clean with comfortable beds and ok for short stays. There is a free wine tasting hur in the early evenings which is a nice touch. Breakfast is ok. Not a huge choice but fresh and certainly enough food to fill your belly for a few hours. Good location and easy to get to with public transport. There is also a good Italian restaurant attached which does lovely food and has a nice atmosphere. A Spanish restaurant also attached but we didn't try that. I would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline1759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Great location in heart of Copenhagen. My room was spacious and very comfortable. Cleanliness and service were excellent. The only thing I didn't like here was the breakfast menu, which was overpriced and limited compared to nearby cafes.

Room Tip: My room faced the main street and although it was usually quiet at night, there was some noise from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Harriet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Ibsen's is a nice old quite nicely blended with modern interior design in the lobby. I had booked a medium-sized room - but htis was really the smallest place I ever had. A 1.5 sqm toilet/shower with a tiny basin and no wardrobe. Instead there were three hooks to hang coat, shirts and suit - two of which were located above the TV so that the clothes would cover it. Breakfast was different from what I was used to. Unfortunately cappuccino was not included in the 150 DKK breakfast fare.
The location is convenient, close to Norreport station and across the corner is a nice basement bar/restaurant with a young/student-like crowd.
Rating is overall poor because I expected more when choosing the room on their website than what was actually delivered.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank MaxKrull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCopenhagen, Gæsteansvarlig at Ibsens Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Hi MaxKrull

We are sorry that you were so dissapointed about the size of your room that it influenced your overall opinion of the hotel. As all other hotels we have different room categories, and a medium room is equivalent to a large single room. A medium room is in square meter the standard of a European grand lit/superior single room. Anyway, we hope so see you back, and next time in a larger room.

Best regards
Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Tastefully designed hotel with cozy and rather small rooms but great hotel stuff, location and common areas. Room missed a fridge and some more bathroom acessories, but the vibe and free beer at 5pm left a great impression. Will definitely return next time in CPH!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iamsergej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Kong Arthur
Hotel Kong Arthur
#15 of 116 in Copenhagen
1,671 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 116 in Copenhagen
1,821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Frederiksberg
Avenue Hotel Copenhagen
Avenue Hotel Copenhagen
#1 of 6 in Frederiksberg
1,079 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#3 of 116 in Copenhagen
203 reviews
Outer Vesterbro
Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibsens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibsens Hotel

Property: Ibsens Hotel
Address: Vendersgade 23, Copenhagen 1363, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibsens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibsens Hotel is an oasis in the heart of the city. It overlooks the Nansensgade area, bustling with café life and small shops. Just a 5-minute walk away, you will find the city lakes in the one direction and Nørreport train and metro station in the other.The lobby area offers a café, a library room and a cozy livingroom area with a fireplace. The minute you step inside, you will sense the Nansensgade atmosphere: ”Mingle” tables, magazine holders, an old record player and beautiful textiles adorning the lobby. All design pieces are made by neighbouring artists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Ibsens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibsens Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing