We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An ok hotel - nothing more”
Review of Ibsens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibsens Hotel
Ranked #15 of 118 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Stayed 4 nights in a small room at the road side. The room had a 140 cm bed. We did just sleep and take shover in the room, nothing more. We didn't eat breakfast at the hotel because we felt it was relatively expensive.

Pros: a good location: close to Norreport metrostation and a walking distance to the city; nice staff; free wi-fi; wine hour mondays 5-6 pm; the room was quiet even though it was on the road side.

Cons: the week was hot and so was our room, no air conditioning and the morning sun shone directly to our room; the room didn't have any closet, just 3-4 hangers.

Summa summarum: ok hotel in a nice neighbourhood if you just need a place to sleep.

Room Tip: Restaurant Kalaset other side of th street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alfonso69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,189)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

845 - 851 of 1,189 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2013

travelled thu-sun sept 2013. never been to Copenhagen before, so didn't know what to expect.

the hotel was phenomenal, granted, the rooms are on the small side, but this can be overlooked by the sheer experience you get here.

reception super helpful, answered any questions we had regarding Copenhagen, transport etc.

breakfast... different.. prides itself of breakfast in a bowl. very tasty, and well presented.

situated in a trendy area, full of bars and restaurants suiting every taste and price range


overall an absolute delight of a hotel, I would go again and definitely recommend!!

Room Tip: overlooking vibrant street can be a little noisy, maybe a courtyard view preferable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ash j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Well... if you don't pay too much for a stay in city center, you should expect some surprises. For us it was the super small room. Even though we booked a room with 2 twin beds and they gave us one double bed of size less than 1.40 - 2.00. It could have been managable for 1 night stay. Considering that we spent 2 nights there, I have to say that I had pain on my back on the second day.

The breakfast was ok, they offer some sandwiches, juice, coffee, musli and fruits. If you get a better rate without breakfast don't waste your money for their breakfast. It is almost 20 Euro. By 10 - 15 min walk you can find more delicious breakfast in the cafes around with less price.

The location is quite ok. The facility itself is also good. If you are ready for a teenager experience with the room and bed, I fully recommend it. Otherwise try not to spend more than 1 night

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simofor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed here for two nights and were very pleased! The rooms are very clean and spacious and the staff was very helpful and spoke English well. The Lakes are literally around the corner from the hotel for those that like having quick access to an amazing running or walking path. The neighborhood has several restaurants near by and on the same street when you want a break from the busier atmosphere of the city centre. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gopher80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

My husband and I recently spent seven nights in Ibsens Hotel in Copenhagen. Staff was really nice and friendly. We were allowed to check in a couple of hours early which was so kind since we were so tired from our overnight flights. The best thing about this hotel is its location, as many other reviews state. Tons of places nearby for food. The large market a couple of blocks away has coffee vendors with baked goods and sandwiches and quiches, a grill with meat and veggie choices, fruit and veg vendors for picnic supplies. There's a grocery store very close to hotel and several cafes. If you walk in another direction, and pass the metro and bus area, there is a large plaza area surrounded with several restaurant choices. The room itself was small, but adequate. The wet room shower/bathroom worked out fine. Biggest problem was the noise from the people outside at night...but that's just the way it is in a big city. The hotel itself was quiet. The lobby area provided a quiet comfortable place to sit and read or just chat with friends. Prices seemed crazy high to us (not just this hotel, but every place in Copenhagen) but we're from an inexpensive area in small town Indiana. So, it is what it is.

Room Tip: Rooms on the street side are noisy from people yelling, talking, laughing all night. (Not traffic n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IndianaPeggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank susanned327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArthurHotels, Gæsteansvarlig at Ibsens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mikkel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArthurHotels, Gæsteansvarlig at Ibsens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Kong Arthur
Hotel Kong Arthur
#9 of 118 in Copenhagen
2,070 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 118 in Copenhagen
2,740 reviews
Frederiksberg
Avenue Hotel Copenhagen
Avenue Hotel Copenhagen
#1 of 6 in Frederiksberg
1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Vesterbro
Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 118 in Copenhagen
2,179 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
First Hotel Mayfair
First Hotel Mayfair
#29 of 118 in Copenhagen
1,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibsens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibsens Hotel

Address: Vendersgade 23, Copenhagen 1363, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Copenhagen
#11 Best Value Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range: $104 - $364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibsens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibsens Hotel is an oasis in the heart of the city. It overlooks the Nansensgade area, bustling with café life and small shops. Just a 5-minute walk away, you will find the city lakes in the one direction and Nørreport train and metro station in the other.The lobby area offers a café, a library room and a cozy livingroom area with a fireplace. The minute you step inside, you will sense the Nansensgade atmosphere: ”Mingle” tables, magazine holders, an old record player and beautiful textiles adorning the lobby. All design pieces are made by neighbouring artists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ibsens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibsens Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing