We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent collection and beautiful building. Highly recommend”

Ny Carlsberg Glyptotek
Book In Advance
More Info
$59.99*
and up
Copenhagen Card
Ranked #5 of 353 things to do in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: NY CARLSBERG GLYPTOTEK - EXPLORE 6000 YEARS OF ART This beautiful museum, founded in 1888, invites you to discover Northern Europe's largest collection of Ancient Mediterranean art and visit the leading collection of French Impressionist paintings in Denmark. The wonderful buildings are filled with atmosphere and every corner offers a new experience. The heart of the museum is the classic 1906 sub-tropical winter garden with tall palm trees, a fountain and a fish pool. The museum was founded by the renowned brewing magnate Carl Jacobsen, who made Carlsberg beer known world wide. Address:Ny Carlsberg Glyptotek,Dantes Plads 7,1556 Copenhagen V
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent collection and beautiful building. Highly recommend”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Egyptian collection is excellent and beautifully presented. The ceiling decoration in the old section of the building is amazing but might go unnoticed.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank CMaineNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,834
    1,058
    258
    36
    12
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
91 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Wonderful museum”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Beautiful collection of Mediterranean, Danish and French Art from 19th century. It is unbelievable that the collection was owned by an individual art collector - Carl Jacobsen (1842-1914). Sculptures from Norwegian-Danish sculptors and the Greek & Roman marble sculptures are beautiful

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank meerams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor
Level Contributor
80 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Surprisingly underwhelming”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

It surprises me to say it, but I felt pretty meh about Ny Carlsberg Glyptotek. This was largely about them closing their Impressionist collection (the reason I visited) since they had a Degas exhibition going--logic that made no sense to me. Beyond that, it sort of felt like the winter garden was awesome, but you can only really enjoy it for a minute before it gets boring... and beyond that it was a pretty standard museum. Nothing really stand-out.

Be aware that you cannot bring bags into this museum. They'll allow tiny purses, but that's about it. They take this rule very seriously (and themselves very seriously).

I was relieved that we didn't pay money to see this specific museum, as we used our Copenhagen Card to get in. Otherwise I'd have been upset about the price, especially given the Impressionist thing.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank jess65456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful museum”
Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

This museum is one of our favorites to visit. It has a special Degas exhibit right now that is very well done. It gives a lot of background on the artist. The collections they have from ancient Greeks and Roman cultures are fantastic. We also enjoy getting a cup of tea in the cafe looking over the atrium. Our teenagers even enjoyed it!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Aeangus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Small, but interesting. Free on Sundays”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

This museum combines both, a beautiful building plus a great collection of exhebits. Although not as big as ...Say British museum or likewise it does have a lot of things. Free on Sunday so that was an added advantage. I enjoyed it very much

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sfaws13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ny Carlsberg Glyptotek also viewed

 
Copenhagen, Zealand
 

Been to Ny Carlsberg Glyptotek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing