We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome $45 burger...”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hyttefadet

Hyttefadet
Reserve with
Hyttefadet is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #102 of 2,308 Restaurants in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $33
Cuisines: Bar, European, Pub, Scandinavian, Danish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Scenic view, Bar scene, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Indre By (Inner City)
Description: Hyttefadet (old Danish word for "keg of fish") is an authentic and small restaurant in the middle of the old and romantic Nyhavn. Outdoor lunch and dinner service from March to October and live music every Thursday to Saturday from 10 PM. The front of the building is decorated with a robe painted by the famous Danish painter Asger Jorn, forming the word Hyttefadet. The history of Hyttefadet goes all the way back to 1736 where the building were hosting its first pub guests.
Greer, South Carolina
Level Contributor
154 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Awesome $45 burger...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

The burgers here are awesome! The wait staff is incredibly friendly. They offered me tastes of draft beer before I ordered one. The atmosphere was really cozy. It's hard to write a neutral review of CPH restaurants in light of the cost of things, however... :(

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bonjonsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    129
    33
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ashby de la Zouch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Small, atmospheric and good food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

Could not fault the food, my wife had Pork which was 3/4" thick and very tasty, I had the diced beef which was also substantial and both served with fresh vegatables and fries. Very busy as you would expect in Nyhavn but never felt rushed.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RobAshbydelaZouch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asuncion, Paraguay
Level Contributor
829 reviews
614 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,422 helpful votes
“god sandwiches”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

The service is OK and the sandwiches are good - but one should keep in mind that it is difficult to prepare a bad smorrenbrod. The place is small and not very comfortable and the toilets are a tad on the wild side...

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank apalmero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Copenhagen luncheon at its best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

Of the dozens of crowded restaurants with patios lining "Nyhavn" the old Copenhagen harbour front to choose from, we decided to have our lunch at "Hyttefadet."
Once seated on the sunny patio the owner, who was busy working the tables with a genuine and warm hospitality, recommended the house platter which was just fabulous!
The platter AKA "make your own open-faced Danish sandwiches" arrived beautifully garnished with all the customary trimmings and included generous portions of delicious marinated herring, fried fillet of sole, rare roast beef, tasty chicken salad and brie; all which still evokes mouth-watering memories.
After our wonderful Copenhagen luncheon on Hyttefadet's sunny patio we complimented the owner and suggested that he should start a "Hospitality School" for fellow restaurateurs and train same in "hands-on" customer care in which this host most definitely excelled!
Finally, it should be noted that the indoors of this great little restaurant was intimately cosy if the weather shouldn't cooperate.
Highly recommended!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Susur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent livers,restaurant nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

We had a lunch in very busy and overcrowded Nyhavn.

Restaurants are nothing special here and too pricey, but the dish was ok. My wife had a smoked salmon which was good, I had first platter in their menu (with danish style liver) which was just excellent.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barker80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hyttefadet also viewed

 
Copenhagen, Zealand
Copenhagen, Zealand
 
Copenhagen, Zealand
 

Been to Hyttefadet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing