We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only as an absolute last resort!”
Review of Hotel Astoria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Astoria
Ranked #87 of 118 Hotels in Copenhagen
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Zleep Astoria Copenhagen.

Realistically what do you expect for such rates in the capital city of probably the most expensive country in the world? (IMHO)

This is a budget hotel and boy oh boy was it budget. We stayed for one night prior to boarding a cruise ship and the room was smaller than the cabin we had onboard.

It's location, right next to the main railway station was a bonus as the transfer from the airport was really easy, quick and somewhat inexpensive.

There is free wireless Internet for all guests, however I was not aware of that until I had purchased access via the little card in the room, DOH!

Ok, the room, the carpet was dirty and threadbare but the bed linen was spotless.

The electrical supply was dubious to say the least, extension cables were zip tied to table legs and as for the stains on one of the supplied chairs it made my imagination go into overdrive (both pictures will be posted to support these points, but probably when I return home)

The bathroom was tiny with a surprising amount of mould in the corners around the bathtub, the remaining furniture In the room, wardrobe, table etc were certainly passed their best. Soap was supplied but there was no hair dryer.

The bed bases did resemble a concrete slab with a mattress on top, so were not the most comfortable available.

The main window that opened was very big to allow both air to get in and suitable for throwing yourself from when you realise what a mistake you had made in booking this hotel.

Breakfast was available for an added cost and was semi decent with nice bread and cold cuts, cheese, yoghurt, cereals etc.
Surprisingly for one of the world's largest producers of bacon there was none to be seen.

There are reports saying that "there were noises from the trains" seeing as this hotel is next door to the station what do you expect to hear? Wildebeest gently munching grass on the Serengeti?

The important question I feel is thus, would I go back? Absolutely not, never, no way.

Would I recommend it to anyone else? That depends on how much I dislike them.

Listen, you are either passing through as we were or staying in Copenhagen on holiday, either way spend few Krowns more and stay somewhere memorable for the right reasons.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stigmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (657)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

293 - 299 of 657 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2013

I have never written an online review, despite the fact that I travel frequently in the U.S. and abroad for work purposes. The fact that I am writing one now is a testament to the fact that my experience at this hotel was SO TERRIBLE that I considered it my civic duty to share it online so that others can avoid this hotel.

While it seems neat and clean, and the receptionist speaks english, it is so in need of repair and maintenance that it is literally DANGEROUS to your health to stay there. The first day, I tried to open a window, and realized, after a very heavy 4 foot pane of glass was leaving on me from 3 of the four directions, that it was missing a hinge in holding it to the window pane! Needless to say, I was terrified, but decided that, because the other hotels were booked, I would just keep the window closed...Notice that if that pane had fallen on me it could have been a serious injury. After this incident, when I woke up in the morning, I sat up in the bed and it LITERALLY COLLAPSED underneath me! It turned out that they don't bother to make sure that the leg handles are screwed in tight, and since the two twins move around, they frequently get unscrewed This meant that by the time I got there, it was just about ready to fall down. I have subsequently gone to see a chiropractor to fix this injury due to the bed collapsing underneath me and paid my own money simply because I want nothing else to do with this awful establishment.

I have never in my life seen this level of lack of upkeep so that it is literally dangerous to stay there.

Other minor annoyances were the fact that (1) you have to ask for a non-train-facing room unless you are used to sleeping with the sound of train tracks, and (2) the internet works for exactly 24 hours for one device so you need to keep changing the codes on every device if you choose to stay there...not a major annoyance but still a waste of time, (3) they won't refund your money at all if it is a third party booking and, (4) breakfast is overpriced for what it is.

PLEASE do not stay at this hotel so that they start trying to make it safe so they can get customers.

Sincerely,
A concerned citizen of the world

Room Tip: Do NOT stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We both really enjoyed our stay at Zleep Astoria. Perfect location, right in the heart of the city and very close to Tivoli gardens. Plenty of local shops, restaurants and sight seeing days out. Would definitely come back for another visit in the near future! Overall, very clean, although walls could do with another paint so are fresh and updated.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Charlotte W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Very good small hotel, we only had 1 night to spend in Copenhagen, before a Cruise, check-in is from 14:00 but are welcome to leave your suitcases x free in a special room (we did from 12:00), it also works @ check out by 11:00, but luggage could be left if later departure.
Rooms are smallish but as we were there to see the town, we spent little time in!! The hotel has only a breakfast room, but a bar and full restaurant are in the building but from outside and independent, right by the railway line and main station (Central) where food is available most times. Rooms can be a bit hot (railway side!) but after a day of travelling and sight seen the bed are very confortable!!! Tea & coffee machine in the lobby x a 10 Dk Kr .

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the opposite side of railway much cooler in a sunny day!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

i read the reviews and am minded to conclude the writers must live in tents or shacks. This hotel is nothing more than a hostal, In fact nothing like any hotel we've ever stayed in. It's basic and not clean. Denmark is known for minimalistic decor, but there couldnt be less in a room. A bed, a chair, a table, except I guess in a prison cell. The bathroom is a joke, for not only is it tiny, but decrepit, stinking moldy tile joints surrounding a chipped bath, the size to bath a child in. The tap is shared between the sink and the bath, with a piece of rubber hose to serve as a shower. Electrical wiring, rudimentary beyond belief in Europe, let alone a Capital city. The curtains are nothing more than flimsy rags that dont exclude light. overall 3rd world African style. Check the photos for proof.

Free WiFi doesnt work -never does apparently, reception suggest you log on to the Grand Hotel wi fi next door. That is if your room is located adjacent to the hotel. If not, do without wi fi or use it in the lobby.
Yes its centrally located but noisy as hell from traffic noise. Receptionist was coolly professional.

A rip off, to be avoided, better closed down by the tourist authority for it gives the city a bad name.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

fantastic location, staff were good, rooms are adequate although our bathroom could have been updated . breakfast is a waste of money, typical continental stuff ( who wants cold meat and a hard boiled egg at that time of day) and rather expensive

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

I had a single room and upgraded it due to it being the size of a single bed! Not a very comfortable bed and was a pretty average hotel. I think all the beds in denmark have very bouncy matteresess.

It was cheap and cheerful, idelly located to the train station, for taxis, walking to tivoli gardens and the walking streets.

Would i stay again? yes i would as its cheap and located ideally by the train station making going to the airport. and very very near kebabish!

Room Tip: avoid single rooms. Go for double room single occupacny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Saj12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Good Morning Copenhagen Star
Good Morning Copenhagen Star
#68 of 118 in Copenhagen
1,060 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
ProfilHotels Mercur Hotel
ProfilHotels Mercur Hotel
#59 of 118 in Copenhagen
956 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Hotel Ansgar
Hotel Ansgar
#50 of 118 in Copenhagen
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Danmark
Hotel Danmark
#53 of 118 in Copenhagen
108 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#78 of 118 in Copenhagen
30 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Saga Hotel
Saga Hotel
#72 of 118 in Copenhagen
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astoria

Address: Banegaardspladsen 4, Copenhagen 1570, Denmark (Formerly Astoria Hotel - Copenhagen)
Phone Number:
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Inner Vesterbro , Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 118 Hotels in Copenhagen
Price Range: $92 - $394 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Astoria 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Astoria is located as a large train in extension to Copenhagen's Central Station. It is positioned very central in a living area with a short distance to the metropolitan areas in the Meetpacker Destrict and Copenhagen Center. There are approximately 100 meters to Tivoli and the City Hall Square is right around the corner. The airport is only a 12 minutes ride away. The hotel is a 3-star hotel built in 1934 in the functionalist style typical for the architectural era and is therefore popular among people interested in architecture. We have kept many of the original parts inside the hotel. FACTS: 93 rooms Organic Breakfast Lobby bar Wine Hour between 5 and 6 PM Free High-Speed WiFi Business facilities Bike rentals A unique location by the Central Station ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing