We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location outsite train station but not a great standard”
Review of Hotel Astoria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Astoria
Ranked #86 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent location outsite train station but not a great standard”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

I had a single room and upgraded it due to it being the size of a single bed! Not a very comfortable bed and was a pretty average hotel. I think all the beds in denmark have very bouncy matteresess.

It was cheap and cheerful, idelly located to the train station, for taxis, walking to tivoli gardens and the walking streets.

Would i stay again? yes i would as its cheap and located ideally by the train station making going to the airport. and very very near kebabish!

Room Tip: avoid single rooms. Go for double room single occupacny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saj12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    171
    190
    110
    103
See reviews for
85
242
72
127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tampere, Western Finland, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Well nothing bad to say, but still nothing spectacular either. Customer service in the lobby was great though! Breakfast is quite minimal and the beds are not what you would expect, but Copenhagen is pretty expensive city so for 100€ a night I guess this was quite cheap room on excellent location, 50m from the Central railway station's main entry.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikko S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 12, 2013

For the low price this hotel is really great and exceeded our expectations. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the hotel/the room was as clean as it could be, regarding that the hotel is quite old/not renovated.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ellenkarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stayed one night at the Zleep Hotel Astoria because I needed to catch an early train next morning. I checked in late, and didn't use any of their facilities, other than the room, so not much to talk about.

The room was small, and basic, with a double bed, desk and a bathroom. The bed was comfortable, although very low.

The bathroom was okay, except for the shower which was combined with a small two-level bathtub. This two-level meant that you're standing at an odd angle and I almost pulled a muscle while showering.

Also, my room was facing the street, rather than the central station, so there was a little noise from traffic and the usual drunks. But nothing that took away my sleep.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the central station instead of the street if you are a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cod66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

I would advise avoiding this hotel at all costs. The rooms are small, basic and noisy - but that is fine as you tend to get what you pay for, and as the price is reasonable you can't expect five-star luxury - but not even basic attention is paid to the security and safety of guests who stay here - and that is why I would recommend avoiding this hotel.

Last night while we were asleep someone broke into our room and stole a phone, cameras, money, and watch. Turns out we were just one of four or five rooms (that we know about - there may be more) that were broken into in the middle of the night while guests slept. Indeed one lady allegedly had the misfortune of waking up in bed while the robbery was taking place, and was confronted in the room by the intruder.

The possible reason being is that the front door of the hotel is left open at all hours (I myself came in shortly before 3am and it was wide open then) and there is no one on duty permanently at reception. The hotel is not in the most salubrious of neighbourhoods - street prostitutes ply for trade on neighboring streets - and so it might be reasonable to expect security to be even more imprtant here...

The bedrooms have a strange and antiquated locking system whereby the doors do not lock automatically when they are closed, and there is no deadbolt or chain to lock the doors with from inside the room. The only way to lock the door is with the key in the lock from the inside. If you fail to do this, anyone can wander off the street and into the room without a key. Indeed to make the situation worse, it can be detected from outside the room whether the door has been locked or not, as the bolt has a dial which changes from green to red to indicate when the door has been locked (along the lines of a toilet cubicle - I jest not...). Obviously we should have paid more attention to our own safety and security, but sadly when you are on holiday you tend to pay less attention to these things than you should.

Having examined the door more closely, there is a very tiny sign (maybe 2cm x 4cm) above the lock on the inside reminding you to look the door - fair enough - but being tired we just pretty much got straight into bed. I can only imagine that theft is a frequent occurrence at the hotel, as when we saw one of the staff members in the corridor when we realised we had been robbed she just shrugged it off as if it is nothing new. No warning is given when you check in though, to warn people of the old fashioned style doors that require locking manually.

At least the police station is metres away in the Central Station, so there is one redeeming feature (!!) and the Police were incredibly helpful, friendly and English-speaking. Fortunately our passports were not stolen - apparently other guests have had theirs taken - but obviously being broken into while you are - given the tiny rooms - only centimetres away from the intruder as they rifle through your belongings is pretty disconcerting. Obviously the beds aren't that uncomfortable as we must have been sound asleep...

The receptionist was very helpful but the hotel management has done nothing to address the issue as while there is apparently a duty manager, and she has apparently been contacted, she will not come to the hotel to speak to guests until Monday as it is a weekend... Bit late then... What kind of hotel has such little regard for its guests' wellbeing?

Do not stay here at any cost. There are plenty other reasonable hotels in Copenhagen if you shop around.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
7 Thank ChrisUKLondon_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Copenhagen hotels

Copenhagen
1 review
Reviewed April 26, 2013

very central, next to the central station, to the center only a view minutes walk, clean and nice rooms, breakfast is simple but contents all you need. a good place to stay in copenhagen, we can recommend it !

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Gert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Zleep Hotels represent the worst side of the hospitality business. They are greedy, have a complete lack of interest in the style and architecture of their acquisitions – and, most disturbingly, they treat their guests with arrogance and hostility.

Ten years ago, I spent a couple of nights in this rather run-down, but extremely charming modernist hotel. On my return with my family this April 2013, I found the hotel run by a new chain. Zleep Hotels boast their presence with yellow signage and ill-fitting partner advertising everywhere possible: from entrance and lobby, to lifts and stairs. It seems they've left a "museum room" – but all the other rooms have been stripped from their original furniture truly worthy of restoration, rather than demolition. It makes you want to cry to see what they've done. This could be the coolest hotel in Copenhagen, now it's the opposite.

Furthermore, when we tried to cancel two of our three nights, well in advance of the 2 o'clock rule, they simply refused. Since the website we booked trough didn't respond in time, we ended up having to pay the whole deal. The payment was made to the hotel, and clearly this is the party that should accept the cancellation, and clear to future payment. But no. We were sheepishly advised by the inexperienced lobby staff to speak to the manager, who from the beginning of our encounter acted with both contempt and arrogance.

Be warned. A lovely hotel turned sour.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oscar l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#88 of 117 in Copenhagen
972 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Hotel Ansgar
Hotel Ansgar
#49 of 117 in Copenhagen
778 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Copenhagen Plaza Hotel
Copenhagen Plaza Hotel
#44 of 117 in Copenhagen
1,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Vesterbro
Copenhagen Star Hotel
Copenhagen Star Hotel
#73 of 117 in Copenhagen
1,016 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Mercur Hotel
Copenhagen Mercur Hotel
#56 of 117 in Copenhagen
931 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Saga Hotel
Saga Hotel
#72 of 117 in Copenhagen
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astoria

Property: Hotel Astoria
Address: Banegaardspladsen 4, Copenhagen 1570, Denmark (Formerly Astoria Hotel - Copenhagen)
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Inner Vesterbro , Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Astoria 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Astoria is located as a large train in extension to Copenhagen's Central Station. It is positioned very central in a living area with a short distance to the metropolitan areas in the Meetpacker Destrict and Copenhagen Center. There are approximately 100 meters to Tivoli and the City Hall Square is right around the corner. The airport is only a 12 minutes ride away. The hotel is a 3-star hotel built in 1934 in the functionalist style typical for the architectural era and is therefore popular among people interested in architecture. We have kept many of the original parts inside the hotel. FACTS: 93 rooms Organic Breakfast Lobby bar Wine Hour between 5 and 6 PM Free High-Speed WiFi Business facilities Bike rentals A unique location by the Central Station ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing