We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location...loud at night!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Danmark

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Danmark
Ranked #83 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Chattanooga, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
210 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Great location...loud at night!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

This is a great hotel. Very cute. Very friendly staff. Small rooms but typical for European hotels. Breakfast was delicious! Has a lift (elevator). The only problem, which was a big problem, is that it was so loud at night! There is a bar/club just 1 block down from the hotel, and it was SOOOO loud...until 1 am even during the week! It's not the hotel's fault, but made sleep very difficult. Great location. About 4 blocks from central station and 1 or 2 blocks from Tivoli Gardens.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank PSimms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pardis K, Gæsteansvarlig at Hotel Danmark, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Hello,

thank you very much for your kind words and for staying with us.
Weekends can be a little more loud than weekdays because it is so centrally located.

But I must say, the weather has been beyond amazing the last 4 weeks in Copenhagen, and I think that many many Danes chose to take advantage and enjoy it on the streets of Copenhagen. So this might made it a little more loud than usual :)

But I hope to see you soon again in Hotel Danmark.

Kind regards
Pardis K
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    186
    188
    78
    69
See reviews for
88
247
38
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kungsbacka, Sverige
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

Small entrance, small reception. People in reception bahind small openings. Elevator, small again, had seen it´s better days. Room probobly design in the 1980. The hotel need reservation.They want 174 Euro for a room but it is worth 40 Euro. Avoid the place. Copenhagens biggest ripp off.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rydfeldt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pardis K, Gæsteansvarlig at Hotel Danmark, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Hello,

Thank you for your review and for staying with us.

We never claimed Hotel Danmark to be a large and commercial hotel.
We like to be a small and cosy hotel where guests are in focus. It is also important for us that guests feel our warm welcome and homey feeling in stead of walking around in a large lobby with a distance to the staff.

We take pride in this and we feel it is a home away from home :)

I am sorry that you did not experience what we had intended for you as a guest.

Kind regards
Pardis K
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Copenhagen hotels

UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

The Hotel scores well in many departments when one takes into account the high prices that prevail in Denmark, true the decor is in need of some attention and the lift could really do with a replacement but for friendly staff, good breakfast, and value, it scores highly -then of course there's the location ! Five minutes from the central station (therefore potentially 20 mins from the airport by train !), round the corner from the Tivoli Gardens, 2 minutes from the main shopping street, across the road from the National Museum , and 10 minutes walk from major tourist attractions like Christianstad, Canal trips, HC Anderson museum etc etc- excellent ! The closeness of the Central Station makes the Copenhagen card a must for any tourist as this makes it so easy to visit Roskilde, Kronberg Castle and really most of the region easily and quickly (why can't we have railways like this in the UK !). Breakfast service was very good (free coffee for on the go to take with you) and the free glass of wine/ iced water when you arrive back in was a very nice touch ! Without doubt there are a couple of problems- we found it a very noisy hotel at night, seemingly it must be very close to either a hospital or emergency service of some sort, due to the historical value of the building i'm sure there are legitimate reasons why the lift is still in place and the rooms do get very warm however for value , position and friendly staff you wont find many better value hotels than this in Copenhagen.

Room Tip: Higher floors will help with the noise and seeing Tivoli fireworks
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cjad30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pardis K, Gæsteansvarlig at Hotel Danmark, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Hello,

thank you very much for your kind words and for staying with us.
It is always my pleasure to have satisfied guests at Hotel Danmark.
We take pride in offering a home away from home where all guests feel welcome, and I cannot argue with you about the location. :)

I hope to see you soon again.

Have a wonderful summer.

Kind regards
Pardis K
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

This hotel is so promising when you book, they send you emails about lot of things and tell you how forward they look to have you as their guest. But then on your arrival you do not feel so welcome. They overbook the hotel a lot and there are always pissed off guests at the reception arguing with the poor staff. But the location is very good.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Skjalfandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pardis K, Gæsteansvarlig at Hotel Danmark, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Hello,

thank you for your review about Hotel Danmark.
I am very sorry if you were in this situation, and I would like to look into your booking situation so see how I can make this up to you.
Overbooking is not something we do by choice, but unfortunately it does happen in hotels, just as with flights.

I am sure my colleagues tried to offer you a solution, but if you are not happy with this, please contact me on; paka@brochner-hotels.dk and I will see what I can do.

Have a great summer, and hope to hear from you soon.

Kind regards
Pardis K
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

My group stayed at the Hotel Danmark June 13-14 before taking a cruise. The hotel staff was accomadating and answered our questions. The complimentary coffee/tea in the mornings and red wine from 5-6pm was a nice surprise. Our room was spacious with a lovely view of the City Hall. On Saturday night we could see Tivoli's fireworks from our room. The location was excellent. We were able to walk wherever we wanted to go. Hopefully I will return to Copenhagen and when I do I will stay at Hotel Danmark again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LRR123_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pardis K, Gæsteansvarlig at Hotel Danmark, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Hello,

We do remember your group and we enjoyed it as much as you to have you as guests.
Thank you for all your kind words and for staying with us.

We really hope to see you again, and this time for a little longer time. :)

Kind regards
Pardis K
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
189 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

We chose this hotel by location on the map but really regretted it. The carpets were threadbare and patched with gaffer tape. Our room (101) was quite a small double and the first thing you see is a large stain on the carpet. It was dark and poorly furnished. The bathroom was a makeshift wet room and if you have a shower, you get wet going using the toilet and water spills into the room. It was very hot in the room although it was only max 17oC outside. It is VERY noisy as so close to the Town Hall where the bell tolls every 15 min between 8am and midnight. At 6am, they move the bins below so no chance of sleeping. The walls are paper thin so other guests seem very noisy. No tea and coffee in room. Weird carpeted shelves added to the poor decor. Breakfast food was OK but the room is so poorly designed you are constantly being bumped or can't get out of your seat without others having to move. All the staff were very helpful and friendly but this cost 1425.00 DK/ night so very poor value. Public transport is so good and frequent it would be better choosing a nicer (and cheaper) hotel somewhere else.

Room Tip: I can't imagine there is a good room but don't go for 101
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 482EUfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pardis K, Gæsteansvarlig at Hotel Danmark, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Hello,

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your room in Hotel Danmark.
I am please though, that our staff made you feel good about staying with us.
#101 is actually a double standard room with 15 sqm.
Hotels in Copenhagen usually do not have A/C but we do have fans guests can borrow.

Noise comes automatically when staying so Central in Copenhagen. I recommend guests to stay in Ørestad, Copenhagen if they wish to have no noise outside their hotels.

But I do hope that you enjoyed your stay, even though Copenhagen was a little too pricey for you.

Kind regards
Pardis K
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

Considering the price I paid for two nights I expected anything. In short I was plesantly surprised. The room was good, room service good, the location great(100 meters to Radhuspladset) and the staff were helpful in any way. I will with no doubt stay there again. thank you.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gestur0402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pardis K, Gæsteansvarlig at Hotel Danmark, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Hello,

thank you very much for your kind words and for staying with us.
We are doing our best to offer our guests a homey and wonderful stay with us.

We hope to see you with us soon again.

Kind regards
Pardis K
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
First Hotel Twentyseven
First Hotel Twentyseven
#53 of 116 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,036 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Scandic Palace Hotel
Scandic Palace Hotel
#19 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,961 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
First Hotel Kong Frederik
First Hotel Kong Frederik
#59 of 116 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
The Square Copenhagen
The Square Copenhagen
#34 of 116 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,319 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Copenhagen Plaza Hotel
Copenhagen Plaza Hotel
#47 of 116 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,044 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#9 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Danmark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Danmark

Property: Hotel Danmark
Address: Vester Voldgade 89, Copenhagen 1552, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Danmark 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
OPENING APRIL 2017 - HOTEL DANMARK A NEW LUXURY BOUTIQUE HOTEL IN COPENHAGEN In the middle of central Copenhagen, Hotel Danmark will reopen in april 2017 as a completely new reimagined upscale luxury boutique hotel. The new Hotel Danmark will offer 88 exclusive rooms, rooftop terrace with city view and bar, urban vineyard garden, conference facilities and a conceptual excelling restaurant. The boutique hotel chain, Brøchner Hotels, will take this existing hotel building and reinvent it into an upscale luxury hotel. The former hotel closed down in October 2016 and is currently being rebuildt into the new luxury boutique hotel. Placed in the old museum quarter between the City Hall Square and The National Museum, Hotel Danmark offers a prime location only 127 steps to Tivoli Gardens and right next to the main shopping street Strøget. The design of the new Hotel Danmark will reinterpret classical elements in new innovative ways. Extravagant features reimagine the lobby into a vibrant area with an urban vineyard garden inside the hotel and spacious social areas and chambers. The rooftop terrace will be a sky-high urban spot for the guests with the best city view and a vibrant bar. The interior offers unique design elements in terms of clothing surfaces where the walls resemble soft velvet and ceramic tiles are creatively integrated into the building. FACTS: • 4+ star boutique hotel • 88 deluxe rooms • Luxury suites • In-house a la carte restaurant • 1 bar • Rooftop terrace • Conference facilities for up to 20 pers. • Vineyard garden • Daily complimentary Wine Hour • Complimentary high speed Wifi ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Danmark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Danmark Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing