We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good, well-located hotel”
Review of Scandic Front

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scandic Front
Ranked #37 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
214 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Good, well-located hotel”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

The Scandic chain has a range of hotels sensibly dotted across Scandinavia, varying from bog-standard to something approaching luxury, and the Scandic Front sits towards the top end of this. It offers a good choice of room types, from standards up to the duplex "superior plus", the latter complete with two TVs, a Nespresso machine and a great balcony, so you can choose where you want to sit in this range. The best place to find good deals and the full range is via Scandic's own website rather than through booking companies, and there are some excellent non-refundable deals to be had if you book early enough.

The hotel's main selling point is its location, on the sea front in a relatively quiet square but a mere three minutes from the bustling and often noisy Nyhavn, and less than five minutes' walk from the Kongens Nytorv Station, which can be accessed directly by metro from the airport in under 15 minutes. So you can be in the hotel within 30 minutes of walking out of the baggage area at Kastrup, which is pretty remarkable. From the hotel all of central Copenhagen is easily accessible including (if you must) the Mermaid within about 10 minutes' walk. There is no hotel parking, but the hotel offers a small reduction on public parking nearby.

Rooms are to the usual Scandic standard, functional and clean, and there is useful air conditioning for the warmer months when heat can build up quickly indoors. As always with Scandic there is good, free wi-fi.

Breakfast was excellent and included in the room rate. There was a better-than-average selection of food and drink, including self-made freshly squeezed orange juice.

We had a few problem issues during our stay, but these were all dealt with quickly and efficiently by the front desk.

The hotel offers e-check out, a quick and efficient way of cutting down the queues on your day of departure.

Room Tip: Use the Scandic's own website and book early to get the best deals
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keithmalin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linehs, Reservation Manager at Scandic Front, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear guest,

We appreciating you taking time to make such a thorough review of Scandic Front.
We are delighted that your stay was satisfactory and that the issues that you had, were handled properly by our staff.
Hopefully we'll have the pleasure in welcoming you back at Scandic Front in the future.

Best regards
Line Holm Svendsen
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

871 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    326
    214
    108
    46
See reviews for
169
300
32
238
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Turku, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 16, 2014

The hotel was undergoing a roof renovation and was almost completely scaffolded. There was also a large constrution site nearby. That aside, the location is awesome. And after the constructions are completed the site will be worth a revisit.

Our room could have used a quick interior facelift. The furnishings and the beds were ok, but the lightning was pretty poor and the wall-to-wall carpets should go immediately. Our room had a stifling odor and because of the renovation it was difficult to ventilate. I blame the terrible carpet. The AC had basically two modes: warm and hot (probably because of the scaffolding, dunno). Our room had two tv-screens from which only one worked. Cleanliness was average.

The breakfast was plentiful. The staff was friendly, professional and willing to serve.

With some investments to the room quality and cleanliness, Scandic Front could be a real gem. Now it's a controversial package with some great details and some "soviet style" annoyances.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank haendell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linehs, Reservation Manager at Scandic Front, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you very much for your comments, they are very valuable for us. We do agree that some of the rooms need a facelift, which will be done shortly. That you enjoy the location and the staff is very positive, however we must admit that the scaffold was a big challende for our guests.
We are thrilled that this area will be the best, recreative place in town, whenthe construction work ends.

Best regards
The management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Stayed at Scandic Front a couple of weeks ago. I stayed here before because the location is great: close to the subway station at Kongens Nytorg and the city center, and also some cozy resturants in the surroundings. I have also found the hotel as a good quality for the money. This stay though I was a bit dissatisfied. First of all the hotel is under rehabilitation so the outside is covered by scaffolding, and second our room was a bit worn out. But if you are not very fastidious and expect very high quality, there is no problem to accept the standard at the room. But if I was the manager at this hotel I would definitively have special focus on the room standard in the months to come.

Room Tip: Ask I they are done with the outside rehabilitation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ole Alexander O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linehs, Reservation Manager at Scandic Front, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
We appreciate the time it takes to post a review, it's of great value for us. The period with the scaffolding was absolutely terrible and we do appologize for all the inconvenience caused.
Luckily the scaffold has been down for a long time now and we are in an ongoing process of refreshing the hotel. We are delighted that you enjoy the great location and we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best regards
The management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Good location, simple journey from airport. Excellent breakfast with top quality food. There is a food store opposite to the hotel in basement floor (no big signs outside, hard to spot if you do not know it is there).

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Prix_d_Amerique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linehs, Reservation Manager at Scandic Front, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you so much for your positive feedback, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us at Scandic Front.
We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcoming you back in the future.

Best regards
The management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Rooms:
We picked this hotel due to its central location. Whilst the location is wonderful the hotel itself is a little disappointing. We arrived to a building site. Covered by scaffolding, (which they failed to tell us about,) and overlooking another building site, we checked into our room. The room was a great size however looked empty and uninviting. Two very small pillows and two single duvets on a double bed? Asked for more pillows but didn't receive them. We left the room quickly and hit the town. Unfortunately, the hot water wasn't working whilst we were there either and my fiancé had to shower in freezing cold water. Not so relaxing.

Breakfast:
This was ok. Good selection BUT they cheekily charge extra for a coffee or cappuccino!!! They also cleared away the breakfast items while we were taking what we wanted. Get there in good time or you will be rushed to finish.

Overall:
Copenhagen is a wonderful place however don't stay here. There are so many other nicer central hotels. Scaffolding up until June so check before going.

Room Tip: Don't worry about the view because it's awful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EC2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linehs, Reservation Manager at Scandic Front, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
This sounds like a very bad experience and we are sorry that you were met by a scaffolding, however the construction outside the hotel is clearly mentioned on our website. Have two single duvets is normal in Denmark, unfortunately we don't provide double duvets.
We are pleased that you liked our great location and would like to welcoming you back to a fresher hotel.

Best regards
The management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Copenhagen hotels

Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
131 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

We went to Cph for a weekend - decided to try Front in stead of Admiral. Big mistake. Bad service in reception (robot...?). We booked superior but "Unfortunately we can only offer you standard". Ok - we had a look at the room - but the smell convinced us - we decided to simply check out and find another place!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank MrHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linehs, Reservation Manager at Scandic Front, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
That sounds as a very bad experience and it's not acceptable that you didn't get the room that you had booked. We are sorry that you didn't give us the chance to show you, what we normally are very good at, however hopefully we'll have the opportunity to welcome you in the future to give you a better expression.

Best regards
The management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

This hotel is ultra-modern and has all the bells and whistles, including heated floors in the bathroom (what?!? AMAZING). I had a double room, which also included a little seating area with two comfy leather chairs. There was also a large desk and mini fridge. Closet space was also big, and included lots of hangers (important). Really comfy beds, too.

Lobby area: sleek and fun with a foosball table, free newspapers (including some in English), lovely and helpful staff (booked taxis and recommended restaurants), and a 24 hour snack bar.

This hotel is located right on the water, which has a beautiful running/walking path. You're close to both the palace and the scenic Nyhavn canal area. A great choice!!

Room Tip: Hotel currently has scaffolding on all sides. Just FYI.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linehs, Reservation Manager at Scandic Front, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Scandic Front and that our staff met you in a friendly and helpful manner.
We do agree - the location is excellent, good that you had the possibility to take a run along the harbour front outside the hotel.
We hope that weøll have the possibility to welcoming you back in the future.

Best regards
The management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Skt. Annae
Hotel Skt. Annae
#50 of 116 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,355 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#2 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Phoenix Copenhagen
Phoenix Copenhagen
#42 of 116 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Strand
Copenhagen Strand
#31 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,383 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
#23 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,809 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Best Western Plus Hotel City Copenhagen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Front? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Front

Property: Scandic Front
Address: Skt. Annae Plads 21, Copenhagen 1250, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Front 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Scandic Front hotel is set opposite Copenhagen's contemporary Opera House and has a Danish design, mixing luxury with comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Scandic Hotels, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Front reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Front Copenhagen
Scandic Front Hotel Copenhagen
Front Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing