We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Christian IV

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Christian IV
Ranked #26 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Oulu, Finland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Hotel is middle of the city so the location is good. You can rent a bike from the hotel and it cost 75DKK/6h. Staff was helpful and reception is open 24h. Room was quite warm because outside temperature was 26C. Room windows can be opened and it helps to deal with temperature.

Room Tip: Ask for bigger room. There is double rooms available, but they are quite small. Upgrade to bigger ro...
See more room tips
Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tapani N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristianIV, Direktør at Hotel Christian IV, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Tapani N,

Thank you for staying with us at Hotel Christian IV and for sharing your experience with the community of Tripadvisor users. We are happy that you found our hotel nice. We are enjoying one of the warmest July's I can remember and in a time like this, it sure would be nice to be able to offer air condition. However, as most other hotels in the city we unfortunately do not offer it. We do however, have plenty of fans available and our large room windows can be opened. As you found an open window goes a long way to cool down the room at night. If you travels brings you to Copenhagen in the future we would love to have you as our guest again.

Sincerely,
Kasper Jorgensen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    260
    101
    31
    4
See reviews for
98
237
28
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Stay there when on a business trip and it was situated very ideally close to the city centre with many restaurants and amenities close by. Rooms were small and basic but found it a nice cosy place. Breakfast is included and you have juice,tea and coffee available to you 24/7. Descent internet as well and again included in the price.

Overall a nice hotel

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexanae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristianIV, Direktør at Hotel Christian IV, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear alexanea,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Christian IV for your business trip to Copenhagen and furthermore for taking your time to write a review. We are fortunate that our location is so close to many of our city's best attractions, sights and restaurants. It is nice to read that you found our hotel a cozy place, something we really strive to be. Should your business travels bring you back to Copenhagen we are here and ready to serve you again.

Best wishes,
Kasper Jorgensen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Spent 4 nights here. We soon got used to the size of the room, but we had been warned that hotel rooms in Copenhagen are a lot smaller than UK. Hotel comfortable, staff friendly and it is ideally situated for walking to main sights of Copenhagen. Nyhavn is not even 10 minutes away. Breakfasts were plentiful and it was lovely to be able to chill with a complimentary coffee and a pastry after a day walking and sight-seeing. Everything we wanted and we would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizbea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristianIV, Direktør at Hotel Christian IV, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Lizbea,
Thanks for staying with us at Hotel Christian IV. I am thrilled to read that you would recommend our hotel to other travellers. As a note about our rooms; we offer rooms of various sizes and at different prize levels. Our small double rooms are small I admit, however our standard double rooms and superior rooms are sizeable, between 200-250 sq ft.
It is nice to hear that you found our location ideal, our breakfast plentiful and the small snack buffet much appreciated after a long day of walking the town. We were very happy to serve you and hope to greet you again.

Respectfully,
Kasper Jorgensen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
100 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014

It is located pretty close to the center of actions and the palace - all within mins of walk.
The building and room are rather old, and the bathroom was very smelly - wsa like mouldy smell. The breakfast was not something to write home at all, but a few unique pieces to try. The Wifi was pretty fast, and staffs were really nice. BTW, the elevator can only fit 2 of us with 2 bags - quite a cute elevator!
Anyway, everything was average except for the bathroom - way below average.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristianIV, Direktør at Hotel Christian IV, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear abwtoronto,

Thank you for staying with us in August 2013 and thank you for sharing your feedback now. I wish we could have given you a better than average experience, and I apologize for this not being the case. I trust that we have taken care of the odors that you experienced from the bathroom.
I am sorry that you did not feel that the breakfast was something worth writing home about. We serve many happy guests every day as other reviews also indicate. Therefore, it saddens me that you did not have the same encounter. If you have any specific items that we could improve upon, we would love to have your feedback.
Our elevator is small and is limited to 225kg or three adults without any luggage. Thankfully, our building only has 5 floors and 42 rooms that the elevator has to serve. But yes, it is small and I guess - kind of cute.
Once again thank you for the feedback. We will do our best every day to improve ourselves, and if we are lucky enough to have you as our guest in the future we hope to give you a memorable stay.

Respectfully,
Kasper Jorgensen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

We only stayed 2 nights at this hotel, but it was enjoyable.
The 24 hour tea and coffee in the dining room, with biscuits was a very nice touch.

The rooms are ordinary, but clean and quite nice and everything works well.

The hotel is a short stroll to the main tourist parts of Copenhagen and a very nice park is at the end of the street. On the other side of the park is Rosenbourg Castle with the Danish Crown Jewels. Well worth the walk.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travplane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristianIV, Direktør at Hotel Christian IV, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Travplane,

Thank you very much for choosing Hotel Christian IV for your 2-day stay in Copenhagen. We are happy to read that you had an enjoyable stay and found our hotel nice and quiet. Personally, I also enjoy the park (Kongens Have) right next to the hotel, as do most of the locals. It’s a great place for a picnic, a game of boule, a run or simply as a place to relax. I am sure you experienced the vibrant atmosphere in the park.
We would love to welcome you back to the hotel again in the future and hope your travel plans brings you through Copenhagen again.

All the best,
Kasper Jorgensen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenthurst, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

We had a triple share room that was disappointing. The third bed was an extremely uncomfortable couch with a sheet over the top. The lack of bed was made up with the breakfast. I really enjoyed the croissants with Nutella, and the ham and cheese were so tasty. The room service was very efficient.

Very close to the centre of Copenhagen, and a very short walk to the castle and the gardens.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Katie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristianIV, Direktør at Hotel Christian IV, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Katie S,

Thank you for being our guest at Hotel Christian IV. I am pleased to hear that your overall impression was of a lovely simple hotel and furthermore, that breakfast made up for your experience with our extra bed. I will have a look at our extra beds to see if we can find a more comfortable solution. The extra bed should of course be of a similar standard to our normal beds. I hope that our breakfast will bring you back to Copenhagen, as we would love to serve you again.

Sincerely,
Kasper Jorgensen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

What a great find. Location perfect for all sight seeing. Very friendly staff. Room exactly as described. Breakfast ample with plenty of choice. Free tea or coffee throughout the day. Would definitely recommend.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristianIV, Direktør at Hotel Christian IV, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Jonathan P,

Thank you very much for staying with us at Hotel Christian IV. We are thrilled to hear that we lived up to your expectations and that you would recommend our hotel to others. We hope to able to greet you or your friends in the future.

All the best,
Kasper Jorgensen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
Ibsens Hotel
Ibsens Hotel
#21 of 116 in Copenhagen
904 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Kong Arthur
Hotel Kong Arthur
#14 of 116 in Copenhagen
1,573 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#5 of 116 in Copenhagen
1,704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Babette Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Strand
Copenhagen Strand
#31 of 116 in Copenhagen
1,368 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
BEST WESTERN Hotel City
BEST WESTERN Hotel City
#17 of 116 in Copenhagen
1,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Christian IV? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Christian IV

Property: Hotel Christian IV
Address: Dronningens Tvaergade 45, Copenhagen 1302, Denmark
Phone Number:
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Christian IV 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy hotel in the heart of Copenhagen. If location and a quiet nights sleep is important to you, you have found the right place. Hotel Christian IV is in close proximity to most all major cultural sights in Copenhagen. Only a 5 min walk from "Nyhavn's" many restaurants and "Stroeget's" great shopping. The cultural sights "Rosenborg Castle" and "Amalienborg Castle" is less than 10 min away on foot.The hotel is quietly located few steps away from the lush green park - "the Kings Garden." The hotel has 42 well equipped rooms with modern Scandinavian decor. Enjoy Free Wifi, Free Coffee, tea and biscuits throughout the day and personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Christian IV reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Christian Iv Hotel
Christian Iv Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing