We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room 54(?) - 25-27/08/13”
Review of Hotel Christian IV

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Christian IV
Ranked #20 of 118 Hotels in Copenhagen
Reviewed October 27, 2013

First impressions weren't great. We were travelling with friends & it appeared on checking in that only one couple was expected & not two so our room was not available. Check-in was from 14:00 but it was 15:00 before we got into a room on the fifth floor. The room was a standard & was quite small (other room types are available) . The washroom was a small but functional wet room & it was definitely only for use by one person at a time. The staff were helpful & friendly & breakfast offered a good selection. There was also tea/coffee & cakes/pastries available in the breakfast room throughout the day which was great to come back to. There are no tea/coffee facilities in the guest rooms. The location was good as a base for exploring Copenhagen. There was obviously some street noise but nothing too intrusive apart from the git who was doing some building work nearby & thought using a Stihl saw at 07:00 was acceptable - but that's not the hotel's fault is it? Overall, a reasonable hotel in a good location if you're spending some time in Copenhagen.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Capesthorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (633)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

313 - 319 of 633 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2013

This hotel provided pretty good value. The room was probably 165 square foot for a regular double. It may appear tired in a few respects, but everything was clean and breakfast was pretty decent. One good thing is that this is coffee/tea, snacks 24/7. The hotel is very well located, very close to the tourist areas, restaurants, groceries stores, etc close by and is itself on a relatively quiet street a block from a big, nice park.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BruceCPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

This is a pretty nice hotel, it's clean, modern and has a good breakfast. The wifi didn't reach to all parts of our room, but worked well in the lobby. The location however, was excellent. It was easy walking distance to the castle and to a couple of different bus lines as well as the underground. The staff were friendly, helpful and all spoke English well. It's quite expensive, considering what's offered, but this is Copenhagen and everything is expensive.

Room Tip: Our room was on the backside and was fairly quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Saarita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Christian IV for several days and liked it very much. Would definitely go back. While the rooms are not luxurious, they are clean and provide for all your basic needs. We had an upgraded double room, which included a couch, desk, chairs and table in addition to the bed. Our room was quiet and we slept well. Beds a little harder than ours at home but OK. The staff was at all times pleasant, professional, and helpful. The desk staff spoke English. The breakfast (provided in the cost of the room) was outstanding -- many different breads, fresh fruit, yogurt, cheese, ham, liverwurst, cereal, sweet rolls, croissants, coffee, juice. And cookies all day!! We had such a satisfying breakfast we did not eat again until dinner, except for maybe an apple (provided). The hotel is wonderfully located--on a quiet side street very near the Rosenborg Castle, park, and gardens. We walked less than a half-mile to Nyhavn for dinner most nights--many cafes there with outside seating (heaters and blankets provided if needed) by the picturesque canal. We were able to walk from the Hotel Christian IV to all the major sights (sometimes a longish walk, but pleasant) and only used public transportation to get to and from the airport. Everything is more expensive than at home (California) but we expected this, and this hotel seems fairly priced, especially with the excellent and substantial breakfast. Copenhagen was a wonderful city, the people were great, and we had a super time.

Room Tip: Paying the small amount extra for an upgraded room is probably worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bevatyahoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We ended up being very happy with this hotel, as in my opinion the location is perfect and the price we paid was very reasonable, especially in light of how expensive Copenhagen is overall. I will admit that at first I was disappointed in our room given what we are used to from hotels in the U.S. We were expecting our hotel room in Copenhagen to be small, as most hotel rooms in Europe are, but I wasn't expecting how spartan and spare it was. No frills at all. We had a twin-bedded room, which had a small desk and desk chair, a small chair in the corner (not particularly comfy) and two twin beds which were very low to the ground (and they seemed more narrow than the twin beds we are accustomed to in the States). The beds had very thin mattresses compared to what we are used to and very soft, thin (down, I think) pillows. The floors were uncarpeted. The bathroom was small but nice and modern. Everything was very clean. The curtains were nice and heavy, which made for a nice, dark room to sleep in. Our windows overlooked a small courtyard, which was pleasant. We slept well despite the fact that the mattresses were smaller and thinner than we are used to. Like in most hotels, some of the people at the front desk were friendly, and some a little more indifferent; but overall I would say that most of the staff were interested in being helpful and seeing to their guests' comfort. The free breakfast every morning was great: delicious pastries, good coffee, juices, meats and cheeses (the most amazing cheese slicer ever!), cereals, fruit, really just about anything you could want. We had breakfast there every day (we stayed four nights) and most days just skipped lunch (a bonus since eating out is super expensive in Copenhagen). What really made this hotel a winner for us was the location, which was superb. We were in walking distance of most of the sights, just a few blocks away from Nyhavn and a half-block away from the Royal Gardens and the Rosenborg Castle. We had almost stayed in the Copenhagen Plaza...once we saw it, we were glad we didn't stay there (although it looked like a very nice hotel) because the location was in a hugely busy area of the city right next to the central train station. We had also considered staying in a hotel in Vesterbro... also glad we didn't because it would have been too far away from the things we really wanted to see in the city. The Christian IV was on a nice quiet side street but close to everything, so we would definitely stay there again if we go back to Copenhagen. Lots of good restaurants in the neighborhood. We also ended up liking the fact that, because the hotel room was so spare, when we hung out at the hotel and wanted to read or look at guide books, we went downstairs to the nice living room and sat there, which was actually very pleasant and made us feel like part of the hotel life, which enabled us to meet some of the other guests (though we often had the living room to ourselves). So overall, we were extremely happy with this hotel. If you are looking for luxury, this isn't the hotel for you, but if you are looking for a good hotel (with a wonderful free breakfast!) which is centrally located and very pleasant, then this hotel is a great choice.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank woodchucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristianIV, General Manager at Hotel Christian IV, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Dear Woodchucker,

Thank your for you honest and very descriptive review of our hotel. We value all your feedback and will use it to improve our services in the future.
I have travelled extensively in the US and I agree with you that the beds there are commonly taller and wider. We think we have comfortable beds still and I hope you enjoyed a good nights sleep despite the difference.
I agree with you that we are not luxurious - We try to be a no-frills 3 star hotel, however with everything needed while away from home. That is why we offer free coffee, tea, juice, fruit and biscuits throughout the day.
I also agree with you that our location in the historic part of the city is great - in walking distance to most everything. While other parts of the city are interesting also, we share your enthusiams about our quiet yet central location.
Our cheese slicer is special. It is designed and produced in Denmark. Let us know if you need information on how to get you hands on one.
Once again thank you for sharing your experiences with the tripadvisor community. We appreciate your feedback and would love to have you as our guest again.

Sincerely,
Kasper Jorgensen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for two nights Bed and Breakfast, paid for two nights Bed and Breakfast. I was very disappointed with the standard of the room we were given, room number 401. The carpets are extremely worn and the bathroom is very poorly maintained - however we had a wonderful stay until we departed. As we were unable to stay for breakfast, we had a taxi to the airport at 7.15am, we went into the breakfast room at 7am to find not all the selection of food available, the waitress was still setting up. We proceeded to make three rolls, with the only filling available (cheese) and was rudely told that we were not allowed to take out food. When I explained we were leaving and therefore unable to sit and eat she huffed and puffed!!! I went to reception to complain, a lady (who didnt look up from the computer during out "conversation") also said you cannot take food out. I politally pointed out that I had paid for this food and exited the building. We consequently sat outside in the cold feeling like shop lifters!!! and waited for our taxi. What a sad way to end what could have been a lovely weekend break, despite the very poor quality of the room this is the thing that I will remember from Hotel Christian.

Room Tip: Avoid room 41, very poor quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Paula C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristianIV, General Manager at Hotel Christian IV, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Dear Paula C,

Thank you for taking your time to review our hotel. I am sorry that this incident ruined the overall impression of your stay. It is true that we have a policy of not taking food from the buffet for later consumption. We simply want to make sure there is enough food for everyone whether early or later risers. We believe this is fair for all.
Our breakfast personale have sent their apologies to you via e-mail which I was under the impression that you accepted.

Respectfully,
Kasper Jorgensen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I looked for reasonably priced hotels for quite a while before booking 3 nights at the Chistian IV. We arrived at 11:30 am and the manager on duty advised us that the single we booked was a very small room and that she did not think we would be happy with it. For a very small upcharge, we could have a double. We agreed. We found a clean but no frills room with a great window view of the courtyard. The Danish breakfast was very good and the coffee and cockies available 24/7. The staff was helpful and polite all day and night. The hotel is in a great location to sightsee located less than a block south of the palace and only a few blocks north of Nyhaven. One day we rented bikes from the hotel and were able to see most of the city. If you are looking for a good value and want to be in the middle of it all, this is the hotel for you.

2  Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 118 in Copenhagen
2,742 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Ibsens Hotel
Ibsens Hotel
#15 of 118 in Copenhagen
1,193 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Strand
Copenhagen Strand
#26 of 118 in Copenhagen
1,523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Vesterbro
First Hotel Mayfair
First Hotel Mayfair
#29 of 118 in Copenhagen
1,192 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Skt. Petri
Skt. Petri
#7 of 118 in Copenhagen
447 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 118 in Copenhagen
2,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Christian IV? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Christian IV

Address: Dronningens Tvaergade 45, Copenhagen 1302, Denmark
Phone Number:
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 118 Hotels in Copenhagen
Price Range: $137 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Christian IV 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy hotel in the heart of Copenhagen. If location and a quiet nights sleep is important to you, you have found the right place. Hotel Christian IV is in close proximity to most all major cultural sights in Copenhagen. Only a 5 min walk from "Nyhavn's" many restaurants and "Stroeget's" great shopping. The cultural sights "Rosenborg Castle" and "Amalienborg Castle" is less than 10 min away on foot.The hotel is quietly located few steps away from the lush green park - "the Kings Garden." The hotel has 42 well equipped rooms with modern Scandinavian decor. Enjoy Free Wifi, Free Coffee, tea and biscuits throughout the day and personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Christian IV reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Christian Iv Hotel
Christian Iv Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing