We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location below average rooms” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grand Hotel
Ranked #88 of 114 Hotels in Copenhagen
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great location below average rooms”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

If you're not in the room much it's fine - the location is spectacular... The rooms are small and not very nice... You are steps from Tivoli Garden and can easily walk to the major attractions. Great front desk service - very helpful with their restaurant suggestions and bookings...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank beckychat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

893 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    254
    327
    173
    66
See reviews for
104
337
51
204
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

This was a holiday for our wedding anniversary and while we enjoyed our visit, I have to say that the hotel didn't really live up to its title. Nothing badly wrong with it but the room was a bit cramped for a double and the toilet was awkwardly placed - unless you don't mind having the door open or close it before getting "enthroned". Very comfortable bed and free Wi-Fi. Italian restaurant in the hotel very expensive, especially the wine so we were more than happy to frequent the pizza place across the road. We didn't have breakfast included so ate in the station and a bagel bar nearby. Didn't have much interaction with hotel staff but there was a safe to keep our passports. An OK hotel but could do with smartening up a bit.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Doonhamer_Abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

This hotel is right next to the central trainstation, but with a big house separating it from the train tracks. It is located in the "hotel district" where there are a lot of places to eat but also a couple of strip joints and sex shops. It is old and torn. But the room was clean and the breakfast buffet was good with pancakes and crispy bacon. Good hangover stuff. Bed was soft and comfy. We got a pretty good price I believe.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank argdumtrist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sleaford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

Hotel is in an excellent location for city centre and the staff were very friendly, but generally the hotel looked a little tired. Our room was small and facilities a little disappointing, but we guessed that having read reviews, but it more than sufficed for our short stay. Food, breakfast and an evening meal were very good.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DJ2915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
242 reviews
170 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

This hotel was booked by our tour operator on a marathon trip.

The first room we got smelled of smoke. The staff told us they would upgrade us to a suite, well the suite meant th room had a tiny hallway but it was smaller than the first room!
Anyway, we kept that room but everything was so drab: sad view on a dingy hostel, sad old curtains, old bed, thin pillows, tiny old bathroom.

Breakfast was ok but I am used to much better breakfasts in Scandinavian hotels.

The place is just a tad sad, it is not awful just not a place you really enjoy staying.
This would not be my choice again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chocolate74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Where to start? Well, the hotel is indeed very close to Central Station but you have to leave the station correctly to make the most of that feature (i.e. do not come out the Tiovoli Gardens exit). If you emerge from the rear and walk alongside the Astoria Hotel and then turn immediately left you are at the Grand in no time flat (well, five minutes). There is a fast, cheap and frequent train service from the airport (every 10 minutes) so this makes the Grand Hotel highly convenient.

Its location is almost perfect. It is near to the station, the “hop on hop off” bus stop, Tivoli Gardens, The Cinema, The Hans Christian Andersen Museum, the Stroget (arguably the longest shopping street in Europe), countless bars, restaurants, pubs, a supermarket and a lot of other stuff.

It really is a shame that they chose to call it the “Grand” Hotel. Doubtless when it was built in 1892 the epithet was an appropriate one. The building had an annex added to it later (1930s?) and those rooms seem inferior to the original. Internally there is a large poster on the 2nd floor declaring the place the most modern Nordic hotel of the period featuring both telephone and radio.

The place has history – to me I was happy to sacrifice a little modernity and sophistication for that.

The dining facilities at the hotel are an Italian Restaurant called Frascati – we enjoyed eating there and found the prices favourably comparable with similar quality eateries nearby. An adequate breakfast is taken in the same restaurant.

The staff all seemed very helpful and enthusiastic.

I do completely understand why so many reviewers have lambasted the place but I am giving it four stars for friendliness, history, location and quirkiness.

Personally I hope the hotel is still there for its 2nd centenary in 2092 – if so I shall definitely attend for the celebrations!

Room Tip: Don't stay in the annex (rooms with a no. 7 prefix) if you can avoid it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff_the_Skier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

This hotel is very close to the train station and Tivoli gardens which was nice. Other than that, thats about it. Kind of a dump. My first impression was seeing trash in the hallways where the maids were cleaning. The room was bigger than most of the rooms we encountered in Scandinavia, but it was kinda grimy. Bed was super small and uncomfortable.

The value was ok for what we got in such an expensive city, but you could probably do better. Front desk people were very nice at least.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bozogoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#76 of 114 in Copenhagen
3.0 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Copenhagen Plaza Hotel
Copenhagen Plaza Hotel
#47 of 114 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,027 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Copenhagen Star Hotel
Copenhagen Star Hotel
#69 of 114 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Vesterbro
Scandic Webers
Scandic Webers
#56 of 114 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#61 of 114 in Copenhagen
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,033 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
First Hotel Mayfair
First Hotel Mayfair
#29 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel

Property: Grand Hotel
Address: Vesterbrogade 9, Copenhagen 1620, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Inner Vesterbro , Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 114 Hotels in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing