We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, nice hotel”
Review of Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel
Ranked #80 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, nice hotel”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Stayed in this hotel about a month ago. The staffs were incredibly nice to the customers.
Classic hotel near the central station. I can say it's located in a very strategic place.
It's an old hotel, but it's a nice one too. The room I was staying was clean and the amenities were good. Well, they could have better beds, I would say because the room is already cozy.
The breakfast was tasty. They have various food for breakfast. On top of that, I got a great deal for this four star hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank agnesbyrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egefjord, General Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear German Traveller
Thank you for a wonderfull review. I know the staff reads postings eagerly on Tripadvisor.
I hope you enjoyed that a lot of the staff knows german almost fluently.
I wish you a pleasent 2013,
Jep Friis Egefjord, GM, Grand Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

914 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    264
    333
    175
    67
See reviews for
109
345
53
205
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gjovik, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

The hotel is old - 150 years, but is like a kind old granny. Always friendly staff, really clean rooms, very comfortable beds. OK - so some of the rooms are small and some are worn, but on the whole our favorite when in Copenhagen. And we are there often, three og four times a year for the last 5 years. It is so central, it has a good restaurant downstairs and several others in the neighborhood.
Every time we arrive and pass the lions at the door, we feel we have come home.

Room Tip: If you are not satisfied, ask for a better one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Finn22193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egefjord, General Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us all. It means the world. I wish you and your Family a wonderful Christmas and a Happy New Year.
Let me know the next time you're in Copenhagen - I would like to hear more thoughts about our Grand Hotel from a regular guest.
Jep Friis Egefjord, GM, Grand Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

Recently stayed in this hotel on a business trip, the central location is great, however there is not much else going for it.

Upon arrival I was given the opportunity to upgrade my room which I accepted. To be honest if I received an upgrade I would love to see what room I was going to be given.

Room furnishings were extremely worn and the room was tiny even by Copenhagen standards. This hotel is in desperate need of refurbishment.

Breakfast the next morning was ample but typical of Copenhagen offerings. Limited facilities are also available at this hotel.

Overall a poor experience

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egefjord, General Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Traveller
Location is everything. But the rest of the hotel experience should also be perfect. And I'm sorry that you left the hotel feeling that you didn't get value for money. We always aim to deliver value for money. I admit that it was a busy period but now comes january and we can start to fix some of all the small things that makes up the hotel room experience.
All the best,
Jep Friis Egefjord, GM, Grand Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Copenhagen hotels

Lake Macquarie
Level Contributor
81 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Stayed for one night before a cruise. Our room was small, spartan & in need of a good makeover, although it was clean & the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was small & old fashioned,but this is an old hotel & it was clean & adequate. The room was quite noisy from both the corridor & from the street outside, but we were very tired after a long flight & it didn't disturb us for too long.
We found the staff to be very nice & attentive & breakfast was included, which was good.
The location was great! Very close to the main shopping area & the railway station. Tivoli Gardens, one of the oldest amusement parks in Europe, is a short walk from the hotel.
If you get a chance, visit the Tivoli Gardens in the evening. It's very pretty with the all the lights around the very pretty gardens & buildings & there are many restaurants & cafes where you can eat dinner, surrounded by so much character & atmosphere!

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room that is in a quiet position. Take a canal cruise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kat-LakeMaquarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egefjord, General Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for sharing pro's and con's from your experience in Copenhagen. I will share your compliments with the staff and take note of critique. And truly - Tivoli Gardens in the evening is just beautiful.
Safe Travel,
Jep Friis Egefjord, GM, Grand Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Grand Hotel in Copenhagen in mid July 2012. We found the hotel, which was old, but which had recently been refurbished to be everything that we wished. The room was large, the bed comfortable and all was spotlessly clean. Breakfast was excellent and included everything one could reasonably ask for. The staff were friendly and helpful. The location was good especially for those arriving and departing by train.

(And being Australian) - you could open the windows which was much appreciated although it did let in a little noise.

We would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YM-Mundrabilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed here for a couple of nights before a cruise and again on our return. It is old but our room was very nice with a good size ensuite. There are long corridors but the location is brilliant. Just turn right and walk into the city cenre (10 minutes) or 2 minutes to the train station. The breakfast each morning was delightful and we used the same venue at night when it became an Italian restaurant. the food was wonderful. If you are looking for a short stay in Copenhagen within walking distance of the city the Grand is lovely. and the Hop On bus commences right across he road!

Room Tip: Ask for a proper ensuite!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jillian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egefjord, General Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear Australian-traveller
Thank you for a nice and useful review.
We have a lot of Australiens writing on this website - thank you - always a pleasure.
Location and food is everything to a nice city-break.
All the best wishes from Copenhagen,
Jep Friis Egefjord, GM, Grand Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, Virginia
Level Contributor
238 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

This is an older hotel in the center of town that has seen many an era. Overall it is clean and comfortable but there are quirks. The lobby is small but serviceable, the halls are narrow and long, the rooms were designed in a different era. There is an old-building musty smell in the halls but my room was of good size and clean and no smell. No safe in the room but they are in the lobby, just ask. I was on business and all of my co-workers complained about their hotels so this one was looking good by the end of the trip. Location is very good, you can walk to a lot of the city. As others noted the breakfast is very good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pjay99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egefjord, General Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for staying at Grand Hotel Copenhagen. I hope you enjoyed Copenhagen.
Your'e correct. The hotel has seen many eras and the hallways has witnessed many wonderfull guests - both high and low. The building is 120 years to be exact.
Safe travel,
Jep Friis Egefjord, GM, Grand Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#78 of 116 in Copenhagen
3.0 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Copenhagen Plaza Hotel
Copenhagen Plaza Hotel
#45 of 116 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,063 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Copenhagen Star Hotel
Copenhagen Star Hotel
#68 of 116 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Vesterbro
Scandic Webers
Scandic Webers
#58 of 116 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Best Western Hotel Hebron
Best Western Hotel Hebron
#17 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 992 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel

Property: Grand Hotel
Address: Vesterbrogade 9, Copenhagen 1620, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Inner Vesterbro , Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing