We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central Location”
Review of Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel
Ranked #88 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Central Location”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We took an early morning flight from Heathrow to Copenhagen, then a train from the airport to Central Copenhagen. From there it was about a 5 minute walk to the hotel. We arrived at 10.45am and were immediately checked in and went to our room. The hotel is on the corner of a busy main road, with lots of foot traffic and I had called the hotel a few days earlier to request a room overlooking the side street, on a high floor to try and minimise the noise.
Our room was as requested and although there was some noise at night it was ok.
Breakfast was a buffet and there was lots of choice and the food was very good.

The hotel is a couple of minutes walk from Tivoli Gardens and maybe 6 or 7 minutes walk from the main shopping and restaurant area. There is also a cinema close to the hotel and most films are in English...some with Danish subtitles.

The hotel itself was a little tired looking and could have done with being repainted inside, but I would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a room on a high floor away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egefjord, General Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear London-Guest
Thank you for posting a positive review. Location is important but I will definetely paint the interior starting December.
best regards,
Jep Friis Egefjord, GM, Grand Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

938 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    267
    343
    180
    71
See reviews for
112
354
54
209
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alta, Norway
Level Contributor
81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

I was quite disappointed with this hotel, which is rated a 4 star hotel. There are some positive sides of the hotel, but it is not worth 4 stars.

Hotel location is great, just a short walk from metro and major shopping areas. There are also plenty of restaurants, bars and supermarkets nearby. It is also by main roads, so expect lots of traffic and noise. I had room on backside, so I didnt hear much of this. On the other side, I didnt have much to look at either; Walls of other buildings.

The reception is small with just a few places to sit. The receptionists (and the rest of the staff at the hotel) rarely smiles, never wishes you welcome and generally seem to avoid looking at you as a guest. While they are helpful if you ask for anything, the seem to have a lack of positiveness.

The most of the hotel is old and pretty worn down, and the elevator is slow slow slow, and it squeeks and shakes a bit while moving. Floors everywhere is covered with wall-to-wall carpets, making it a pain for anyone with allergies or sensitive to dust. Plus, it smells.

The room which I got was a laugh. While this was a single room, it was the smalles single room I ever stayed in. The toilet is actually BEHIND the shower, meaning you have to pass the shower to get to the toilet. Also, the door to the bathroom (a sliding door) is noisy and squeeky.
The shower and bathroom is hilarious. You cant get really hot water nor really cold water. Also, to get hot water in the shower, you have to turn the knob to the LEFT, but in the sink you have to turn it to the RIGHT. When showering, you have to be careful so you dont get the toiletpaper wet (which is just barely behind the shower curtain while showering). Also, the towels are on a rack INSIDE the shower, so you have to throw them on the toilet seat, floor or in the sink so they dont get wet(!)...
Cold water; Since there is no minibar in room, it would be great to drink some water, but since the water never gets cold, you are better off going to the nearest 7Eleven to buy some water or sodas... Drink them right up, since there is no minibar to keep them cold.
The heater in the room didnt work, and with a small draft from the window located by the bed, this can become a cold experience....
The TV is placed on the wall in the end of the bed, so if you gonna watch TV, you have to do it while lying in bed... and the TV is fixed to the wall, so you cant turn it. Thus, you have to watch it from a upward angle, so the contrast on the tv gets all messed up.
Bed is ok to sleep in though.

Im surprised there is soap, shampoo and towels at the room... Cleaning is good though, the room was cleaned every day at the stay (5 nights).

Room Tip: Get a room at lower floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claus J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egefjord, General Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you for all the pro's and con's of your stay. It's true that our lowest category is indeed single rooms with a single bed. Therefore we also offer them at a low price. often including breakfast aswell. I'm a bit concerned with the comments about staff and will definetely make some changes. As you can see from other reviews guests often compliment the staff at Grand Hotel.
I wish you all the best and thank you for a hands on review.
Jep Friis Egefjord, GM, Grand Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Copenhagen hotels

Copenhagen
1 review
Reviewed September 25, 2012

I first stayed in a room on the first floor above a cafe. This room smelled of cigarettes and there was till midnight loud music.
I asked for another room and this one was much better. Comfortable bed, . nice room interior design (classic).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Annet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egefjord, General Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear Guest
I'm glad we were able to find a room that suited you. We do have a bar that closes at 2pm in weekends and a few of our rooms are influenced.
It's special to have e review from a Copenhagen resident. Thank you,
best regards,
Jep Friiis Egefjord, GM, Grand Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Small rooms but clean, old hotel, excellent wifi, there is no space at the hotels lobby. Definitely not a 4star hotel, but I don't have any experience at other hotel in Copenhagen , next time I'll try an other one

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Konbab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egefjord, General Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear traveller
Thank you complimenting our free WIFI. This is very important to us.
I hope that you will return someday.
Safe travel,
Jep Friis Egefjord, GM, Grand Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We spent 2 nights here in mid-September. The location is very close to central station and Tivoli and we were able to walk to all the sights and restaurants. The staff was very kind and we enjoyed the breakfast- a mix of European and American standard items. The major cons were: room was a good size but on 1st floor so there was a lot of road noise, the room itself didn't smell like cigarette smoke but the hallway and area right outside the room reeked, and while the room was clean overall, there was a bit of mold in the bathtub.

Overall, given the high prices of hotels in Copenhagen it's not the worst choice in the world. But I would definitely explore my options to stay somewhere else the next time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egefjord, General Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for posting a review and nice comments.
On your next visit to Copenhagen I hope that you will also find price, quality and location that match so you get value for money. And I hope your choice will ones again fall upon Grand Hotel.
All the best,
Jep Friis Egefjord, GM, Grand Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 13, 2012

First thing, the reception was very nice and helpful. Speak english very good. Second, the room is quite big (but i had seen much bigger than this with reasonable price). I stayed in standard room for 3 nights. Surprisingly, no fridge in the room, but the reception gave a hand, if i need to store some baby food, i may use their fridge at their office - nice. Thirs thing is parking, a bit difficult in CPH, but reception helped me out to provide daily park ticket until i checked out.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Belekok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egefjord, General Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for choosing Grand Hotel to you and your Family. And for your positive comments about our service. Thank you for giving us a heads up about Families travelling with babies. I myself is a father of a 1½ year old son and I know how important it is to make everything as easy as possible.
All the best,
Jep Friis Egefjord, GM, Grand Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
177 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

The first impression upon arrival in a new city often sets the tone for the feel of the place. Our first impression was not good, the staff at reception were not welcoming and not willing to offer information. When we arrived at our room we were in shock! The room was so tiny and outdated. The bedding was minimal. There were two single bed doonas on a double bed, the mattress a piece of foam about 2 inches thick over two small single bases. Two pillows (one each ) were flat. The bathroom was basic, did have a bath and shower over with hand shower and good strong flow of hot water. There was a very musty smell in the bathroom.
It was so small it didn't need heating as we were able to generate enough body heat ourselves to heat the room.
Someone arrived to service room late in afternoon while we were present and entered quickly after short knock . With our luggage and us in the room there was no way it could be serviced so we just asked for fresh towels.
The stairs have a short tread and difficult to manage but there are two small elevators.
One great thing about this hotel is that it is very quiet, noise was not at all audible in room. We did sleep well but were very tired. It was okay for the short time we had to stay.

Room Tip: I didn't see other rooms so can't make a recommendation. Lower floors probably best due to s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank c0untryc0uple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egefjord, General Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear Guest

I'm sorry for the first impression. Your description of the staff on check-in surprices me greatly. And I do apologize. I'm sorry we couldn't make a comeback to this first impression - as we often do when something goes wrong.
Thank you for the pro's and con's,
Jep Friis Egefjord, GM, Grand Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#80 of 116 in Copenhagen
615 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Copenhagen Plaza Hotel
Copenhagen Plaza Hotel
#44 of 116 in Copenhagen
1,086 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Copenhagen Star Hotel
Copenhagen Star Hotel
#73 of 116 in Copenhagen
994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Vesterbro
Scandic Webers
Scandic Webers
#59 of 116 in Copenhagen
891 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Hotel Copenhagen Crown
Hotel Copenhagen Crown
#54 of 116 in Copenhagen
691 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 116 in Copenhagen
1,821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel

Property: Grand Hotel
Address: Vesterbrogade 9, Copenhagen 1620, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Inner Vesterbro , Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing