We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Central and good value, but not sparkling” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grand Hotel
Ranked #88 of 114 Hotels in Copenhagen
nottingham
Level Contributor
97 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Central and good value, but not sparkling”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

The hotel is close to the main railway station, and is an old and somewhat inconvenient building. Everything works well enough though, so no complaints as a base for a couple of days' tourism around the city.

On the downside, the atmosphere is slightly dowdy and unless the place is freshened up soon, it'll slip down a notch or two into shabbiness. On the plus side, the room I had (a superior single) was spacious (though it looked into a dismal courtyard, and was overlooked by half the hotel). The staff were very courteous and helpful, going out of their way to address a couple of small problems I brought to them.

Overall, an acceptable experience at a good price.

Room Tip: Ask for an external room, unless worried about noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trainsifpossible
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egefjord, General Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear guest,

I am delighted to hear about your overall good experience. We try our best to deliver a great personal service and it looks like we achieved that.
We are carefully performing maintenance whenever there's slow periods in the winter-time and I will do my utmost to not let your foresight come true. But we also know it's important to deliver a good priced hotel in the city centre.
Safe travel,
Jep Friis Egefjord, GM, Grand Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

891 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    252
    327
    173
    66
See reviews for
104
336
51
204
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

The hotell was not as Grand as I thought.
The room was far away from the Lobby. The room had missplaced furnishers, and had 4 lamps out of which 3 was broken. Not the best first impression.
the shampo bottle was so old that it broke when I tried to open it.
other wise it is an ok 3 star hotell.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Shami D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egefjord, General Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear guest,

We try to deliver Value for Money - even when you visit in busy times of the year when the rates in Copenhagen sky-rockets. So naturally I'm sorry you feel as your headline indicates.
Broken lightbulbs is not acceptible and my Housekeeping manager should have brought this to teh attention of technical staff. I would have hoped you had asked for another room.
We love to give great service.
Best regards,
Jep Friis Egefjord, GM, Grand Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Copenhagen hotels

Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

This hotel could be so much better than it is. A lovely old Hotel but rooms are poorly furnished. Rooms at this Hotel are reviewed as being small so we booked a larger room but we thought that that too was not large. The bathroom though was really nice, though not large, it was clean and almost luxurious. We had a bath with the shower over it so we did not have a problem with a wet floors. Pity they do not read trip advisor- so they still do not provide tea and coffee in the rooms. The breakfast was quite good. The location I agree is great.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Questing_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egefjord, General Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for staying with us. Grand Hotel is located in an old building (120 years anniversary in October this year, to be exact). As you can imagine, making the rooms larger will require an enormously amount of resourses. We therefore focus to keep the hotels atmosphere as it always has been: cosy, charming and professional.
To answer your question; we do read Tripadvisor and as I have said in earlier responses I really like this interaction with guets. But of course I do prefer to talk to all of you when you visit and I meet you in the breakfast-restaurant or lobby.
I'm happy to announce that we will install tea and coffee sets in all our rooms. At the moment only superior and executive rooms are equipped.
Safe Travel,
Jep Friis Egefjord, GM, Grand Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

...and this hotel gets them wrong.
But let's start with the good things: the location is great, 2 min from the main train station and 5 min from the historic center of Copenhagen. The breakfast buffet is not only very good, especially when considering the reasonable price. The only thing lacking is real orange juice, but I would recommend the buffet to any traveler anyway. Despite a warning notice that breakfast could be very busy from 9:00-10:30, we never had a problem finding a table at these times. Free WIFI, good reception in our room.
Now the rooms- and this is where the small things make the difference. They furniture is a bit worn, but everything is clean and in reasonable shape. Beds are quite soft, what may matter to some people with back problems. But: this hotel faces one of Copenhagen's busiest streets. The windows, however, look like they date from 1955- and despite the double glazing, you have the impression of sitting on the street. So, they have a marble bathroom? That's nice, but it is completely wet after a shower. To be more precise: with a completely flat floor, the only separation between shower and the rest of the bathroom is the shower curtain. Most of the water doesn't disappear through the shower's drain, but through a drain under the sink- at the other side of the bathroom. So it's one large puddle after a shower. There is a wall-mounted flat-screen TV. However, it is not tilted downwards, so that when you sit in the bed, the colors are distorted, e.g. human skin is bright red. Also, the HDMI ports are not accessible, so you can't plug your laptop/tablet to watch a movie.
So in my opinion it's a pity that they don't make more out of this place- what wouldn't require too much work. In its current state, it's average at best, and you don't want to spend more time than necessary in the rooms.

Room Tip: There should be rooms that point to the interior of this hotel block- that is, they don't face a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank usenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egefjord, General Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear guest,

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the service provided by the helpful staff.
I will definitely use a lot of your comments in upcoming projects. Both positive and negative. Especially the rooms with similar layout of what you describe. With a building dating back 120 years the rooms come in all sizes and shapes. We have tried to keep the charm and character while doing small changes. I definetely agree to your comment about access to HDMI-ports on the tv. This is a big mistake which I unfortunately also find in a lot of hotels all over the world. We hoteliers have to realize that we cannot keep up with the progress in guests own gadgets - so all we need to deliver is screens that can be interfaced easily.
Thank you for the small things,
Jep Friis Egefjord, GM, Grand Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umeå, Sweden
Level Contributor
108 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

The location is everything. Close to nightlife and downtown Copenhagen. The room size was OK, but there was a pole along the wall on one side of the bed which made it a bit too short for me. A narrow bathroom with the shower in the middle is rather unpractical, it makes the whole floor wet.
But the cost for the room was OK and I was only staying for two nights so I prioritized the central location. I skipped the hotel breakfast, (I didn't pay for it), and had breakfast in the neighborhood instead.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanStenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egefjord, General Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for writing a nice review. I would have loved if you had also given some tips of where to have Breakfast in the neighborhood. The selection is vast but very different.
All the best,
Jep Friis Egefjord, GM, Grand Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klosters, Switzerland
Level Contributor
145 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

Walking distance from Copenhagen main station.
Small rooms and really you go here if you plan to spend most of the day out at work or sightseeing. Round the corner is Tivoli.
Breakfast simple Danish style.
Internet was free, ubiquitous and fast.
Great choice for medium budget travelers.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zaplocation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egefjord, General Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear Swiz-traveller
Thank you. I will take the opportunity to be inspired by your choice of words. HONEST and medium budget in city centre of Copenhagen. Thank you to an experienced traveller and an experienced review-writer.
Safe Travel,
Jep Friis Egefjord, GM, Grand Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

the location is great but not worth it. The rooms are small, service is poor and there is no air conditioning

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Vidhi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egefjord, General Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear Vidhi,

I am happy to hear that you liked the very central location of the hotel.
The room you stayed in was a “small double”. And I apologize if the staff didn't offer othe rooms at checkin and thereby delivered poor service. The 20th of July was actually the hottest day in 37 years in Copenhagen with over 32 degrees Celsius, in which day you stayed with us. This may have caused the otherwise nice rooms to seem clammy. We have always been more than happy to provide free fans upon request and all the windows can easily be opened. Correct, we do not offer air condition.
Thank you for staying with us,
Jep Friis Egefjord, GM, Grand Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#76 of 114 in Copenhagen
3.0 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Copenhagen Star Hotel
Copenhagen Star Hotel
#70 of 114 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Copenhagen Plaza Hotel
Copenhagen Plaza Hotel
#48 of 114 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Vesterbro
Scandic Webers
Scandic Webers
#56 of 114 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#61 of 114 in Copenhagen
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,033 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#46 of 114 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel

Property: Grand Hotel
Address: Vesterbrogade 9, Copenhagen 1620, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Inner Vesterbro , Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 114 Hotels in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing