We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and reception service, average rooms”
Review of Phoenix Copenhagen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Phoenix Copenhagen
Ranked #38 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
240 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Great location and reception service, average rooms”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Perfect if you want a relatively inexpensive hotel in the best possible location close to Nyhavn and Kongens Nytorv. The front office people are just wonderful and very happy to help you with any questions you may have. The reception are is beautiful, but the rooms very small and a bit run down. However, they are still clean and fully functional.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joachim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieHeinen, General Manager at Phoenix Copenhagen, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Traveller,

Thank you for your feedback after end stay at Phoenix Copenhagen this month. It's nice to read that you liked our location and the service provided during your stay. For your next visit at Phoenix Copenhagen please do not hesitate to contact us for informations about rooms types and sizes so room type preferred will be provided.

Kind regards
PHOENIX COPENHAGEN
Julie Heinen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    499
    295
    100
    60
See reviews for
132
414
67
364
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nice
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

we stayed here for one night only and the location cannot be faulted . Walking near everything you need to see, and we could even walk to our cruise ship about 15 minutes pleasant stroll away (depends on the berth )
But I don't think I would stay here again . The floor we were on smelt heavily of disinfectant (like a hospital ! ) and that was unpleasant and all the fittings were tired; and I agree the staff (apart from one chap on the saturday morning ) were aloof.
Note there are two flights of 6 or 7 steep steps to reception which are hard with suitcases, and no one offered to assist.
But the thing that really put me off was the breakfast room which is terribly noisy and clattery. Table cloths or mats would make a huge difference The hotel was full and the racket made breakfast unpleasant. Also the choice of breakfast was a bit bland

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NiceLabrador06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieHeinen, General Manager at Phoenix Copenhagen, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear traveller,

Thank you for taking your time to write a review of your stay at Phoenix Copenhagen last month. We are glad to hear that you liked our location but we are truly sorry to hear that not all things during your stay was as expected. It's correct that Phoenix Copenhagen has an historic main entrance with steps going from street level to our lobby area. Our bell boys and staff are always delighted to assist with luggage when not helping other guests. We thank you for your feedback on your breakfast visit. When full house and many guests visiting our breakfast at the same time it can be noisy (just as any other busy restaurant). We normally gets good reviews on our breakfast buffet and it's selection so we are very interested in hearing from you what was missing from our large breakfast buffet. If you like to elaborate on what was missing from our big selection, please write us an e-mail on phoenixcopenhagen@arp-hansen.dk. We hope for your next Copenhagen visit you will reconsider your choice of hotel and we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again at Phoenix Copenhagen.
Kind regards
PHOENIX COPENHAGEN
Julie Heinen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

I originally booked a standard room but once we arrived we upgraded to a superior double for an extra £10 a night which seemed reasonable. The room was clean with good air conditioning and hot powerful shower. The hotel is ideally located for the metro and a short walk to Nyhavn. My only complaint was the squeaky floorboards but it is an old building so it's only a minor complaint. The staff were very helpful and friendly. We didn't have breakfast included but the room service was very good, the Phoenix burger was delicious. There is also free wifi included, although it didn't work for me it did work for my boyfriend and he had no issues.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmaJ113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieHeinen, General Manager at Phoenix Copenhagen, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear traveller,

Thank you for your feedback after end stay this month. We are glad to read that you were offered bigger room for only a few extra kroner and you enjoyed your stay at Phoenix Copenhagen. We are glad to read that you were given excellent service and you liked our room service and our down town location. We hope to have you as a guest again in the nearest future.
Kind regards
PHOENIX COPENHAGEN
Julie Heinen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at this hotel (June 29-July 2nd 2014). The location is great and the staff at the reception desk was extremely helpful and very pleasant at all times. Every question asked was answered and always with politeness and good manners. Room was clean and breakfast was good and plenty.
Without a doubt I would stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: I had a single room, small but comfortable on the 4th floor. Room had A/C, I never noticed any noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annecatherine_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieHeinen, General Manager at Phoenix Copenhagen, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Traveller,
Thank you for your 5-star review of your stay at Phoenix Copenhagen this summer. We are proud to have given you all assistance needed for a perfect stay and you liked your room and our hotel. We are glad to read that you like to stay with us again and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards
PHOENIX COPENHAGEN
Julie Heinen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Beautiful, classy hotel, in an absolutely fantastic location in Copenhagen.

The room was quite small but it was, like the rest of the hotel, quite beautiful. Staff were friendly, amenities were all fine as well.

My only complaint was the lack of air conditioning as it was quite warm in the room and hard to get a breeze in -- but that's a problem most older hotels in Scandinavia will face.

Would definitely stay again if we were to get another good rate.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Daniel5153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieHeinen, General Manager at Phoenix Copenhagen, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear traveller,

Thank you for taking your time to add a review of your stay at Phoenix Copenhagen last month. We a trilled to read that you enjoyed your stay and like to visit us again. We hope to welcome you back again at Phoenix Copenhagen soon.

Kind regards
PHOENIX COPENHAGEN
Julie Heinen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Stayed in Phoenix Copenhagen for three nights recently. First the cons. The staff is generally aloof. When I asked for a nearby coffee shop they were unable to give any suggestions. The hotel and room are in a general state of uncleanliness. My room had a plastic discarded Coke bottle for better part of an entire day outside the door. What was funny was when I pointed it out to the cleaning staff they merely acknowledged that they knew it was not mine, but made zero effort to pick it up. The room was ok. However, the bathroom is in desperate need of a remodeling. The cold handle on the shower was mostly inoperable. The sink was surrounded in mold. No kid channels on the tv. Pros. It is centrally located, minutes walking from Nyhaven, the Metro Stop, the Palace and a longer walk to the Little Mermaid. It is in a slightly residential neighborhood. Around the corner towards the back there is small grocery store where you can stock up on bottled water (return the ones you used for the deposits back which in Denmark can be hefty, like $3.00 per bottle). The price is good when compared to other locations in Copenhagen.

Room Tip: Get a room at the top on the side street. The main street passes in front of the hotel. The side str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miamimommytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieHeinen, General Manager at Phoenix Copenhagen, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear traveller,

Thank you for your time to write a review from you stay at Phoenix Copenhagen. We are sorry to hear that your stay wasn't perfect. Empty bottle should have been removed immediately and we are sorry this was not done. We are surprised to read comments about cleaning in your room and concierge assistance. If you look at other reviews of stays at Phoenix Copenhagen, your experience is not normal and if you like to elaborate on your reviews, please do not hesitate to write to us on e-mail phoenixcopenhagen@arp-hansen.dk. Despite errors during your visit we hope to have the possibility to welcome you and your family back at Phoenix Copenhagen in the nearest future.
Kind regards
PHOENIX COPENHAGEN
Julie Heinen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Hi,

Stayed in Phoenix for 2 nights and I am happy with almost everything in the hotel except room size. Being in Copenhagen, this time of the year wasnt going to be cheap. But the location, staff and services have been more then compensating for the tariff.

Located within almost 10-15 mins walking distance of almost every place of interest. Also, very close to Nyhavn, where you get lot of places to eat and people to meet.

Recommended, but get a bigger room size.

Room Tip: Ask for a bigger room and towards the side. The ones on main road might be too noisy, given the city...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akashmittal7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieHeinen, General Manager at Phoenix Copenhagen, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Traveller. Thank you for your feedback after staying at Phoenix Copenhagen last month. We hope to welcome you back at Phoenix Copenhagen in the nearest future.
Kind regards
PHOENIX COPENHAGEN
Julie Heinen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
Scandic Front
Scandic Front
#35 of 116 in Copenhagen
903 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#3 of 116 in Copenhagen
199 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Strand
Copenhagen Strand
#27 of 116 in Copenhagen
1,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Skt. Annae
Hotel Skt. Annae
#49 of 116 in Copenhagen
1,371 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Best Western Plus Hotel City Copenhagen
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
#23 of 116 in Copenhagen
3,857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phoenix Copenhagen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoenix Copenhagen

Property: Phoenix Copenhagen
Address: Bredgade 37, Copenhagen 1260, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Phoenix Copenhagen 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracious 5-story hotel housed in exquisite 17th-century building, near Amalienborg Palace & Royal Theatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Phoenix Copenhagen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenix Copenhagen Hotel Copenhagen
Phoenix Hotel Copenhagen
Copenhagen Phoenix Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing