We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Convenient hotel, good stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen
Ranked #30 of 119 Hotels in Copenhagen
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
124 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Convenient hotel, good stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014 via mobile

The hotel was centrally located, by the train station and Tivoli and within walking distance of tourist sites.

While I had a single room with a single bed, the room was quite large, much bigger than single room I had in Stockholm. Bathroom was large and had a fridge and coffee maker.

Breakfast buffet was good with delicious food but can take a while to get coffee

My flight was delayed by a day but it was no problem to get my stay extended by a night.

Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Warren L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boline2014, Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Dear Warren L.
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you were satisfied with the service provided by our staff. Nice to read that you enjoyed our Super Breakfast Buffet, but we apologize for the coffee waiting.
However we look forward to welcoming you for your next stay.
Kind regards,
Sofie
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,061 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    612
    853
    404
    123
    69
See reviews for
308
806
163
504
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

I stayed at this hotel about 15-20 years ago and when it came time to go back, this was the first hotel I considered.

This hotel has (IMHO) the perfect location in Copenhagen, directly across the street from the Tivoli Gardens with most (half?) of its rooms having a view of the park.

The restaurant on top has magnificent views of the entire city, and while I never ate dinner there, it was great for breakfast (great buffet breakfast, though).

The staff I encountered during my stay were very polite and attentive.

Our room had wall-to-wall windows on the entire width that overlooked the entire Tivoli Park. This was especially nice on the non-rainy nights when they did fireworks.

Now, onto the not-so-good. The rooms now look old, tired, and much of the furniture is worn (literally the couch/loveseats were worn through in places and you could see stuffing showing through). The carpets in the room had some stains/wear, and some of the seams were starting to pucker up.

The design of the rooms/hallway areas now looks very 1970's, and there are a lot of dents/chips/scratch marks that I wouldn't expect from Radisson group hotels. (If you're from the property and would like proof of the wear/tear, I did take some iPhone photos).

Did these defects ruin my holiday? Absolutely not. I payed to stay near Tivoli, and got everything I wanted from that. However, at the room rate that was charged, I expect a little better.

The hotel could definitely use some updating and TLC to make it shine again.

Room Tip: Get a deluxe room overlooking the Tivoli Gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boline2014, Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Dear Bill R.
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are happy to read that you returned to our hotel and were satisfied with our Super Breakfast Buffet as well as the location. We are sorry that you found our decor worn. Your comments are valued and will be used to consider improvements in the future. However we hope to welcome you to our hotel again.
Kind regards,
Sofie
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Level Contributor
80 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

LOCATION
-- Very conveniently located in the heart of Copenhagen;
-- 2 minutes walk to Tivoli;
-- 4 minutes walk to City Hall Square & Southern end of Stroget;
-- 2 minutes walk to Central Station;
-- 15 minutes walk to Nyhavn;
-- the Hop-On Hop-Off buses stop right outside the hotel.

ROOMS & BATHROOMS
-- Very generous sized rooms & bathrooms. We had a corner room with large windows on 2 sides. Very comfortable with stylish décor.

OTHERS
A big minus for this hotel is that not all the concierges are knowledgeable enough. For example, we asked one of them the timings for a big supermarket that is just 2 minutes away but he didn't even know this much. Other times our queries were greeted by blank looks followed by searches on Google. Eventually we decided to figure out things ourselves rather consulting the concierges. However, there was one of them who was much more knowledgeable & helpful than the others.

Another minus - on our 3rd evening there we returned to our room & discovered that there were no teaspoons. We figured the housekeeping staff had forgotten to replace the used spoons with fresh ones. Imagine our disappointment when the same thing happened the very next day !

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rnzn-indian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boline2014, Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Dear Travel72548.
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you were satisfied with your room and its decor. We apologize for the missing information about the city and likewise the teaspoons. Next time please feel free to call the reception, so they can help you the best way.
We hope to welcome you again.
Kind regards,
Sofie
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

It is a hotel is a very good location. Near the tivoli and the start of the old town. Also near the main train station which reduces the time to and fro from the airport.

We had a really bad experience though and the staff were not helpful. We had to move rooms as our booking was done separately, Also as I was booking it with some of my points and cash I had to spend over 3 hours trying to make them understand what was going on.

We asked for a bigger room and they tried to put me into the most expensive room. My adaptor was not working and they said they will send it in 5-10 min... it never came.

The internet was crap too... had to hover my phone in the room to connect... even after telling them that it was never fixed.

Room Tip: Higher the floor the better and the view of tivoli
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Saradindu_Das
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boline2014, Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Dear Saradindu_Das.
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are happy to read that you were satisfied with the location of our hotel. However we apologize you were disappointed with the service you received from our staff. We will handle this issue. Your comments are valued and will be used to consider improvements in the future.
We hope to welcome you to our hotel again in the future.
Kind regards,
Sofie
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cph, Denmark
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Staff very friendly and efficient. Made stay memorable. Hotel is iconic from architecture and atmosphere - however some smaller details needs caretaking. Magnificent view from Breakfast room at the 20th floor

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boline2014, Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Dear Peter L.
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you were satisfied with the service provided by our staff.
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our iconic architecture and the atmosphere and value your caketaking comments. They will be used to consider improvements in the future.
We look forward to welcoming you for your next stay.
Kind regards,
Sofie
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montville, NJ
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

This hotel. located steps away from Tivoli and located in the center of Copenhagen offers the seasoned traveler a little less space than U.S. people expect. Over all , this hotel, an architect's gem designed by Arne Jacobsen in the 1970's, meets all standards of a 4 star hotel for service, cleanliness, and staff efficiency. Where it is lacking is in the size of the rooms. But how do you take these beautiful little rooms and change their design? You can't! So if you want a hotel in the center of Copenhagen in an architectural masterpiece you must choose the Radisson Blu.

The staff was excellent, the management accommodating, and the location perfect.

Room Tip: try to get a room on the high floors overlooking Tivoli Gardens. Great to watch the fireworks from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jsnadler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boline2014, Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Dear Jsnadler
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you were satisfied with the staff and location of our hotel. Likewise we are glad to read that you valued our great Arne Jacobsen design :-).
We look forward to welcoming you for your next stay.
Kind regards,
Sofie
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOS ANGELES, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

If you stay in the royal rooms, the views are spectacular. Right across the street from Tivoli and a block from City Hall, this hotel's location was unexpectedly rewarding. Breakfast was well done in a superb 20th floor lounge, but the hotel did lack any mid price dining between its coffee shop and a very pricey penthouse restaurant

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Allan David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boline2014, Public Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Dear Allan,
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are sooo happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were especially satisfied with the breakfast and location of the hotel :-)
We look forward to welcoming you for your next stay.
Kind regards,
Boline, Radisson Blu Royal Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Copenhagen Marriott Hotel
Copenhagen Marriott Hotel
#7 of 119 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 stars 878 reviews
Amager
Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Copenhagen
Indre By (Inner City)
Scandic Palace Hotel
Scandic Palace Hotel
#18 of 119 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 stars 1,625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Vesterbro
Nimb Hotel
Nimb Hotel
#12 of 119 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 stars 316 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
The Square Copenhagen
The Square Copenhagen
#33 of 119 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 stars 2,058 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Skt. Petri
Skt. Petri
#32 of 119 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 stars 1,736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen

Property: Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen
Address: Hammerichsgade 1, Copenhagen 1611, Denmark
Phone Number:
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
#15 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
#20 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen 5*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning architectural hotel welcomes Copenhagen guests to Denmark Expertly designed and perfectly situated, the Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Copenhagen is the premier accommodation choice near Tivoli Gardens in Denmark's capital city. Designed by Danish architect Arne Jacobsen, the hotel is a beacon of style with its spiral staircase and reflective facade. Choose from 260 rooms and suites with amenities including Free high-speed, wireless Internet. Hotel guests enjoy on-site features such as award-winning restaurants, an exceptional fitness centre and flexible conference facilities. • Unique design elements including the famous "Swan" and "Egg" chairs • The city's central train station, Tivoli Gardens and popular shopping street Stroget within walking distance of this Copenhagen hotel's location • A total of 260 striking guest rooms and suites offering bathrobes and 24-hour room service • Gourmet, seasonal Danish cuisine served at Alberto K overlooking the city • Drinks, coffees and meals in a relaxed setting at Cafe Royal and the Royal Bar • Personal trainers, dry and steam saunas and massage services available at the 2,000-square-metre fitness centre • Meeting facilities with the option of auditoriums seating 300 and smaller rooms for intimate gatherings ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Rezidor, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Copenhagen Hotel Copenhagen
Radisson Copenhagen
Radisson Sas Royal Copenhagen
Radisson Sas Copenhagen
Copenhagen Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing