We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect for our Copenhagen visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen
Ranked #37 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Comparing the multiple options on TripAdvisor for a hotel during a pre-cruise visit, I finally settled on the Radisson Blu Royal based on the “retro-modern” design with upscale hotel chain amenities (vs. boutique hotel), and was very glad I did.
First, the location was perfect for our needs. Basically across the street from the central train station, and Tivoli Gardens, and the main Tourist Information office, and a block or two away from the start of the main shopping street that leads to the harbor. (It’s the tall building with “SAS” on the side that is easily spotted from many places around Copenhagen.) We splurged a little for a Club level room, and got a corner room with a view of Tivoli (wonderful for the fireworks!), and access to the top floor breakfast which was included (and provided basically whatever you needed, plus great views of Copenhagen). The room was spacious, with décor that echoed the true Scandinavian design aesthetic (light woods, blue/grey tile bathroom). And perhaps one of the top features during a recent European heatwave, there was air conditioning! It was truly blissful comfort in a city where most hotels (even modern ones) do not have A/C. Perhaps the only downside for me was the standard European-style “half-door” shower that didn’t completely keep the bathroom floor dry.
There was included WiFi, an in-room safe, iron (and board provided if needed). Concierge service was helpful, phoning restaurants when we needed reassurance that they would accept US credit cards without the chip and pin (note that taxis seemed to not accept a credit card with a pin #, we had to use a bank debit/credit card).
Overall, we were very pleased with our choice of the Radisson Blu Royal hotel in Copenhagen. I’d say it’s a top higher-end large chain hotel with the amenities and services you expect in an international chain, in a great location.

Room Tip: Go for Royal Club room if you can afford it for the great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ptbooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boline2014, Public Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2014

Dear ptbooth,
Thank you so much for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience during your pre-cruise visit. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and were satisfied with the location and view from your room :-)
We hope to welcome you again soon!Kind regards,
Boline,
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Copenhagen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,456)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,008 - 1,014 of 2,457 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2014

My Husband and I stayed here as a special treat for our 40th wedding anniversary in july. It was a wonderful experience .The views across the city and to the Tivoli gardens were fabulous and even better views from the restaurant on 20th floor were we had the best breakfast I have had in an Hotel .The choice is fantastic bowls of fresh fruit, cold meats and cheeses Hot food of bacon scrambled eggs etc but I did not care for the danish sausages.There were jugs s of fruit juices danish pastries and about 6 different types of bread,wonderful.!
The only thing that spioled it a little was we had asked for a double bed but were given two singles,the first time in 40 years we had slept in separate beds. The hotel did offer us another room but we had already unpacked before noticing the twin beds so decided to stay,but on reflection we should have moved it was not comfortable sleeping together with a gap in the middle.
However I still give it 5 stars lovely hotel,very close to city and great views

Room Tip: go high to get the views and if you can afford go for a club room for the views and the breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank maggs74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boline2014, Public Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2014

Dear maggs74,
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you had a great 40 years anniversary :-) Congratulations!
We hope to welcome you again soon!Kind regards,
Boline,
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2014

This modern hotel is directly across the street from Tivoli Gardens and the hop on hop off buses pick up just out the front door. Breakfast was delicious, a huge variety off food and the lounge was great for relaxing after walking all day. There is also access to an amazing health club. All of the staff we encountered were very nice. About a 20 minute drive from the airport.

Room Tip: our room was on the back of the hotel and very quiet. However, my parents were on the front side an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank kpvegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boline2014, Public Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

Dear kpvegas,
Thank you for your feedback - we are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay:-) We are happy that you found the room clean, staff friendly and found our hotel GREAT :-)
We look forward to welcoming you for your next stay.
Kind regards,
Boline,
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Copenhagen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2014

This is a great hotel in a very convenient location opposite the Tivoli Gardens. Easy walking distance to the railway station and shopping mall. The Hop On Hop Off bus stops at the front door. The rooms are modern and clean and have lots of windows. The staff are very accommodating and friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels
1  Thank Philip T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boline2014, Public Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

Dear Philip,
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you were satisfied with your room, our staff and the location of the hotel:-)
We hope to welcome you again soon.
Kind regards,
Boline,
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Copenhagen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2014

This hotel is perfectly located in the city centered close to everything. It is right across from Tivoli Garden, the train station and walkable to most attractions, museums etc. Although modern in structure and furnishings, it could use a "bit" of updating.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking Tivoli Garden and upper floors are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Cathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boline2014, Public Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

Dear Cathy,
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. It was a pleasure reading that you were amazed by the location and the views of the hotel :-)
We value your comments and they will be used to consider improvements in the future and hope to welcome you again soon:-)
Kind regards,
Boline,
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Copenhagen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

I have just got back from a family week-end in Copenhagen and I will say that this hotel was a disappointment for me (again). I stay in Radisson hotels nearly every week and Radisson Blu Royal in Copenhagen is not representative for what I normally find in these hotels. We had the same experience in this hotel a year ago, but we decided to give them another chance because of their excellent location.

Rooms:
We had 2 rooms and both were small with tiny bathrooms and a shower where I could not turn around. I get the feeling that everything in the room is just exactly what they have to do and nothing more. The decoration is worn and in need of a refurbishment and the A/C is making a lot of noise, but it is working. The room could have been acceptable for a one night stay at a business trip, but when we stay with the family for a few nights we use the room for more than just a shower and a bed.

Front desk:
We did not get what we asked for when we ordered (single beds). When I told the reception she just said that the hotel was fully booked, before she started to help someone else and this behavior is something I find interesting about this hotel. Whatever we ask for, except check-in and check-out, we get the feeling that we are bothering them. Such as when I asked for an extra bottle of shower gel in the bathroom, she just looked at me without saying anything and wrote something on her computer. I was sure she wrote down my request, but probably not since we never got any extra bottle. Another example was when we asked for a late check-out (just a couple of hours), they couldn’t answer that before the same day after they could see how many that have checked out. Not much help for us since we needed to do some planning, but that argument was not good enough for them.

Concierge:
Finally something positive. They were helpful and friendly.

Summary:
Someone have to look into what’s going on in Radisson Blu Royal in Copenhagen. I don’t recognize any of the positive effort I get from any other Radisson hotels I have been staying in.
I think the main problem with this hotel is that they always get fully booked because of their location, so they don’t need to care about the service.
The good thing about Radisson in Copenhagen is that you have other opportunities and I will recommend you to use them. Radisson Blu Scandinavia is much more friendly, better rooms and cheaper. You have to walk a little longer to get to the city center, but it is worth every step you take.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank denEldre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boline2014, Public Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2014

Dear denEldre,
Thank you for writing us - we apologize that your expectations were not met during your stay and we appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. Your comments are valued and will be used to consider improvements in the future.
We hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations. So please don't hesitate to contact me at this e-mail: boline.andersen@radissonblu.com the next time that you are going to Copenhagen. I will be happy to help you with a good room at our sisterhotel - the Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel if you wish so.
Kind regards,
Boline,
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

We were able to check in early after disembarking our cruise ship. We were given a very nice corner room with windows on two sides- Overlooking Tivoli Gardens. It was an easy walk to the historical sites, Nyhaven, shopping and restaurants. The staff was very friendly and efficient. Check in and out was easy. The train station was a short walk. We rolled our suitcases and rode the train to the airport ....so easy! Our room was nice, comfortable, Danish sleek. We did not eat at the hotel. We had a breakfast roll and coffee at a bakery near the hotel. This hotel is billed five stars. I Think four stars is more accurate to American standards. We wanted nothing more ... just think five stars is extra posh. Very good wifi :)

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PCVagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boline2014, Public Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

Dear PCVagabond,
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to rate us. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and that we treated you very well :-)
We hope to welcome you again one day!
Kind Regards
Boline,
Radisson Blu Royal Copenhagen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Copenhagen Marriott Hotel
Copenhagen Marriott Hotel
#13 of 117 in Copenhagen
1,525 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Skt. Petri
Skt. Petri
#9 of 117 in Copenhagen
345 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Scandic Palace Hotel
Scandic Palace Hotel
#23 of 117 in Copenhagen
2,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Amager
Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Copenhagen
Inner Vesterbro
Nimb Hotel
Nimb Hotel
#2 of 117 in Copenhagen
448 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 117 in Copenhagen
2,655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen

Address: Hammerichsgade 1, Copenhagen 1611, Denmark
Phone Number:
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
#20 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
#22 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range: $217 - $483 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen 5*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning architectural hotel welcomes Copenhagen guests to Denmark Expertly designed and perfectly situated, the Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Copenhagen is the premier accommodation choice near Tivoli Gardens in Denmark's capital city. Designed by Danish architect Arne Jacobsen, the hotel is a beacon of style with its spiral staircase and reflective facade. Choose from 260 rooms and suites with amenities including Free high-speed, wireless Internet. Hotel guests enjoy on-site features as restaurant, exceptional fitness centre and flexible conference facilities. • Unique design elements including the famous "Swan" and "Egg" chairs • The city's central train station, Tivoli Gardens and popular shopping street Stroget within walking distance of this Copenhagen hotel's location • A total of 260 striking guest rooms and suites offering bathrobes and 24-hour room service • Personal trainers, dry and steam saunas and massage services available at the 2,000-square-metre fitness centre • Meeting facilities with the option of auditoriums seating 300 and smaller rooms for intimate gatherings The Radisson Blu Royal Hotel are currently upgrading facilities at the hotel with the least inconvenience for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Rezidor, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Copenhagen Hotel Copenhagen
Radisson Copenhagen
Radisson Sas Copenhagen
Radisson Sas Royal Copenhagen
Copenhagen Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing