We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen
Ranked #35 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
73 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

This very expensive hotel only has 2 great things: great staff and great location. Everything else is just above average. More was expected from a 5 stars but I wonder why it is not a 3 1/2 stars. I won't rate it even 4 stars. Definitively not a good value for the cost.

Room Tip: Engage the staff, they are very customer service oriented
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamachris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    671
    939
    458
    148
    82
See reviews for
349
875
180
591
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (442)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Key Largo, Florida
Level Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We had an overnight stay prior to a Baltic cruise. We found the hotel room clean and comfortable. I would not say it was five stars by US standards. The location was good for sightseeing with Hop On Hop Off buses right there and Tivoli across the street. All staff member were very accommodating, particularly the concierge who helped us with dinner reservations. The included breakfast was nice in Cafe Royal. We did share a sandwich for lunch in Cafe Royal that proved to be very expensive and were surprised to be charged for iced water.

Room Tip: Our room on floor nine allowed no street noise to bother us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Hotel is a bit pricey (over $300/night) but all of Denmark is pricey. It was very nicely appointed, very comfortable, clean rooms but most importantly very well located with the train station 1 block from hotel, Tivoli and Tourist Information Bureau across the street.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing away from Tivoli and RR station for quieter sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbunny1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We had a pleasant stay, not a special one. We requested and received an upper-floor room facing Tivoli and were rewarded with a bird's eye view of the Saturday night fireworks. The central location of the hotel is convenient to attractions and the room was comfortable, although the carpet could have used a thorough cleaning. We enjoyed the decor, which was like something out of Disney's Contemporary Resort before the renovation--complete with a light-up acrylic wall panel above the headboard of the bed. We would have appreciated a more knowledgeable concierge staff in terms of restaurant recommendations, and the lobby restaurant dinner offerings were extremely limited. The free Wifi reliably reached the 17th floor and street noise was not a problem. Operable windows were nice to have for fresh air.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank musicmom3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Our problem with this hotel began way before our stay began. We e-mailed the concierge to ask for hotel reservations and to book a massage and car from the airport. I needed to send a second request in order to get a response from the concierge. When I responded to that concierge to ask him to make a booking for the car and at a restaurant he recommended, he did not respond or confirm or in fact, make the bookings. Frankly, it was rude.

Then, when we arrived at the hotel, the concierge was unknowledgeable and seemed annoyed when we asked for confirmation of our dinner reservation. For example, we specifically were looking forward to the fireworks on Saturday night to celebrate the 170th anniversary of Tivoli. The concierge told us that there were no fireworks. Thankfully, we asked several other people at local restaurants who confirmed that there were in fact fireworks. There were other concierges that were helpful throughout our stay (Gitte), but our experience was tainted by the initial interactions with the concierge.

Secondly, we were celebrating our honeymoon and upon arrival, we were told that our order for a king sized bed was merely a request. We were given a room with two twin beds, which really ruined our experience. We had come from Paris, where we stayed at a Westin. That hotel upgraded our room and provided champagne and French macaroons. The Royal Blu did nothing- not that we were expecting us, but they couldn't even provide us a room with the bed that we ordered. When I asked if I could pay for an upgrade, the receptionist wanted to charge me 300 dollars to switch rooms on the second night of our stay.

Finally, I travel abroad several times a year. I try to stay at a Radisson on several of these occasions, partially to gain points through their rewards program. I was told upon arrival that we couldn't earn points because I booked the hotel through a travel agent. Because I was busy at work and couldn't book the trip by myself, I was essentially penalized by the hotel. There is no reason why I shouldn't be allowed to earn points, at the money still went to the hotel. When I complained to the receptionist, they did not give a reason why I could not earn the points.

The location is quite good- right across from Tivoli in the center of the city, but there are others that might better at servicing tourists and those hoping for a special weekend. The gym was also very nice and comprehensive.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

There was nothing unusual about this hotel,except the location was very central. The interiors badly need renovation - as on the club floor one of the acrylic wall display fell off during our stay.
The concierge service is particularly weak as we had to rely on travel guide books for restaurant suggestions.
The breakfast is very average and the full rates are quite high for the standards.
Frankly, this hotel does not live up to it's old glorious days .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smoots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

My wife and myself spent 4 nights at the Radisson BLU Royal Hotel from the 30th of July to the 3rd of August, 2013. We had booked a family room of size 450 square feet approx, with an excellent view of Tivoli and the city centre. The location of this hotel was excellent.

The service was good and the breakfasts were great. We really had no complaint whatsoever about the hotel.

If we ever were to return to Copenhagen, the Radisson BLU would probably be our first choice once again. Staying in the city centre saves a lot of time and money commuting. Especially important when one is staying for just 4 nights and wants to see as much as one possibly can.

Room Tip: Book a family room. It has far more space than the standard room. Also, excellent views of Tivoli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carlos501b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Copenhagen Marriott Hotel
Copenhagen Marriott Hotel
#10 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,228 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Scandic Palace Hotel
Scandic Palace Hotel
#19 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,011 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Nimb Hotel
Nimb Hotel
#3 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,763 reviews
Amager
Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Copenhagen
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#9 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen

Property: Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen
Address: Hammerichsgade 1, Copenhagen 1611, Denmark
Phone Number:
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
#19 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
#20 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen 5*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning architectural hotel welcomes Copenhagen guests to Denmark Expertly designed and perfectly situated, the Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Copenhagen is the premier accommodation choice near Tivoli Gardens in Denmark's capital city. Designed by Danish architect Arne Jacobsen, the hotel is a beacon of style with its spiral staircase and reflective facade. Choose from 260 rooms and suites with amenities including Free high-speed, wireless Internet. Hotel guests enjoy on-site features such as award-winning restaurants, an exceptional fitness centre and flexible conference facilities. • Unique design elements including the famous "Swan" and "Egg" chairs • The city's central train station, Tivoli Gardens and popular shopping street Stroget within walking distance of this Copenhagen hotel's location • A total of 260 striking guest rooms and suites offering bathrobes and 24-hour room service • Drinks, coffees and meals in a relaxed setting at restaurant Cafe Royal and the Royal Bar • Personal trainers, dry and steam saunas and massage services available at the 2,000-square-metre fitness centre • Meeting facilities with the option of auditoriums seating 300 and smaller rooms for intimate gatherings The Radisson Blu Royal Hotel are currently upgrading facilities at the hotel with the least inconvenience for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Rezidor, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Copenhagen Hotel Copenhagen
Radisson Copenhagen
Radisson Sas Copenhagen
Radisson Sas Royal Copenhagen
Copenhagen Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing