We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but not really 5* nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen
Ranked #38 of 118 Hotels in Copenhagen
Reviewed November 9, 2012

I had booked this 5 star Radisson Blu after having read some great reviews. Got a very good deal with cash and points for a fri-sat night. As cc gold i didn't get a upgrade cause the hotel was said to be fully booked, which i doubt but didnt want to fight about it, front desk service was suberb otherwise. Got my welcome amenity in room though.
Walking to huge and nicely designed lobby makes you actually feel like being in 5* hotel.
Had standard room on probably 16th floor which offered nice view over the Tivoli gardens. Room felt pretty old and for a 5* property, not so nicely furnished. Bed was big and very comfy though.
Had "quick" dinner at street level restaurant Royal Cafe. Service was friendly and nice, but very very very slow. There were about 5 tables with customers but our apetizer + main took about 1.5 hours. My rib eye steak was wonderfull, so i guess it was worth the waiting. Our rate didn't incl. breakfast so we walked Torvehallernet (food hall) to get something in the morning.
Location was great next main railway station and the Tivoli (was closed at the time but anyway)
Very nice hotel when the price is right!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pajis544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,402)
There are newer reviews for Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,339 - 1,345 of 2,402 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2012

We got a chance to stay in this hotel when we came to Copenhagen for the first time. It was previously known as Radisson SAS. Located in the central area of Copenhagen, nearby some well-known places such as Tivoli garden, City Hall, the main train station (Hovedbånegarden), Asian market etc. made it more attractive place to stay while you're visiting Copenhagen.

For junior suite, the room was equipped with a king-size bed which was very comfortable. The bathroom was also spacious. In the morning, you could taste the scandinavian buffet breakfast.

Overall we enjoyed our stays in this hotel. Really recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ANJ002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

When first walking out of the train station and I saw the Radisson BLU I thought oh wow this is going to be out dated hotel. I could not have been more wrong when walking into the lobby. The uh oh feeling I had quickly went away. We got our rooms right away and the room was spotless. The beds were very comfortable and the pillows were plush.

The staff hands down could not have been any better. One of my friends had to get important documents faxed back to the states and the concierge went out of their way to make sure it was done and confirmation was provided. We would leave our rooms by 9AM and within minutes our rooms were being cleaned. I could not have asked for better service from a hotel.

The hotel does not have a pool, but there's a gym connected to the hotel which was free to use.

Great Job Radisson BLU!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

Small rooms and generally very dated decor. Rooms feel like flat pack showroom although the location is quite good and the service was better than the accommodation. Probably would not be first choice to return. Although bed felt very soft when you say on it the bed was comfortable and the duvet good.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RDG1871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

The Radisson Blu Royal is a hotel from the 70ies, its aged but the rooms as well as the public areas are well renovated. You can see the age only on the details such as elevator corners, guest room windows and facade. The room is cosy and there is a lot of natural light coming through the large window front, it is especially nice in the evening to look down to the Tivoli amusement park. The location of the hotel is great as well.
Everything seems to work well and staff is friendly. Wifi is fast and elevators very efficient.
Thus there are 2 big negative points: firstly, the bed is a disaster, it just bends when sitting on it any you literally hang through. Second, the water and everything that is related with it. The water stinks. A really bad smell arises whenever you flush the toilet or brush your teeth. The shower lacks pressure and the showerhead is not in a good position to take a nice shower.
I really wish to give this property a better rating, however these two points are essential to make my stay comfortable.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sveenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

They make a big stink about this place being designed by a famous guy. Cool!! We understand that styles change....needs change... It's just too bad that they didn't honor the famous guy by keeping things up a little better. Looks like the dining room is a case in point. However, this is a biz hotel and it was clean and the rooms were comfortable. Excellent location, across from Tivoli Gardens and Central Station. Would stay there again. Oh....the restaurant on the 20th floor is amazing!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neatomosquito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

I must have stayed at this hotel 20 times by now, most recently the last weekend of September 2012. I guess I thereby have revealed I am very fond of this hotel, one of the first design hotels in the world, created (on the outside and on the inside) by Danish architect Arne Jacobsen. The rooms have a special character (fresh, stylish and very nicely equipped), and they off stunning views of Copenhagen. My favorite type of room is the junior suite, which is about 42 sq m big, with one bathroom and an extra toilet. Excellent for two. Another perk of staying in the junior suite is that breakfast is available at the Alberto K restaurant on the top floor. Otherwise, the regular room is also very nice, but offers the slight disadvantage of having to eat breakfast on the ground floor. While the selection at this breakfast buffet is quite impressive, the room tends to get crowded and noisy at about 9 o'clock. A very positive thing is the wifi service: it is free, fast, you can connect up to three devices and you do not have to write a password more than once a day. Another great thing at this hotel is the good service provided by the staff, in spite of the size of the hotel. For instance, I requested five years ago that I do not like bibles in my hotel rooms, and they still remember this request when I return. I have tried the room service about five times and especially like the club sandwich. It does take some time to get it, but it is of good quality. Lastly, the location is ideal: next to the Central Station (from which it takes 15 minutes to get to the airport) and close to the shopping areas of downtown Copenhagen. While not everything is perfect at this hotel, most things are. It is my favorite place to stay in Copenhagen, and I strongly recommend it.

Room Tip: The junior suite is an excellent choice.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DrNicholas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Copenhagen Marriott Hotel
Copenhagen Marriott Hotel
#11 of 118 in Copenhagen
1,447 reviews
Amager
Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Copenhagen
Indre By (Inner City)
Skt. Petri
Skt. Petri
#12 of 118 in Copenhagen
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Scandic Palace Hotel
Scandic Palace Hotel
#21 of 118 in Copenhagen
2,205 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel D'Angleterre
Hotel D'Angleterre
#1 of 118 in Copenhagen
774 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
The Square Copenhagen
The Square Copenhagen
#34 of 118 in Copenhagen
2,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen

Address: Hammerichsgade 1, Copenhagen 1611, Denmark
Phone Number:
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
#20 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
#22 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range: $234 - $538 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen 5*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning architectural hotel welcomes Copenhagen guests to Denmark Expertly designed and perfectly situated, the Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Copenhagen is the premier accommodation choice near Tivoli Gardens in Denmark's capital city. Designed by Danish architect Arne Jacobsen, the hotel is a beacon of style with its spiral staircase and reflective facade. Choose from 260 rooms and suites with amenities including Free high-speed, wireless Internet. Hotel guests enjoy on-site features as restaurant, exceptional fitness centre and flexible conference facilities. • Unique design elements including the famous "Swan" and "Egg" chairs • The city's central train station, Tivoli Gardens and popular shopping street Stroget within walking distance of this Copenhagen hotel's location • A total of 260 striking guest rooms and suites offering bathrobes and 24-hour room service • Personal trainers, dry and steam saunas and massage services available at the 2,000-square-metre fitness centre • Meeting facilities with the option of auditoriums seating 300 and smaller rooms for intimate gatherings The Radisson Blu Royal Hotel are currently upgrading facilities at the hotel with the least inconvenience for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Rezidor, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Copenhagen Hotel Copenhagen
Radisson Copenhagen
Radisson Sas Copenhagen
Radisson Sas Royal Copenhagen
Copenhagen Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing