We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“surprisingly nice and great location...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen
Ranked #35 of 114 Hotels in Copenhagen
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
118 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“surprisingly nice and great location...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

We recently stayed in Copenhagen, Denmark, and found the Radisson Blu Hotel through the reviews on tripadvisor.com. We really enjoyed the hotel and the rooms were very nice and modern. We had a great view and were in close proximity to the Tivoli Gardens Amusement Park, which we enjoyed during our stay. We were also just 40 ft. from the tourist hop-on hop-off bus stop for the bus tour of Copenhagen and across the street from the train station. We would recommend this hotel for travelers looking for a very nice modern hotel located in a great spot in Copenhagen.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PJS308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    659
    924
    449
    142
    80
See reviews for
340
863
175
576
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (438)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
118 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 310 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

i checked in and checked out again after 10 mins and yes that was end of story but this review apparently requires a 200 character minimum so here it goes. it looks like a public toilet from the outside and smells like a public toilet inside. and yes i checked in and had to check out immediately. the good thing is the hotel didn't charge me for checking out immediately or so they claimed. could not wait for the credit card bill to arrive to verify.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rubyyao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

The good:

The hotel is well situated. It is a short walk from the train station, which you can catch at the Copenhagen Airport. The gym is a nice free standing gym that offers a schedule of fitness classes.

I was looking forward to the Arne Jacobsson design experience, however, my initial impression is one of disappointment. A five star hotel it is not. It may be a 3 star hotel by American standards due to lack of upkeep and renovation.

The bad:

We are now in our second room for the day. Upon arrival we requested a room with a view on a higher floor. The person assisting us with registration stated that our first room, 910 , should be "good enough." I didn't catch this remark, but my friend did. When we entered our first room his comment then made sense. It was hard to miss the giant crack in the hall mirror held together by a large piece of duct tape. Yes. Ghetto- fabulous. The room was smaller than my first New York studio apartment, and to make matters worse the safe was non functional. We had unpacked before making this discovery.

At this point, we decided to ask for a new room. Another clerk assisted us and assigned us to our current room. She was not able to upgrade us as she said they were fully booked. However, this new room on the 13th floor is more spacious and has a separate shower and bathtub. It also has two sinks. The only similarity between the new room and old room is the musty odor and carpet stains. Oh, and a non functional bed light.

The lingering question in my mind is how that first room was assigned to us in the first place. If I owned this hotel I would be embarrassed to have guests stay in it... Also, why wouldn't you assign the better rooms in a certain class to guests arriving earlier? We could saved the time and effort spent moving from one room to the next had this been the case. All this leaves me upset enough to write my very first trip advisor review...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelist123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lund, Sweden
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

In the heart of Copenhagen,wonderful wiew from the toprooms,looking out over the city,you can also se the bridge between Denmark and Sweden.Just under you is Tivoli,every night they have fireworks at 11 pm amazing to se. On the topfloor you have a very good restaurant name Alfredo,the breakfast is also rich and good on the groundfloor.Parkingplace under the Hotel.And a short acces to the best places in Copenhagen just outside the door.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sparvenaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longport, New Jersey
Level Contributor
58 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

I have nothing to complain about, however it doesn't feel like a 5 star hotel compared to 5 star hotels we are used to in the US. Our flight got bumped from a strike so we decided to stay a couple nights in Copenhagen. Basically the cab driver told us it was one of the nicest hotels and tired from our long day in the airport I really didn't care all that much where we stayed, just wanted something nice. Rooms were nice and hotel was clean. The location was pretty good but if I had time to research I would have picked a boutique hotel. I think that would have gave us a better feel of the city. Overall I was happy with my stay and Copenhagen is a beautiful city.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ACSauce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Level Contributor
116 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

After a very long flight we were welcomed to our radisson experience, our room was good size for European standards, very Danish modern. Nice bathroom, tho bit skimpy on soap! We had a great view over looking Trivoli Gardens. Even tho the train station was within view it was very quiet! Our room included a full breakfast each morning, served until 10:00 am! Great variety and wonderful breads....we were traveling with our family and had reserved 3 other rooms all nice and quiet! The Concierge had suggested 2 close by "modestly" priced eateries. Great location to explore on foot many of the sights. We really enjoyed this ideal location to start our Baltic adventure!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Napafoodlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

This is a modern yet old hotel in a great central Copenhagen location, ideal for the main station. Big and bold, but the check-in desks are strangely arranged- they are unidentifiable without a queue of waiting people. Seems to be popular with rich foreign travellers and groups. Bed comfortable, room quiet, A/C works, iron in the room, free wireless, ticks all boxes for me. Pricey, but that's CPH - if only there was more high quality choice in the area...

Room Tip: High rooms have a spectacular view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Copenhagen Marriott Hotel
Copenhagen Marriott Hotel
#9 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,148 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Scandic Palace Hotel
Scandic Palace Hotel
#19 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,933 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Nimb Hotel
Nimb Hotel
#16 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#5 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,655 reviews
Amager
Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Copenhagen
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#8 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen

Property: Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen
Address: Hammerichsgade 1, Copenhagen 1611, Denmark
Phone Number:
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
#19 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
#20 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen 5*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning architectural hotel welcomes Copenhagen guests to Denmark Expertly designed and perfectly situated, the Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Copenhagen is the premier accommodation choice near Tivoli Gardens in Denmark's capital city. Designed by Danish architect Arne Jacobsen, the hotel is a beacon of style with its spiral staircase and reflective facade. Choose from 260 rooms and suites with amenities including Free high-speed, wireless Internet. Hotel guests enjoy on-site features such as award-winning restaurants, an exceptional fitness centre and flexible conference facilities. • Unique design elements including the famous "Swan" and "Egg" chairs • The city's central train station, Tivoli Gardens and popular shopping street Stroget within walking distance of this Copenhagen hotel's location • A total of 260 striking guest rooms and suites offering bathrobes and 24-hour room service • Drinks, coffees and meals in a relaxed setting at restaurant Cafe Royal and the Royal Bar • Personal trainers, dry and steam saunas and massage services available at the 2,000-square-metre fitness centre • Meeting facilities with the option of auditoriums seating 300 and smaller rooms for intimate gatherings ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Rezidor, Booking.com, HotelsClick, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Jetsetter, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Copenhagen Hotel Copenhagen
Radisson Copenhagen
Radisson Sas Royal Copenhagen
Radisson Sas Copenhagen
Copenhagen Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing