We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service, safe bet for a short break, cheap bike rental, free wifi”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Copenhagen
Ranked #37 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
London
Level Contributor
52 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good service, safe bet for a short break, cheap bike rental, free wifi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2011

We would normally have looked for something a little less generic than this when staying in a city for the first time, but the Radisson was decent, a typical location-hotel which towers at the edge of the city and gives you great views, at least from the side we were on.

The hotel has some impressive design history, and the lobby is suitably grandiose but warm and inviting, and there are plenty of staff; we never waited more than 30 seconds to speak to someone. The room itself was smaller than I expected, with normal doubles (not King Size). Radisson in Sweden (only just over the water) has some huge rooms by european standards, so this was surprising, but less so when you consider that it was built in the 60s. The furniture is nicer than most hotels, although a little tired in places - our window opened slightly but wouldn't stay open as the mechanism was broken. No AC which wasn't an issue for us at this time of year.

The bathroom was fine, fair sized tub and shower pressure; there had been an area missed when cleaning that we called them about and someone came and dealt with it promptly.

They have a set of bikes for rental at 14 DKK per day which is next to nothing, and it's a joy riding around the city. Copenhagen is fantastic for a weekend break and the Radisson is fairly well located; if you don't like making any effort whatsoever to be in the centre of town then it's not for you. When cycling around I recognised some of the other hotels I had seen online and many looked pretty mediocre, so for the price I was glad we went for a reliable brand.

I have seen some reviews with people complaining about dinner for USD$50 per head and $20 per day car parking...this isn't exactly cheap, but that's Europe. Copenhagen is expensive but in a short stay you're not going to see your costs being significantly higher than most other city breaks.

In summary, the rooms are small but the hotel obviously can't really change this so have made up for it in the other areas. We did not eat there but there are at least three restaurants, a good bar and a pool (which we did not have time to use either). If this you get a good deal on a room, then this place is a safe bet.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the view over the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YourLocalGP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,917 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    844
    485
    159
    62
See reviews for
288
470
113
755
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
51 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

This hotel obviously lives on the casino. The rooms are tired and bathrooms slightly smelly. Very clean, though. Good breakfast. Rather heavy traffic outside during the day, and boring areas outside. Better for business than holiday. Bus stop right outside the hotel (both to the city centre and to the airport), ver good!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuntsopran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nove Zamky, Slovakia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed 2 nights. 5A bus from the airport stops directly outside the hotel. Staff is nice. Rooms are clean. Breakfast is excellent. Check- in and check- out is fast. The hotel is within walking distance of downtown . Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JOGAB53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2011

Overall: Better off finding a nice hotel closer in town. Likely a similar price and likely to offer the same amenities. A colleague showed me http://www.vrbo.com (Vacation rentals by owner). If this wasn't a business trip I would strongly consider this as an option.

Detail review:

I generally try to manage my expectations and offer reviews based off of them. The overall experience at Radisson Blu wasn't awful, but it wasn't great either. I think I would absolutely hate this place if the trip wasn't paid for by my company.

Location: Not great. The hotel is about a 15-20 minute walk from the town center where most of the tourist areas, shopping, dining, etc., is located. This is especially bad in poor weather conditions--it rained about 75% of the time when I wanted to go out into town. A few times I just ended up venturing out in rain and wind just to do something.

Service: Generally good. Hotel staff are friendly and I feel this is where you do feel more like you are in a higher tier hotel.

Value: Let's just say, at $200+ a night, I wouldn't be here if I was paying out of my own pocket.

Room/Sleep Quality: With no real AC/heat controls and a heavy blanket, I was stuck between sweating in a heavy blanket or being slightly chilled without any cover. I woke up several times a night out of discomfort. If you're with a spouse, the blanket is too small for the bed as well. Great view of the city on the 23rd floor though.

Restaurant: I don't hate any of the restaurants for their offering, but they all rank low because of the ridiculous prices. The Thai restaurant was the best, but I averaged $80 a dinner. Pad Thai was $35 for a large serving. Having eaten Pad Thai for $2 in Thailand, I found the situation laughable.

Breakfast: NOT free. That is common for larger scale hotels, but since you aren't close to anywhere else, you likely will goto the breakfast buffet in the hotel for a whopping $40 per morning. The selection is okay, but a far cry from the price paid.

Cleanliness: Well cleaned. They maintain the place as they would a normal respectable hotel.

Parking: DO NOT come with a rental car. Will cost you about $20 a day for parking.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John_Gaudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Copenhagen hotels

Bandung, Indonesia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2011

I moved to the Radisson because my family came to Copenhagen and I wanted to try different area in Copenhagen to stay. My travel agent booked me at Radisson. I thought it was Radisson Blu next to Tivoli Garden but this Radisson is way out in the south of Copenhagen and there were nothing interesting around the hotel except the large lake across the hotel. The room was clean and the window can be opened a bit to let the circulation going.

Our flight left very early the next day and the restaurant didn't open that early so instead they gave us a breakfast in a brown bag which consist of yogurt, one fruit (either banana or pear), and one bread.

It seems that the hotel is very popular for business people as it seems that we're the only tourist in that hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LivyLiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
159 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2011

Overall a reasonably good hotel. Not very characterful. Clean. For an expensive hotel the TV and remote were a joke, very old television, very poor picture quality, and an ancient barely working remote. Breakfast was superb though.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeteD_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2011

The hotel is near to the city center. There are great restaurants located at the ground floor. We had a dinner at the thai restaurant blue elephant, food was great.
It took ~15 minutes taxi ride from the airport. Check-in was smooth, the room is reasonable size, unfortunately the room smell bad and run down. Hope they can do something about to improve the room condition. Other then that, it is OK hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevincklondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen
Inner Vesterbro
Copenhagen Marriott Hotel
Copenhagen Marriott Hotel
#10 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,179 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Tivoli Hotel
Tivoli Hotel
#27 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Vesterbro
Copenhagen Island Hotel
Copenhagen Island Hotel
#16 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,075 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#5 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Copenhagen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Copenhagen

Property: Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Copenhagen
Address: Amager Boulevard 70, Copenhagen 2300, Denmark
Phone Number:
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Amager
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
#26 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Copenhagen 4*
Number of rooms: 544
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy hotel's premium location in Copenhagen, Denmark Rising high above the city skyline, the Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Copenhagen affords stunning views of the ancient City Hall, the gilded church towers of Christianshavn and the picturesque coast. Stylish and modern, each of the 544 rooms and suites offers thoughtful amenities like Free high-speed, wireless Internet access, room service and cable television. Enjoy picturesque backdrops and memorable cuisine at one of the three on-site restaurants or try your luck at the city's only casino. A free fitness centre and well-equipped conference facilities are also available for an even more convenient stay. • This Copenhagen hotel's location sits just minutes from the bustling city centre and 15 minutes from Copenhagen International Airport. • Choose from 544 hotel rooms and suites with beautiful city views, mini bar and Free high-speed, wireless Internet access. • Dine at one of the three on-site restaurants, including The Blue Elephant, touted as one of the city's best Thai restaurants. • The BusStop Bar, Red 7 Bar are perfect for after-work drinks or nightcaps. • Visit the hotel's exciting casino, located on the lobby level. • Rejuvenate at the hotel's fitness centre, with personal trainers, spa services and two squash courts. • Modern event spaces can accommodate meetings and galas for up to 1,750 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Rezidor, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Copenhagen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Copenhagen Hotel Copenhagen
Radisson Copenhagen
Copenhagen Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing