We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worth the money”
Review of Hotel Osterport

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Osterport
Ranked #72 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We have received what was offered.
Location is superb!
Breakfast is nice and enought, althought we had some small problem with it when we left early in the morning.
Management should prepare for early leaving guest, and should not surprise them!
Top floor is quiet.

Room Tip: We have been at room #336
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh
2  Thank Balazs B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,109)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

765 - 771 of 1,109 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2013

The pictures of the superior rooms are lying, the hotel is almost "inside" the railways with trains pass just 100 meters from the room. The personal/service is terrible, and they deny that the rooms and pictures is wrong.......how is that possible when the pictures says the truth ? :)

Terrible hotel !!

Room Tip: No No & No !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bjorn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We booked this hotel without reading any reviews beforehand. A few weeks before we were due to travel, I happened to glance at the reviews and became terrified that we were staying in some kind of prison! The reviews scared me, but the experience was not as bad as some others made out.

The hotel is literally on the railway tracks. We stayed on the left side of the hotel (away from the tracks) and I only heard one train in the middle of the night. The hotel itself is quite strange, and feels almost like you're staying in a trailer. The beds are tiny and the room largely resembles that of a motel. It is very overpriced, but so is everything in Copenhagen. We were willing to make a sacrifice on comfort to save money.

The location of the hotel isn't great, but you are right on the train line so getting to the city is simple. We only took the train to and from the airport (which was a super convenient transfer!), and walked into the city all four days we stayed there. It took about 15-20 minutes to walk into the main shopping/restaurant strip. The breakfast buffet was pretty standard. The only thing that was a bit gross was that they provide knives to cut the bread yourself, and a man cut his hand open (I imagine it must happen frequently!) and bled all over the bread and knives. Apart from that, the food was good.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room on the left side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tarapig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank Karsten A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is of an average quality.
Some things are Nice, like the lobby and breakfast restaurant, some are less good, like the room interiors. Rooms are reasonable, but slightly outdated. I have slept in worse hotels and I have been traveling for more than 20 years. The hotel smells funny but has nothing to do with the plumbing, smells more like cabbage. If you're looking for a place to sleep only this is an okay hotel.

Stayed: October 2013
Thank Keessi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

My husband fractured his hip in Copenhagen and I had to fly out very quickly. I booked this hotel without looking at any reviews because it was situated right on the railway station. Travelling alone I wanted to access transport quickly and from here it's right over the road. I could get to the hospital easily and quickly. The staff in the hotel could not have been more helpful in getting me sorted with trains to get to the hospital and were very kind and understanding. For me it was the perfect place. I felt safe and have to say although the rooms were a bit old and probably could have done with a bit of a touch up they were clean and functioned.The breakfast was good and there was plenty of choice. It's not a 5 star hotel but if you are going to Copenhagen for a short trip/holiday it's perfect if all you are looking for is a bed to sleep in and breakfast in the morning! Oh and the trains do go by but it didn't stop me sleeping and I noticed they don't run through the night

Room Tip: try and get the side away from the rail line
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wizard0fId
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Is it really possible to run such a shabby business in Copenhagen?!?!?! That is what I thought and precisely what I asked the manager. He tried to act surprised, but could see that he was used to such comments.

I checked into the room late evening first week of October 2013 and a stench is what caught my nose by force the moment I stepped into the room. Was not very difficult to trace its root to the toilet/bath. I opened the door to the toilet, some how turned on the light using the nearly broken switch and was shocked by what I saw (attached are some photographs to let you know a part of the terrible experience I had). The wash basin had cracks all over, had a tap that has never been washed for many years, had rust all over and some insects running around!!!!! I looked all over and found the same state of things in the bath tub too. And the stench/odour was all over! I had to struggle not to vomit then and there.

After regaining senses, I had a look at the rest of the room. In my last 13 years of travelling across Europe, I have never seen such a dirty and ill maintained hotel room. Doors broken, mirrors cracked, paint coming off the wall, dust on the carpet, soil/grease on the chairs, and any thing dirty that you can imagine. After a looong flight, I had no energy for a fight and so decided to just shut my nose and sleep on the dirty bed in that pathetic room. I am still unable to figure out how can a room at 1200 DKK plus per night be offered in that shape to a customer!

Next day morning I complained to the manager. And he told me that I can write that on some piece of paper kept in the room when I check out! So kind of him! How ever, after a couple of hours he found a new room for me. This one was better without the stench, but rest of the story was the same.

And as if all this was not enough, the whole hotel shakes every time a train passes through the tracks aside. And yes, railway track is just 3 or 4 metres off the wall of the hotel building!

Dear fellow travellers, you can sleep on the street. But not in 'hotel Osterport'!

Room Tip: I used room 319. If I have to choose between an electric chair and room 319 in this hotel, I will ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnoopPV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Saga Hotel
Saga Hotel
#69 of 117 in Copenhagen
515 reviews
Amager
CABINN Metro
CABINN Metro
#89 of 117 in Copenhagen
1,222 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
ProfilHotels Richmond Hotel
ProfilHotels Richmond Hotel
#100 of 117 in Copenhagen
919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
ProfilHotels Mercur Hotel
ProfilHotels Mercur Hotel
#59 of 117 in Copenhagen
961 reviews
Wittrup Motel
#71 of 117 in Copenhagen
97 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Windsor
Hotel Windsor
#79 of 117 in Copenhagen
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Osterport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Osterport

Address: Oslo Plads 5, Copenhagen 2100, Denmark (Formerly First Hotel Osterport)
Phone Number:
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City) , Østerbros , Østerbros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Price Range: $83 - $1,359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Osterport 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Osterport is great for the busy traveler and those who want a single concept at a good price. At the Hotel Osterport, there are many opportunities to experience art and culture, Gronningen with Citadel just around the corner, Music, galleries and museums like the Freedom Museum, the National Gallery of Art and the Glyptotek. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Osterport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Copenhagen
Comfort Hotel Copenhagen
Comfort Hotel Osterport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing