We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tasty food, portions a little small for the price”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Told&Snaps

Told&Snaps
Ranked #65 of 2,308 Restaurants in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Scandinavian, Danish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Indre By (Inner City)
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
200 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Tasty food, portions a little small for the price”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

This is a cosy little bolthole in Nyhavn where you can choose from more than forty varieties of Danish speciality open sandwiches. I had mine with fried meatballs, red cabbage and cucumber salad. It was absolutely delicious but, as I suspected when the waiter asked if we wanted to order a third to share, the portions are on the small side for the price you pay. We filled up with some petit fours for pudding and that was enough to make for a satisfying lunch.

The cafe itself is a lovely old-fashioned place and is very warm and friendly so you're probably paying a little for the atmosphere. We were there on a Sunday lunchtime so tables were at something of a premium - we were sat at a table beside a gent dining on his own and I had to get up mid-sandwich to let him leave so be prepared to be quite up-close-and-personal with your fellow diners. I'd still recommend a visit though as it's worth it to taste this Danish delicacy.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    133
    22
    10
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
69 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Upmarket open sandwiches”
Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

Dropped in for a light lunch and really enjoyed. Portions are small so expect to buy two if you are hungry but that will you a chance to try twice as much. Quite formal service.

Helpful?
Thank SamOfEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dansk”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Friendly nicce and quick service. The food was fantastic - this is a genuine danish lunch place. Nice

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Monahak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cosy and full of locals - must be good!”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Super food, great selection of Schnapps, warm welcome, impressed with how relaxed locals seemed to be here

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank RobinsonParenting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, ON
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“THE place to visit for the best Danish open faced sandwich.”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Told&Snaps is situated 20 steps away from Nyhavn (New Harbour) on Toldbodgade 2. The establishment is clean, appealing and employs outstanding, knowledgeable and friendly staff. Most if not all speak English...
The menu is long and varied and all the offerings are super fresh and made in the restaurant's kitchen. Open faced sandwiches are a Danish specialty that you do not want to miss. They certainly do not look like the sandwiches that we make at home! The range of foods is huge and the ones which we tasted were to die for. One member of our party had a chicken based offering while the other had steak tartar with all the trimmings. A couple of glasses of Akvavit, also made in the establishment, did not hurt. Prices vary but are reasonable.
Highly recommended. Reservations are almost always necessary as the restaurant is extremely popular.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mikekiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Told&Snaps also viewed

Copenhagen, Zealand
 

Been to Told&Snaps? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing