We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“perhaps the worst hotel ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
AC Hotel Bella Sky Copenhagen
Ranked #20 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“perhaps the worst hotel ever”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Be prepared for an experience akin to staying in a very small dorm room at a college with terrible dining facilities and a total lack of service.

The first room I was given was shoebox-sized. Willing to pay more for whatever they had, the only available room was marginally larger, with a closet that was one foot wide, with a single shelf inside the closet and no other drawers for storage.

There were three hangers inside the closet, none of which had a bar for hanging trousers. I made a total of 5 requests over the next two days for additional hangers. Three times they told me they would be there right away (didn't happen), once they told me they were "out of hangers", and finally I was brought 2 additional hangers at the end of my second day there.

There is no button on the phone for calling housekeeping, and if you try to call the front desk, you are typically on hold for at least 5 minutes. On two occasions, the call just disconnected eventually.

Housekeeping was terrible- they left used glasses sitting on the table two days in a row, and just hung up dirty wet towels from the floor in the bathroom. Even after I left a note to ask "please remove these glasses", they were left. When I called down to have the glasses removed and the towels replaced, I came back to find the glasses on the floor outside my room and the towels still in the bathroom.

The restaurant food is terrible, and if there is a convention going on (I am here right now for one), eating spaces for lunch and dinner are completely sold out- since you are miles away from the city, that is clearly a problem. I obtained a pre made sandwich for lunch in the lobby bar/restaurant today and when I asked for mayonnaise, after about 15 minutes I was told that the hotel was out of mayonnaise.

If you have to attend a convention here, by all means, book a decent hotel in the city and take the Metro or a cab back and forth- unless you want to relive some horrible summer camp experience from your youth. After a breakfast of cold and unsavoury scrambled eggs this morning, I was tempted to ask if I was on kitchen duty today.

Room Tip: go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Christopher R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BellaSkyComwell, Guest Relations Manager at AC Hotel Bella Sky Copenhagen, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Christopher R,
Thank you very much for your review and for taking the time to give us feedback. We always strive to give our guests the best experience at our hotel, and we are therefore very sorry for the inconveniences you have experienced during your stay. Your comments have been forwarded to the respective departments who will follow up on your feedback. Please contact us at guestrelations@bellasky.dk for further feedback.
Thank you again for your review. Your comments are highly valuable to us.
Best regards,
Bella Sky Comwell.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,224
    1,503
    483
    155
    91
See reviews for
399
1,201
165
1,134
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (593)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Attended a conference here in November 2013. This is a massive imposing building in what could best be described an an industrial waste-land. It was winter but that only added to the imposing, grey & soullessness of this hotel. The conference facilities were vast & lacked intimacy. the dining area was more like a factory than somewhere to eat. The rooms were stark & minimalist as you would expect in Scandinavia, the land of Ikea, G plan and the like. Hard to judge fully as this was conference time, but if I was staying in Copenhagen again, I'd give this a huge body swerve. like something from Bladerunner!

Room Tip: Rotten views all round
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pete B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

I am not sure it is a Danish culture not to smile or it is just not his day.

I was standing in front of the library restaurant front counter on the ground level, asking the brown-haired waiter "excuse me". To my surprise, he didn't beat an eye lid off his cashier and was punching some table number.
So I waited. After a few seconds, he just walked off without uttering a word to me, without signaling a hand gesture asking me to wait! He saw me but just refused to acknowledge me. Even other customers who are sitting on e front row were smirking. I felt so embarrassed!

I do not want to think that he was being rude or racist or just ignorant. But seems like he was.

I then proceeded to the front desk to enquire about the breakfast restaurant and timing. The lady at the front desk was pleasant.

This kinda welcome in Denmark? Or Copenhagen? Not a nice gesture. Super disappointed when I came back to my room.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank huizeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BellaSkyComwell, Guest Relations Manager at AC Hotel Bella Sky Copenhagen, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Huizer,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. Your experience at our hotel is very far from what we accept and is absolutely not standard behavior. Our goal, and what we strive for every day, is to make our guests feel their best at our hotel and to provide a very high service level to all our guests.

We are very sorry if the service you experienced in the restaurant was unacceptable. We feel it is necessary to underline that no one from our staff would ever generalize another human being based on skin color, religion or sexual orientation - it is one of the principles in our CSR code of conduct to our suppliers as well. At the hotel we have staff employed from all over the world which we are very proud.

Thank you again for your comments. You are welcome to contact us at guestrelations@bellasky.dk for further feedback.

Have a nice summer,

Best regards,
Bella Sky Comwell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Fantastic hotel in Copenhagen.

Rooms are very large and extremely well appointed. Very modern minimal decoration with an electric blind and hd tv. Shower-room was exceptional with the best shower i have ever used, very powerful and hot. Bed is large and very comfortable.

Hotel is very striking and well designed, breakfast has a wide selection and can get quite busy but there is plenty of seats and the food is replaced quickly.

Can i stress that although this is a little but outside the centre it is very quick in the rapid transit system and you can be in the centre in 3 stops (8 mins) this did not make any difference to us and you can buy a travel card for 72 hours that costs approx £25.

There is a free shuttle from the airport to the hotel (see the hotels website for details) but note that you MUST book your return journey from the hotel to the airport in advance as there is only approx 16 seats and they fill up fast. We asked to book at 11am and they were fully booked until 7pm so we had to get a taxi.
Overall an exceptional hotel i look forward to staying here again next time i an in Copenhagen.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank NI84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2014

This hotel is very close to the airport. There is a convenient free shuttle from the airport to the hotel. This is a newer hotel next to the new convention center and rooms are very quiet and well insulated. Rooms are very small and the bathroom is extremely small. The bathroom sink is very small but has a large faucet so it is difficult to not splash water everywhere. The hotel does not seem to provide Kleenex which we found strange. The shower is very European and water gets all over the floor of the bathroom. Rooms have AC but the system could not keep the room temperature down. The hotel staff are friendly but there is no concierge so you must wait in a long line of people checking in and checking out in order to ask a question. The hotel is situated on the metro line but you are about 15 minutes outside of the downtown tourist area. Breakfast is included with the room and is a large buffet with a wide selection of food.. There are lots of large tour groups and conventions staying there so the restaurant feels like a crowded college cafeteria. The hotel has a nicely appointed fitness room that I used daily. There is a large shopping mall within walking distance of the hotel but it was unimpressive by American standards. The mall does have a large grocery store which is useful. And lastly, rooms have free wifi that works very well.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michele G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BellaSkyComwell, Guest Relations Manager at AC Hotel Bella Sky Copenhagen, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Michele G,
Thank you very much for taking the time to give us feedback and for complementing our staff. If you are up for shopping and sightseeing and want to go the center of Copenhagen, the Metro station is only a 3 minutes’ walk from Bella Sky Comwell – 5 stops and you are downtown. Thank you again for your comments, they are highly valuable to us.
Best Regards,
Bella Sky Comwell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

Check in was very good and the reception girl was lovely we asked for a room on the higher floors which she offered us.
Very good location from the airport with free reliable shuttle bus. Near to the metro to get down town.
Rooms clean and bright. A little basic but every thing you required was thought of.
Breakfast was very busy. Very few staff at breakfast because everything was self service however no problems lots of choice and tables were cleared away immediately.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank julie r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Canton, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

I stayed at this hotel in June 2014 for work. It was an OK hotel. A bit outside of the city center but easy to get to by the metro which is about a 5-10 minute walk from the hotel. The rooms are very nice and clean, but the wifi is very poor - being that I traveled here for work, it was a bit inconvenient. I know this is a minor detail/complaint but the elevators in the hotel took a very long time, if you were in the other tower you'd have to switch and then wait again for the other elevator (there are a lot of floors). The hotel staff also were using the elevators, so if the elevator was full you'd have to wait again. I believe this is a 4 star hotel, but I would expect better service. Not many options for room service at the hotel either. Overall, I think you could get a better deal, with better service closer to the city.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kpiero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#5 of 116 in Copenhagen
1,704 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
#22 of 116 in Copenhagen
3,744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Vesterbro
Copenhagen Marriott Hotel
Copenhagen Marriott Hotel
#10 of 116 in Copenhagen
1,178 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Copenhagen Island Hotel
Copenhagen Island Hotel
#16 of 116 in Copenhagen
2,074 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Tivoli Hotel
Tivoli Hotel
#27 of 116 in Copenhagen
2,821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AC Hotel Bella Sky Copenhagen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Hotel Bella Sky Copenhagen

Property: AC Hotel Bella Sky Copenhagen
Address: Center Boulevard 5, Copenhagen 2300, Denmark (Formerly Bella Sky Comwell)
Phone Number:
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Amager
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Copenhagen
#9 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
#11 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
#12 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
#13 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — AC Hotel Bella Sky Copenhagen 4*
Number of rooms: 812
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit Copenhagen in style when staying in the AC Hotel Bella Sky Copenhagen. Our contemporary hotel provides comfortable accommodations with spacious pet-friendly guest rooms and suites, complimentary high speed Internet access, flat screen televisions with premium channels and many more thoughtful amenities. Ideal for a weekend getaway in Copenhagen, we offer a full-service spa, state-of-the-art fitness center, decadent bars and lounges and a shuttle to Copenhagen Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your AC Hotel Bella Sky Copenhagen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bella Sky Comwell Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing