We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“surprising pleasant contemporary functional” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of AC Hotel Bella Sky Copenhagen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
AC Hotel Bella Sky Copenhagen
Ranked #20 of 114 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Europe
Level Contributor
245 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“surprising pleasant contemporary functional”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

I was the yesterday for a business meeting with Scandinavian colleagues. it is very close to the airport but not far fron the city. when you arrive by taxi you see this surprising contemporary architecture. minimalist bu very very efficient pleasant in every detail and easygoing. flavor is very Nordic and for me coming from south Europe it is a kind of exotic. I had dinner, breakfast and lunch: very delicate flavors. there are spa facilities that look very promising altough I have not tested. after dinner we had a beer at the top floor bar that was a landscape experience. not the cupolone landscape of the ethereal city (Rome) but again very pleasant to stay at for a work trip.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank SCaboto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BellaSkyComwell, Manager at AC Hotel Bella Sky Copenhagen, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Your review is much appreciated, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,209
    1,476
    478
    153
    91
See reviews for
395
1,184
157
1,115
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (591)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

Stayed at the Bella Sky Comwell for four nights as part of an event.

The hotel is beautiful to look at. The lobby and other public spaces are gorgeous. The rooms are minimal Scandinavian design (which I like) and the views from the more expensive rooms can be quite nice (half the rooms face each other, between the two towers).

But you'd be better off with a sleeping bag in a beautiful office building in downtown Copenhagen. Cuz after a few minutes of enjoying the beauty of the structure, the stay kind of sucks.

The hotel is far from downtown Copenhagen: 150-200 DKK each way by taxi, or much cheaper by metro, but the metro isn't an option at all hours, in all temperatures, or to all destinations (the metro has only two lines).

In the middle of nowhere, and attached to a (beautiful *and* quite functional) conference center, you'd think there'd be some options for food. Nope.

Breakfast at the hotel is the worst I've had in Scandinavia. I *love* coming to Scandinavia for the beautiful breakfasts with lots of breads and cheeses and fish, including smoked salmon, pates, etc. Here, pretty dull. British eggs, bacon, beans and tomatoes. American cereals. Granola but not every day. And a pretty lousy selection of breads and cheeses and such.

After breakfast closes at 10am, try getting anything other than plain coffee and you're out of luck.

The restaurants and bars have a shockingly slim number of choices of starters and mains. If you're a vegetarian, be prepared for lots of pasta. If you're not, prepare for lots of mediocre steak. Hopefully you're only here for one night or you'll get bored quickly. Hopefully there are no events, because there are a super minimal number of seats between the bar and the restaurant. My second night we got there and were told it was a two hour wait for a table. And don't be late. Starting at 9pm, no luck with food... closed.

Then there's the "spa"... At 150DKK ($30 USD), you'd think it would be nice, but definitely not. Form over function again. Looks nice, but is not a relaxing, adults-only spa like you'd expect in northern Europe. Kids running around and requires swimwear (not the norm in Scandinavia)--something I did not discover (and was not told) until AFTER I'd paid my fee. Wasted money.

Then there's the service, which is thin to be generous.

Next time I have an event here, I will stay in town where hotels are cheaper and options are much more plentiful, and take the train HERE in the morning. Won't want to be stuck here again. Pretty to look at, but not much between the ears.

Room Tip: There are two towers. Only one has good views of Copenhagen, but even then it's quite a distanc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GeekStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BellaSkyComwell, Manager at AC Hotel Bella Sky Copenhagen, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for a lengthy report. The towers lean away from each other, so that more than half of the rooms have good views. The metro will take you to the center of Copenhagen in 10 minutes for a tenth of the price of taxis. The metro connects to the S-train network and buses leave just outside the hotel. We have three restaurants in the hotel and the “Field’s Shopping Center” is one metro stop down the line. We have just recently opened up for spa access for children, which is only between 7am and 10am. The room prices of our hotel changes according to season, but generally our prices reflect the prices of hotels in the same quality category. Our hotel is just newer, only two years old.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

I booked flights to Copenhagen for a weekend break for my finance's birthday. I stumbled upon Bella Sky and I immediately was drawn in because of the wonderful structure of the building (which in real life, might I add, did not fail). I found the hotel prices quite expensive but was pleasantly surprised to find a really cheap deal on travel republic for £84 per night including breakfast which for a hotel of this standard is a good bargain! When we arrived we were greeted by an amazing receptionist that had 5* customer service. As it was a last minute booking and having never been to Denmark before my Danish was quite bad but this didn't made any difference to the way we were dealt with as the staff not only spoke English but where happy to speak it in order to help us. The room was amazing, fantastic views and not a single thing wrong. The hotel is huge and the choice of restaurants and bars in there was great, The Sky bar on the 23rd floor was phenomenal! The hotel isn't central to Copenhagen which I suppose is its only let down but honestly there are buses, metro and trains all close that can take you anywhere so it didn't really make any difference. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone!

Room Tip: All the rooms are amazing but I guess the higher the better view wise, I was only on the 8th floof...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PaulKenyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BellaSkyComwell, Manager at AC Hotel Bella Sky Copenhagen, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for your good review, it is much appreciated. We will look forward to seeing you here again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
on the move
Level Contributor
56 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

I love scandinavia for many reasons - the people, the food, the social equality etc, but not because of the hotels (go to thailand to find a race born to run hotels)

When in denmark don't expect to be fussed over for its not their way & the hotels keep the staff to the minimum because of the high wages taxes (don't complain because this makes for a better, fairer society & if you get sick you won't have to sell your house to pay the bills)

They are also a matter of fact people which I like very much, but this to some comes over as disinterested.

All the hotels I've stayed in in denmark have been a bit austere (minimalist as the previous review put it) unless you are willing to pay a lot of money.

This hotel fits the same profile with the exception that they have the best, most comfortable beds I've experienced in scandinavia.

The rooms are a bit spartan but they work as they are designed to, good bathrooms & quality
flatscreen tvs. You get what you need.

We stay here to go to the Bella centre for the ciff fashion fair which is perfect (connected to fair buildings). However it is out of the way of the main tourist area of copenhagen. Having said that the train station is right next to it for easy access to central copenhagen (the "wonderful, wonderful copenhagen" of the song). And central copenhagen is great to visit with beautiful old buildings, restraurants & the waterfront, it great. The trade off is the prices & the quality of the hotel rooms.

Having said that this hotel needs to improve the room service menu as there is nothing else around (except the shopping centre half a km away)

I come here for business & it is perfect, if you are coming for a holiday stay in central copenhagen but be ready for the prices & the room size.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank digger2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BellaSkyComwell, Manager at AC Hotel Bella Sky Copenhagen, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for the review. We are glad that you liked our comfortable beds, bathrooms and flat screens. The metro helps to decide between the tradeoff of distance to central Copenhagen and the comfort and price of our hotel vs. other hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

There is norhing wrong in the hotel itself but location is interesting. In the middle of nowhere. However, public transportation takes you easily to city center. Interesting monumental of Denmark's financial crise though. creepy feeling though - huge hotel but not too many clients.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HenryWasteland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BellaSkyComwell, Manager at AC Hotel Bella Sky Copenhagen, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, even though we are not too happy about your title Agreed that we are very much influenced by what is going on in Copenhagen, and we are more busy when Bella Center is busy. Also the cold weather of January seems to make everybody stay inside.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zwolle, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

Nice hotel, clean, neat, connected with the congress hall.
Very stylish and modern. Connection with city cente is realised by railway system/metro. For congres purposes very elegant. For city centre pursposes less suited. the skybar however is awesome, overlooking the entire area with seaviews. Neat staff, Bit sterile though

Room Tip: For congressvenue very nice; rooms high up have terrific view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rutger Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BellaSkyComwell, Manager at AC Hotel Bella Sky Copenhagen, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magdeburg, Germany
Level Contributor
127 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in 5 people. There was a very slow reception process, on top of that we got not the rooms we reserved before the visit. In order change the rooms for correct ones we had to wait for a good hour when young but not very much communicative receptionists where trying to organise the right accomodation.
For the price I awaited a little bit more luxury where us the equipment was really stripped down to minimum (Scandinavian minimalism?)
Since we arrived late (close to 21.30) and were simply hungry we approached the restaurant where we were kindly adviced we will not get anything there 'cause it was about closing, we were sent from one restaurant to the other and at the and we got just something as meal room service.
Breakfast was pretty standard (if not poor) choice, replanishment of bread and other basic things was not working so people were waiting or decided to leave and eat outside the hotel. Travel to the city took a while however Copenhagen is not a crowded metropoly during weekends.
We will not come back there travelling to Denmark capital city again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Krzysztof R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BellaSkyComwell, Manager at AC Hotel Bella Sky Copenhagen, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. The prices of our rooms follow the average of similar hotels in Copenhagen. We are sorry about your opinion of our breakfast buffet; our guests are usually very happy with our selection and quality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#4 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,654 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
#23 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Vesterbro
Copenhagen Marriott Hotel
Copenhagen Marriott Hotel
#9 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,148 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Copenhagen Island Hotel
Copenhagen Island Hotel
#16 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,046 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
First Hotel Mayfair
First Hotel Mayfair
#29 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AC Hotel Bella Sky Copenhagen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Hotel Bella Sky Copenhagen

Property: AC Hotel Bella Sky Copenhagen
Address: Center Boulevard 5, Copenhagen 2300, Denmark (Formerly Bella Sky Comwell)
Phone Number:
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Amager
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Copenhagen
#9 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
#11 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
#12 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
#13 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — AC Hotel Bella Sky Copenhagen 4*
Number of rooms: 812
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit Copenhagen in style when staying in the AC Hotel Bella Sky Copenhagen. Our contemporary hotel provides comfortable accommodations with spacious pet-friendly guest rooms and suites, complimentary high speed Internet access, flat screen televisions with premium channels and many more thoughtful amenities. Ideal for a weekend getaway in Copenhagen, we offer a full-service spa, state-of-the-art fitness center, decadent bars and lounges and a shuttle to Copenhagen Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your AC Hotel Bella Sky Copenhagen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bella Sky Comwell Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing