We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing stroll”
Review of Tivoli Gardens

Tivoli Gardens
Book In Advance
More Info
$25.41*
and up
Copenhagen Canal Tour with Skip-the-Line Entry to Tivoli Gardens
Ranked #2 of 356 things to do in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: From mid-April to mid-September, a world-class amusement park comes to life in the center of Copenhagen. More than two dozen rides await you, in addition to live entertainment and more than 30 eateries.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
121 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Relaxing stroll”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Was a bit hesitated to go as i heard it's mainly for kiddos but how wrong was i! Was impressed by the lay-out of cafes and bistros all over the place. Nice garden to walk about and plenty of catchy shops despite the screaming voices from the roller coaster rides. They have concert on certain nights and performances at different themes. Lovely place to hang out with family and friends but the restaurants are over-priced. Located just opposite the Kobenhavn central station, this Tivoli is not to be missed!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Raymond H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16,986 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8,897
    5,378
    2,049
    451
    211
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“An odd and wonderful place”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

This is one of those "must see" sights in Copenhagen. A mix of 19th and 20th century ideas, architecture, amusements and cafes, with gardens and ponds. It is hard to describe but my husband and I were really glad we visited. It was great to watch teens on the wild rides and toddlers on the old fashioned tiny rides.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JenMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Past glory”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

In my youth - that is the 1970's - i visited the Tivlo gardens as part of a Contiki camping tour. i had good memories of going there so on a recent holiday there with my husband we decided to revisit it. it seemed much the same as 40 years ago with the most noticeable difference being many more amusement rides to go on (for which they charge you extra). the whole place had a tired air about it and as quite expensive to even enter the gardens it is unfortunate that everything you do inside the gardens is also going to cost you extra money. plus Scandinavia is expensive as most travellers know. we had a dreadful and expensive meal at one of the restaurants there too.
Copenhagen we found a really good city to visit with much history and a lot of good attractions but the Tivoli gardens wasn't one of them.
one thing that surprised us was that very few things in Copenhagen were bilingual though hotel/restaurant/tour staff were fluent in english. reading signs and catching public transport was moderately difficult but if we asked, people were always helpful.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Carolynt23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, PA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“You've got to go!”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

To be honest, I wasn't really sure I'd be impressed by Tivoli - but I was wrong! We went for the evening and strolled to enjoy the scenery. The lights, as they came on, created a totally different and charming atmosphere. A pantomime was a new experience for us and a very olde worlde entertainment that made us want to know more about its traditions. The illuminations at the end of the evening were SPECTACULAR - well beyond any expectations I had. For those who might want to enjoy a few rides, the higher, all-inclusive entrance fee would definitely seem to be the way to go.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Expensive tourist trap”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Go here if you like Disneyland. Don't go here if you want to experience Copenhagen.

I found it overpriced and a bad representation of Copenhagen. I'm sure it's really fun though if you REALLY like rollercoasters and you also get a good view of the city on one of the rides... for 1 minute.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Katrinawm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tivoli Gardens also viewed

Copenhagen, Zealand
 

Been to Tivoli Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing