We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent pizza, good service, fun atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mother

Mother
Ranked #209 of 2,311 Restaurants in Copenhagen
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Inner Vesterbro
La Quinta, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent pizza, good service, fun atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Went here on a Friday night during a recent visit to Copenhagen, mostly because we had a 10 year old with us who wasn't interested in something more sophisticated (no surprise there!). It was very busy with mostly locals, a good sign. These are handmade pizzas, with a great crust, The wood fired oven cooks them perfectly. Even though they were very busy they still took the time to make each pizza right, which did mean long wait times for the pies, but we were warned by the waiter of the wait time and I appreciate that they did not sacrifice the quality to get the food out faster. Starter was good, dessert also tasty. Only minor complaint is that my "spicy" pizza toppings were very mild. Price was reasonable.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scott R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,386 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    417
    541
    226
    126
    76
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food, questionable staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

We've been here a lot! And the food is great here. Each time we've been there the food is great, the starters are great and the dessert! On the food side of things, it is great, and there are no complaints. On the weekend they do a brunch buffet, which for Copenhagen at 125 kroner is super cheap and there are loads of options. The issue we have here is with their reservation system and the staff. You can't order a large table without ordering the starters, and then they have a system where you can only drink and not eat, and then after 2 hours or so, you have to leave. Even if you keep ordering drinks, they ask you to leave. While the food is great, the staff is quite frustrating. And can also be quite rude. Sometimes we've had a great time and sometimes we've been asked to leave - so it can a bit of a hit and miss type situations, especially when it comes to the staff and ambiance.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank manyams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mother... Is right!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

Wow, is all I can say about the experience at Mother, located in the old meat packing district in Copenhagen.

With 10 years of experience working in a pizzaria, I have come to know what a good pizza should taste like and Mother has a great product. It is a classic Itallian wood-oven pizza with a slight twist as it uses a sourdough crust. This blend of sourdough, with fresh mozzarella, fresh authentic toppings, and homemade tomato sauce that it top notch, will not let you down. The price is a little high, but I felt that it was worth it. I should note that all prices in Copenhagen are on the high side so compared to the other places we visited that cost was comparable, about 500 Kr, for three people with drinks and one appetizer.

The service was good and the manager (and perhaps owner) was very friendly, checking on us often to ensure our needs were met.

When you are done with trying out the local cuisine and need to just return to the basics of good comfort food, you will find yourself at Mother!

Mark Johnson

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
motherCopenhagen, Owner at Mother, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Mark,

Thanks a lot for th kind words :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Ummmm a bit too hyped-up!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

Just eaten here and whilst the place is funky the food was average.
We booked but had to sit inside or wait another 30 mins to sit outside, 3 pizzas which took 45mins and the veggie one was nothing to write home about.
Staff were nice enough but weren't amused when salt and pepper was asked to add to the veggie pizza.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PLM167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandnes, Norway
Level Contributor
72 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“WOW - the pizza bottoms are to kill for!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

Fantastic pizza, wonderful apetizers and ok prices. It's located in the meatpacking-district, and is well worth a visit. Actually, you shouldn't miss it. STAY clear of the touristy restaurants and go to the local gems. I could fly back to Copenhagen tomorrow just for another piece of their pizza... Service was a bit slow, but hey that place was crowded with pizza lovers. Nice outdoor rustic seating.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank swoosh_N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mother also viewed

 
Copenhagen, Zealand
Copenhagen, Zealand
 
Copenhagen, Zealand
Copenhagen, Zealand
 

Been to Mother? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing