We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food and ambiance”
Review of Mother

Mother
Ranked #207 of 2,378 Restaurants in Copenhagen
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Inner Vesterbro
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very good food and ambiance”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Arrived late on a cold December night but were accommodated warmly. The food was very good. I would happily go back.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank CMaineNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,445 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    437
    560
    234
    132
    82
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great pizza and coffee!”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

I had the pleasure eating here on two occasions on a recent business trip. The pizza was nearly as good as Napoli pizza and it was good to see a nice range of beers on the menu. The service was good and the coffee was really good. No complaints would recommend for a chilled out business lunch or dinner with mates!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“good food - snotty service.”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

wandered by this place - and wandered in on a whim. my wife and i were not too terribly hungry, but thought we could use a snack before having some beers down the road. the food arrived in good time, and was nice. the biggest problem was that our waitress seemed so put off that we only ordered a pizza between the 2 of us. she kept looking at us with disdain, as if she didn't want to fool with our small order. this was probably the worst service that we encountered in all of Copenhagen. would probably go back if it wasn't for this.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank wporter22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere, stingy pizza toppings”
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Ate here on Saturday evening when it was full to the brim. Really nice atmosphere although inside was extremely hot, nice service. The pizzas we ordered had a good base but the toppings were a bit tight, for example my partners pepperoni pizza had 3 small slices of pepperoni on it. The couple next to us had the same pizza and made the same comment so wasn't a one off. Would probably eat here again though as overall it was nice food in a novel and pleasant surroundings

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank simplesimon70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
motherCopenhagen, Owner at Mother, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Hi,

Sorry you felt short-topped. We remember at least one comment about the peperoni/pepperoni
pizza on Saturday and we remade that pizza. Maybe that wasn't you though.
It would have been good if you said something at the time!

That pizza is not just about the peperoni - the slices of spicy salami (normally there are 6 reasonably large slices). There is also the pepperoni (the wood-fire cooked peppers) and scamorza (the smoked cheese) on a margherita base. We take care to try and cover most of the salami with the other ingredients so that it is protected from the intense heat of the oven. If we don't do this it gets dry and hard.
For the same reason we don't put prosciutto through the oven for instance, it goes on the pizza after it is cooked.

Sometimes we get comments about the lack of visible peperoni but it is usually there, somewhat covered but in balance with the other ingredients. It is one of our most popular creations.

Maybe you didn't get your proper share? - we make mistakes! We would have made you a new one if you had let us know.

Thanks for being prepared to give us another go. We do take your opinions seriously and regard
3 stars as a decidedly negative review. Hope to see you again soon!

best regards,

David Biffani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
482 reviews
331 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“Ok pizzas - nice ambiance”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Went here with a colleague, chose from a varied selection of pizzas. Not impressed really. But cool, young clientele. Busy also during a weekday. Limited wine selection. But up and coming area...the Meat City.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yef70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mother also viewed

Copenhagen, Zealand
Copenhagen, Zealand
 
Copenhagen, Zealand
Copenhagen, Zealand
 

Been to Mother? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing