We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Asian food”
Review of The Red Box

The Red Box
Ranked #32 of 3,015 Restaurants in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $48 - $70
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Indre By (Inner City)
Description: Welcome at The Red Box, a modern asian-french fusion restaurant in the heart of Copenhagen with a fashionable situation and a very warm and smiling atmosphere and service. The menus are based on a healty edition of the classic french bistro cuisine with a twist of South-East Asian spices and vegetables. The concept of The Red Box is similar to the best fusion restaurants in New York or San Francisco, reviewers tell us...Our courses are based on the most fresh vegetables, seafood, fish and meat at the market - some of them even organic - and we also are happy to serve you a vegetarian or vegan meal.
Reviewed June 16, 2019

Excellent Asian food. Try the Chef's selection of Japanese and Asian dishes. The atmosphere is cool and modern in this small restaurant. Don't miss the tolilets that even have towels and fragrances to freshen up before and after the meal. Love it.

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Oskar2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (598)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

35 - 39 of 598 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2019 via mobile

Went there after reading trip advisor review. There is no ala cartel menu. They have a three course meal with several choices of appetizers and mains. An alternative is a 15 course tasting menu. The 3course is about $$60 and the 15 is about $75 and it takes 2-3 hrs.

We chose the simple 3 course. We both chose the 5 China starter on the recommendation of the waiter and it was spectacular! Really interesting combinations of ingredients to titillate the taste buds.

My wife had the lamb chops that were very good and I had the duck in Hoison/sweet and sour sauce . Both were very good and there is plenty of the sauce to enjoy with the meat. We had a slight mixup with the dessert and elected to skip it and the bill was reduced accordingly.

The atmosphere was casual but also elegant, the service was good but not intrusive. We really liked this place and if time permits we’ll try the long menu to see how they can combine interesting flavors in a tapas like setting.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank 922DavidD922
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed April 13, 2019 via mobile

We made a reservation, and were seated near the front of this very small narrow restaurant. We have a good view of the goings-on outside. We ordered and received our appetizers all of which were excellent. One of our parties then took sick, so we had to leave. the restaurant was very helpful, and the staff was understanding, and we were not charged for our entrées. This restaurant could not be better.

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank 944S2
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 29, 2019 via mobile

Fantastic food, wine and service. One of the best starters ever; tiger prawns and chili/ginger sauce. White fish as main and then dessert mmmm... 😋 Will go there again!

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank Lisbeth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed December 2, 2018

Group of 5 colleagues from university. One has grown up in China, and commented that several of the 15 taste items that constitute the tasing menu really had the authentic taste from his home province. The dinner and presentation was delightful. Would never have guessed from the outside that such a gem was there.
The whole party must take the set 15 menu if some of you want that.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Flemming V
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travelers who viewed The Red Box also viewed

Copenhagen, Zealand
Copenhagen, Zealand
 

Been to The Red Box? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.