We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“interesting spin on Chinese food in a lovely setting”
Review of The Red Box

The Red Box
Ranked #32 of 3,015 Restaurants in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $48 - $70
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Indre By (Inner City)
Description: Welcome at The Red Box, a modern asian-french fusion restaurant in the heart of Copenhagen with a fashionable situation and a very warm and smiling atmosphere and service. The menus are based on a healty edition of the classic french bistro cuisine with a twist of South-East Asian spices and vegetables. The concept of The Red Box is similar to the best fusion restaurants in New York or San Francisco, reviewers tell us...Our courses are based on the most fresh vegetables, seafood, fish and meat at the market - some of them even organic - and we also are happy to serve you a vegetarian or vegan meal.
Reviewed September 2, 2018

We were in the mood for some Chinese foods and found this place the last minute and did not have any expectation. We are quite used to excellent Chinese foods in "hole in a wall" kind of places back in the States so we were expecting the same. Much to our surprise, this is an intimate, albeit small, and tastefully decorated place with excellent service. There was a relatively big party so we expected service to be slow but it was not the case at all. We tried the 2 course dinner and everything was delicious. We had prawns for starter and pan fried fish for entrée. The portion was generous and everything was beautifully presented, almost too pretty to eat. Our waiter was simply lovely, explained everything in details. It was a perfect ending after a day of sightseeing in this wonderful city.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SeattleEcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (598)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

48 - 52 of 598 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2018

The Red Box has an interesting concept: the food is chinese-french, you either have the 15-course tasting menu or you choose a 2- or 3-course meal à la carte. It's not a big menu (what we love!), the food was just delicious, the presentation fabulous.
The service staff was very attentive and nice.
Since the place it quite small it's probably good to reserve an table in advance.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 386tinap
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 26, 2018 via mobile

Fabulous 15 course tasting menu with 6 courses of wine. So many flavours, very hard to specify. Beautifully prepared and superb, attentive, charming service. Wey well looked after. Fancied Asian fusion. Red Box more than delivered. Highly recommend you make a point of visiting.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Kirstin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 13, 2018 via mobile

I booked a table to try this restaurant. Restaurant is rather small and when I entered the staff was friendly and took a good care of me and first thing was a hot towel for hand cleaning.

I chose 2 courses for food after waiter explained all the options well. I took 5 small from China as a starter and spicy sauce with tenderloin for a main course.

Before starters I got 2 dishes from the kitchen - spring roll and some shrimp cocktail. Both were really good. 5 from China included Calamari, scallops, crab, fish etc. The waiter recommended also what order those could be eaten. Tastes were really delicous.

Main course meat was perfectly cooked and all tastes were in nice harmony. I also had a glass of great Ripasso red wine with food.

I didnt need to wait food long, staff was friendly and food & wine excellent. I would definitely recommend this restaurant.

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank Timo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 29, 2018

I was in Copenhagen in early June and we were looking for somewhere to eat with good food, but off the main road along the canal where most people were eating. Stumbled across this gem of a restaurant. We liked it immediately because it was small, the entire front door/window opened to the fresh air and they were able to accommodate someone with Celiac. The food was described as French/Asian fusion. Our server, Rina (originally from California) was spectacular. She walked us through every dish with a specific emphasis on the ones she could easily accommodate for the allergy and she ensured she would speak directly to the chef to avoid cross contamination. The food was excellent, the wine was very good and the server was the best! It was like chatting with a friend. We even joked and told her she should sit with us at our table :). She didn't, of course, she was too busy. It isn't a cheap restaurant, but we all thought it was worth every penny. Will definitely go back the next time I am in Copenhagen.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank susanet149
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travelers who viewed The Red Box also viewed

Copenhagen, Zealand
Copenhagen, Zealand
 

Been to The Red Box? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.