We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent, but...”
Review of The Red Box

The Red Box
Ranked #32 of 3,015 Restaurants in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $48 - $70
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Indre By (Inner City)
Description: Welcome at The Red Box, a modern asian-french fusion restaurant in the heart of Copenhagen with a fashionable situation and a very warm and smiling atmosphere and service. The menus are based on a healty edition of the classic french bistro cuisine with a twist of South-East Asian spices and vegetables. The concept of The Red Box is similar to the best fusion restaurants in New York or San Francisco, reviewers tell us...Our courses are based on the most fresh vegetables, seafood, fish and meat at the market - some of them even organic - and we also are happy to serve you a vegetarian or vegan meal.
Reviewed June 29, 2018

the food was excellent, the wine was good, the bill was hefty, and the noise was unbearable... I once thought Scandinavians are cool and quiet, but obviously Danish are not Scandinavians. I left with a nice feeling in my stomache, but a bad headache. maybe you choose a quite evening to come here and to enjoy the delicious food.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Roland B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (598)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

54 - 58 of 598 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2018 via mobile

The restaurant is very small. And once we arrived we wasn’t even sure if we are in the right place. But it was pretty crowded after 7 pm.
We went with tasting menu. It was amazing.
So many tasty things, all different and you feel the Chinese flavor in all of them.
The staff was great during the evening but in the end they got busy with the other customers and we ended up waiting 20 minuets for the bill.
But summery it is a nice place to have a wonderful dinner. After tasting menu you are not hungry but also not crazy full, not like you have to unbutton your jeans.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank NadiaTrofimchuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 18, 2018 via mobile

As a couple we had dinner here when we were vacationing in Copenhagen. There were two servers who took care of all the tables and they did a wonderful job- efficient and friendly but not hovering. Each one explained our food items as they were presented. I had a wonderful tiger prawns starter- spicy and the prawns were so fresh! My husband had a starter plate with five different items and each was delicious. The wine list is limited but an appropriate pairing can indeed be found. I had a perfectly prepared beef tenderloin over asparagus and eggplant. My husband had a very generous portion of well prepared hake- also very fresh! We didn’t have room for dessert but they looked wonderful. Definitely a must when in this area of Copenhagen!

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank 626terrif
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 2, 2018 via mobile

Service, presentation, flavour and variety describes the very positive dining experience we had. Not cheap but good value

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Lesley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 18, 2018 via mobile

We had a fabulous meal here! Everything was perfect, from the freshly scented hot towel we were given to wash our hands with when seated, to the beautiful, amazing food and charmig and attentive service. Don't hurry your visit here, take your time to truly enjoy the food and atmosphere. This place is truly first class through and through, yet manages to stay totally un-pretentious. Possibly the best restaurant I've ever visited!

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travelers who viewed The Red Box also viewed

Copenhagen, Zealand
Copenhagen, Zealand
 

Been to The Red Box? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.