We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Stay”
Review of STAY Copenhagen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
STAY Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Westchester County NY
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic Stay”
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

Spent 5 nights at Stay and it was a great experience. We had a loft space that was enormous with a fully appointed kitchen, table for 6, our own laundry room with washer, dryer, iron, hanging rack and fully glasses in shower. Contemporary design by HAY( black furniture and spare and sleek) with a gorgeous and peaceful harbor view. There is a full grocery (Irma) right at the street level,
Beds were great. Large seating area with two sofas and a huge TV. Felt like we were living like urban Danes for the week!
Front desk staff really nice and helpful and there is a real gym, not the usual tiny hotel gym. We were able to work out every morning, have a coffee and fantastic rolls and bread at the bakery, wash our clothes and bike/ take bus or harbor ferry into the center of Copenhagen with ease.
My suggestions: provide guests with paper towels and kitchen soap to clean up after cooking, the room needs more light ( Copenhagen in October is dark enough), offer a primer on how to use the appliances and especially the lights( the controls drove us nuts till we learned how to use them, then it was easy).
Also, provide or sell small portions of laundry soap to wash clothes.
This is not a place for someone who requires someone else to pamper them but for someone who wants a little more of the feel of Copenhagen life.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank AAvidan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    115
    43
    12
    13
See reviews for
84
121
13
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
176 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Since 2010 I´ve been here every time I go to Copenhagen. The hotel is situated in downtown just across the "fish market". Stay is a unique hotel designed from an old industrial building. The hotel offers a store, work out room, breakfast/cocktail bar, bakery and a huge terrace. If I´m not mistaken the terrace is the largest in Copenhagen. All rooms are equipped for residential use, you can live as you do at home.

Pricewise the hotel is fair, and value wise this place is without competition.

My best regards and recommendations for Stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CRNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

had a great weekend. we loved the style and space. staff really friendly and helpfull. we like to walk and were in the centre in 25 minutes on the first dat. second day we rented bikes and cycled everywhere which we love to do. would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reefgriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed here for 6 nights and loved it. We had a spacious penthouse apartment on the 6th floor with superb views of the canal. It was stylish, warm, and incredibly quiet. Only one other door on our floor, and we were separated by an elevator. Being away from the city center noise is really great. The staff at STAY was excellent, and the onsite amenities, such as bike rental, were a real plus. The hotel is about 20-25 minutes walk to the city center, or a 10-minute bike ride. This is the most bike friendly city in the world; get the bikes and see it all. Downstairs, there is an organic bakery, organic grocery store and several good restaurants - ideal for a light meal when a long day of touring makes you not want to go out again at night.

Yes, there were a few things I would like to have had: bathrobes, kleenex, and a not-so-shallow sink in the bathroom. But this is an eco-friendly place and that's fine with me too.

Room Tip: ask for a high floor with harbor views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynne l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 2, 2013

For the view alone it is worth it. But the fact is that we needed to get business papers faxed to Canada and they were very helpful. We were in building 7 unit 608 and the housekeeping was very good. The negative points listed such as lack of light, no soap, no kleenex, no paper towels, no clock, bad pillows,no direct phone line, no instructions manual for appliances, no safe deposit, some key elements missing in the kitchen tools, etc are real but it is more a management problem than a personnel problem. The location for us, tourists, was perfect if you do not mind walking a little (safe and interesting) otherwise you could use the ferry station ($). The loft is modern,spacious, and appealed to my taste (all black and white). Amenities such as free parking, the gym, the organic grocery store with wine and alcool, the French and Italian restaurants, the bakery were all positives points in our case. Now, if management wants to address the issues mentioned by several TA reviewers it will be exceptional at every level. I am not including any pictures since the one provided on the official websites are accurate.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChantalYolande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

1 point for it's room space, and probably the only thing I am happy about.
There's no proper lighting in the room, so you can't do anything reading at night. The brightest light is in the bathroom.
There's no safe deposit box in room. Please don't carry value item or excessive cash if you will stay there.
Housekeepers dont take away my garbage regularly. Usually the trash is cleared every the other time when my room was served.
Beddings are of low quality in general.
No fixed line telephone.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank A C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Positives:
The room itself was spacious and decent. It's nice in the morning and afternoon with the natural light. In the evening/night, it was so dark with very few lights available. Personally, I would not recommend if you have little kids. The bed is decent, but pillows and towels were so limited.

Negatives:
The cleaning can certainly be improved, dirty dishes were left out. We were hoping they set the proper expectation had they wanted the guests to wash the dishes.

We had to buy paper towel as there was none available.

There was no direct phone line to the reception so we had to go back and forth, up and down when we have questions or needs.

The main door was really really really hard to open (not sure if it's specific to the building # 13). We ran into another guest who were having hard time to open the door as we did. It's just not good in the event of fire.

Staffs were just OK. It seemed that there were no communications between the staffs.
One example:
We realized that we left our baby pillow on the bed and we called the reception in the afternoon and we were asked to call back in the morning. We called again in the morning and we were asked to call back in the afternoon, we called in the afternoon, we were told to call back at night. We just called again at night and we were asked to call again in the morning. We finally gave up.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank D C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Oesterbro
Adina Apartment Hotels Copenhagen
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,765 reviews
Outer Vesterbro
Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
#23 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,809 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Nimb Hotel
Nimb Hotel
#3 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to STAY Copenhagen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about STAY Copenhagen

Property: STAY Copenhagen
Address: Islands Brygge 79A, Copenhagen 2300, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Amager
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 38 Specialty Lodging in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — STAY Copenhagen 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
STAY Copenhagen offers modern design apartments located on Islands Brygge - Copenhagen's up and coming harbor area just 2 km from Tivoli garden and Town hall square. The stylish apartments, ranging between 65m2 studio apartments and 145m2 three-bedroom apartments, are fully furnished by Danish design brand HAY. Housed in a converted industry building from the mid-1900s, STAY Copenhagen is a great example of how old and new can come together to create an atmosphere of wonderful Scandinavian minimalism. The spacious apartments offer fully equipped kitchens, including dishwasher, washing machine, dryer, and a large flat-screen TV. STAY offers underground parking facilities with direct access to the apartments, free WiFi everywhere, a huge in-house gym exclusive to guests, and on top of it all, - one of the largest rooftop terraces in Scandinavia. The cafe next to reception serves a delicious organic breakfast in the morning, and is a popular meeting place for a beer or a glass of wine in the afternoon. Other dining options in the building include a sushi restaurant, an Italian restaurant, and gourmet takeaway on the ground floor. For guests wishing to prepare their own meals - an eco-friendly supermarket is conveniently located in the building. Guests in the mood to explore the surroundings areas can rent a bicycle in the reception or take a relaxing walk in the Amager Falled Park just next door. A few hundred meters from reception is a harbor bus stop, from where the boat travels to Nyhavn and beyond. STAY Copenhagen is within 15 minutes' walk of Dybboelsbro rail station and there is a bus stop just around the corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your STAY Copenhagen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing