We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fantabulous . . . great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of STAY Copenhagen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
STAY Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Germany
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“fantabulous . . . great stay”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We spent 2 lovely nights/days in a Loft. We really enjoyed and appreciated the big open space and modern furnishings. Very modern, quiet and really comfortable. The building is all glass, free parking underground, very safe. Check in was a breeze . . . lovely friendly staff and helpful. Breakfast and Fitness center is available but we did not get a chance to try it. The kitchen is equipped with everything you could possible need. We love brewing our own coffee and coffee maker and coffee are provided. We cooked our own breakfast. Enjoyed watching english programs on the big digital flat screen tv. The view from the loft, overlooking the canal and the harbour is really nice. There is a gourmet store next door, where you can buy everything you need. There is also a bakery downstairs, japanese and italian restaurants. The waterbus stop is a 5 minutes walk and it takes you to the city center. We walked to the center the first day and it took us 20 minutes but it was a nice walk along the harbor. We really felt at home -- there's even a washing/dryer in the loft, just like home. We definitely recommend and will definitely stay here again whenever in Copenhagen.

What we did not find helpful is the clear glass door/divider for the shower and in front of the bed - a bit uncomfortable due to lack of privacy. At night time, it is necessary to close all the drapes especially the side facing the other appartments - you really can see through each appartments at night time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dwild2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    115
    43
    12
    13
See reviews for
84
121
13
68
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

For us, part of traveling is staying in and experiencing things that are different from where we live and what we do at home. STAY was a great location for our family to stay during a three night trip to Copenhagen. True, it is some distance from the centre of town, but if you hop onto the tourist hop-on-hop-off boat, on the canal, a five minute walk away, you are in the centre of the action in no time. The walk from central locations like Tivoli, or even the closest metro station, take 20 minutes to 30 minutes but are pleasant to do. The flats in the hotel are huge--which is a nice touch when you've been out and about all day and want a relaxing place to come home to where everyone can spread out. We liked the minimalist decor--it isn't something that we would do in our own home, but afterall, it is another "Danish" aspect of the property. If you are on holiday to experience something different, want loads of space and the experience of a Danish flat, then stay here.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank ThorCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
89 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in the highly rated by Trip Advisor,Stay apartments in Copenhagen.
The apartments are in a huge block of flats - check in/reception is in entrance 7,our apartment was in entrance 13 ,about 200 meters up the street.
So after unloading our three suitcaes at the reception we found ourselves rolling our cases up the street in the chilly evening.When we finally found our entrance we couldn't get the downstairs entrance door to open with our room key.
There are no intercoms ro the reception so I had to run back to the receptionisy yo ask for assistance.I was met with a shrug and a blank stare - "figure it out,i can't come over to help you as i am on my own tonight and i cannot leave the front desk".
When i expressed my expectation that a hotel should at least afford it's guests entrance to their room,the response was the quote in the headline!
We finally managed to open the doors and get to our room.
The loft is big and bare - roomy,which is nice but why on earth would you have a glass partition to the shower whih is in full view of the whole loft ? especially embarassing for teenage kids who are not comfortable with this much intimacy with their parents.
The location is about 15-20 minutes from central Copenhagen.
All in all - for a young couple or a longer stay = STAY might be OK.
For us,we already decided not to return and to book something more central when we end our Scandinavian tour in end august.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Omri L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

I enjoyed myself at STAY - it was certainly different. As other people have pointed out storage and air-conditioning are problems. I endured the most dreadful "summer week" of coldness, winds and clouds I have ever known (even compared with the worst England can throw at me).
The hotel's reasonably close to the Islands Brygge metro, which is a short trip from the airport (just one easy change). I timed myself on arrival (sad, I know) dragging a heavy suitcase and it took me 23 minutes, which seemed like far more down the long road which is Islands Brygge. Still, you can nip around the side roads and sample the delights of "Netto" with "B for Beer" at 60 pence a can! The supermarket next door to the hotel, "Irma", is quite friendly and reasonable value too.

I'm an insomniac but I did get slightly disturbed by people chatting outside at 4 in the morning. Perhaps they were waiting for the sun to rise? (Ha-bloody-ha) No omments on the bed as I can sleep (badly) anywhere.

The gym and the wi-fi were excellent, which are always my major concerns - apart from locating cheap beer. I eventually found my fridge amongst all the other closed compartments in the apartment, and tried not to make a mess unwrapping my staples of bread, meat, cheese and yoghurts.

The view was fairly dreadful, although I normally like water - but not clouds, and what looked like a disused car park. I would assume that this area will be developed in future.

Just a weird note to finish. On my last day my toothbrush and toothpaste disappeared! Unfortunately, I left too early to resolve the matter with housekeeping. I was just intrigued, although Colgate Total ain't cheap. Oh yes, I was thinking about an early morning call as a back-up for my mobile, but then spotted (!) (Danish minimalism?) that there were no phones in the room, and anyway Reception didn't come on until 7.00

I liked it, but next time I will find somewhere more central - and already have for next month, as I'm determined to sample Copenhagen with a modicum of sunshine!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank johnrath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We spent 3 nights in a loft apartment at Stay and found it to be an amazing experience. I'd read the description online and the reviews. But it isn't until you actually see it, that you appreciate just how huge these apartments really areI We like modern minimalist style and often fantasise about living in a warehouse conversion. So we were immediately smitten. We had also been staying in various hotel rooms elsewhere Europe for several weeks. So having such a space with water views to just hangout in was a godsend. But clearly this is not for everyone. We agree with others that air con and phone access would be welcome additions. Supplying some apartment basics like dishwashing and washing machine detergent could also be expected at the price. Wifi coverage was also very variable. But we loved the location, the ferry, which cruised along what is a very interesting waterway, being a wonderful way to start the sightseeing day. The restaurants nearby: Japanese and Italian (Scarpetta), were also great. There was enough storage space and some water on the bathroom floor did not detract as far as we were concerned. We would definitely go back but try to make it longer next time.

Room Tip: Go for a room with water view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sydneygal007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed in a Copenhagen Loft (9601) for three nights. The style is most unlikely to suit most people. All in all the complex is quite good, but falls short of what you would expect from an apartment hotel of this rating.

Pros:

Well equipped: most things you could need.

Large space: in fact huge!

Comfortable beds

Reasonable shower: glass fronted on to main living space. May not suit sharers.

Clean


Cons:

No safe: it felt uncomfortable not being able to lock away passports and valuables.

No air conditioning: even with an outdoor temperature of 22C the room was stiflingly hot, meaning the sliding doors had to be left open all night. Not much good if you’re a light sleeper.

Noise: the complex is partly residential flats. We were kept awake until after 3am with excessive noise from the neighbours.

Lighting: the room was poorly lit, especially over the dining table.

Distance: 35 minute walk in to the centre or 10 minute taxi ride (costs app 100DKK).

Tips:

Ferry shuttle: 5 mins walk from complex and leaves every 30 mins or so. Costs approx 24DKK per person one way. Stops along the river bank. This was an excellent service.

Supermarkets: Although 'Irma' the supermarket under the apartments is very nice, 'Netto' (Axel Heides Gade) is half the price and only a 10 mintute walk away.

Buying bottles: Note that you are charged an additional fee on top of the shelf price when you buy bottled drinks. This will be refunded when the bottles are returned to the shop. 'Irma' has a clever machine that does this.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank martyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
208 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 437 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

You have to be clear on what you are in for and then, if you are up for that, the Stay is awesome.

Location.
It is not that close to Copenhagen tourist stuff by foot. If you do as we did and rent a bike, you are set. Great way to get around. There is also an excellent water bus that will take you over to where you want to be. Very fun way to get around, but you have to pay attention to the schedule or you could be in for a wait or even stranded. And, a taxi is also a decent option. Not that expensive from the tourist areas.

Decor/Layout
The rooms are huge, which is great. The views are great, which is also great. However, it is pretty sterile, concrete and no adornments. We loved it.

Gym
Fantastic. A rarity for a hotel these days.

Breakfast
Not too good. Very spartan and not that cheap for what you get. This is something they could, and should, fix immediately.

However, a great sushi place next door.

Oh, and don't go early to get your room. It took forever for ours to be ready, about 4 p.m. or a bit later.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mattkorey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Oesterbro
Adina Apartment Hotels Copenhagen
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#5 of 116 in Copenhagen
1,704 reviews
Outer Vesterbro
Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
#22 of 116 in Copenhagen
3,744 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Nimb Hotel
Nimb Hotel
#7 of 116 in Copenhagen
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to STAY Copenhagen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about STAY Copenhagen

Property: STAY Copenhagen
Address: Islands Brygge 79A, Copenhagen 2300, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Amager
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — STAY Copenhagen 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
STAY Copenhagen offers modern design apartments located on Islands Brygge - Copenhagen's up and coming harbor area just 2 km from Tivoli garden and Town hall square. The stylish apartments, ranging between 65m2 studio apartments and 145m2 three-bedroom apartments, are fully furnished by Danish design brand HAY. Housed in a converted industry building from the mid-1900s, STAY Copenhagen is a great example of how old and new can come together to create an atmosphere of wonderful Scandinavian minimalism. The spacious apartments offer fully equipped kitchens, including dishwasher, washing machine, dryer, and a large flat-screen TV. STAY offers underground parking facilities with direct access to the apartments, free WiFi everywhere, a huge in-house gym exclusive to guests, and on top of it all, - one of the largest rooftop terraces in Scandinavia. The cafe next to reception serves a delicious organic breakfast in the morning, and is a popular meeting place for a beer or a glass of wine in the afternoon. Other dining options in the building include a sushi restaurant, an Italian restaurant, and gourmet takeaway on the ground floor. For guests wishing to prepare their own meals - an eco-friendly supermarket is conveniently located in the building. Guests in the mood to explore the surroundings areas can rent a bicycle in the reception or take a relaxing walk in the Amager Falled Park just next door. A few hundred meters from reception is a harbor bus stop, from where the boat travels to Nyhavn and beyond. STAY Copenhagen is within 15 minutes' walk of Dybboelsbro rail station and there is a bus stop just around the corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your STAY Copenhagen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing