We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good quality vacation at a good price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tivoli Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tivoli Hotel
Ranked #25 of 119 Hotels in Copenhagen
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good quality vacation at a good price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Good familie vacation and a very reasonable price.
Very good including breakfast buffet.
Excelent hotel restaurant, big buffet, lots of freash fish.
Fantastic roof restaurant, every one must try. 2 adults and 2 children only 100 euro nice experience. SticksN'sushi is the best

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DenconCenter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    750
    1,001
    417
    133
    64
See reviews for
852
610
48
497
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Carlow, Ireland
Level Contributor
109 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

I've stayed here every week for 14 weeks so I have experienced the good and the bad:
The Good:
- Location. The location is central, approx 10 min walk to Tivoili Gardens and the Central train station. It's also a short stroll to a shopping center and close to another train stop.
- Concierge/Front Desk Staff. Both are friendly and helping with the concierge being on top
- Sticks & Sushi. I haven't personally eaten there but the comments from colleagues are all good. It also has a very cool rooftop bar.
- Breakfast. Breakfast is buffet style and has most things you would want. I don't like the fact though the the yogurt is served in a large bowl rather than individual containers.

The Bad:
- Restaurant. I didn't eat here often but some of the staff need to improve! Service can be very hit and miss from the waiters to the wait time from kitchen. I can't fault the food though.
- Rooms. This is why I didn't rate the hotel higher. The rooms are quiet small but I can live with that. In most of the rooms I stayed in, the air-con barely worked. I rarely had a good air-con unit and during the summer you need it. The beds for me were not comfortable, but I'll accept that beds are very personal. The pillows are just awful, probably the worst part of the hotel. They are square and extremely soft. Several colleagues had issues with the pillows. Tivoli, why don't you offer a choice of Pillows like Holiday Inn's? And finally the curtains. They are far too light and hence let in light. It's the first hotel I had to bring an eye mask with me to try and sleep.

Hotels are first and foremost a place to sleep so this is why I didn't give it a higher rating. If some of those areas were improved then I would have no issue with it.

Room Tip: Go high up to try and avoid noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ASarge77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haugesund, Norway
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

This hotel is a great family hotel during the summertime. With a special aria where kids can play with many different activities.... Clean rooms, good breakfast, pool and gym. The hotel Is located near the Tivoli in Copenhagen, bus stops out sight the hotel every 20 minutes so you get there easily.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank margretrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

The staff were very friendly and helpful in giving me ideas of what to do in Copenhagen in such a short time. After a 36 hour flight, the bed and shower was amazing! The lady at the front desk also showed intrest in where I was from and what I was doing here. I would stay again!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aleea10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Summertime in this congress center is great for kids. Our teenagers ejoyed the hotel (especially the gym, pool and the 12th floor bar) as well. Location little further from the center is fine if you rent a bike from the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiproiskis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodo, Norway
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We booked a family room at the Tivoli Hotel as part of a package deal from DFDS, the cruise line between Oslo and Copenhagen. Even though we were aware that the hotel, despite its name, was not located in the direct vicinity of the Tivoli Gardens, we were somewhat surprised by the walking distance to the hotel from the city centre.

However, the walk was not a problem, but we found the area the hotel is located in to be very dull for a holiday trip - the surrounding buildings were mainly tall office buildings, and there were no street life, kiosks, shops etc. Given this, and the overall impression that the hotel is mainly a business/conference hotel (apart from the themed colours and decors), we did not quite see why the hotel had "Tivoli" in its name. We read from other reviews that the hotel is supposed to be very oriented towards children, but we couldn't see any good reasons why this should be. Though we should say that we only spent one night and did not try all the hotel's facilities such as the pool.

We arrived a couple of hours before normal check-in time, exhausted from a long walk in the summer heat, and agreed to upgrade to a themed room for some 350 DKK to get an earlier check-in. We were told this roomer was also a bit larger, but if this room was larger than the family rooms (that we had booked), the family rooms have to be really small. This room was standard size, no more. We have to say that we don't really know what price we paid in total for the room, as it was part of the cruise package.

The theming of the room was merely some colourful paint and decor above the bed. Other than that, the room was nice with a bathtub and floor-to-ceiling windows with a view to some office buildings and the river. We had some trouble with overly persistent housekeeping staff, they almost forced their way into the room despite our protests since we were just about to undress and shower after the long walk.

The breakfast buffet was in the conference hall, and had a good selection, the only thing missing was fried eggs. And in a hotel this standard one could wish that they avoided the usual water-and-powder scrambled eggs, although sadly this is the standard most places, so Tivoli Hotel is no worse than others.

Having said all this, the Tivoli Hotel is not at all a bad hotel: it is new with a stylish design, the reception staff were helpful and nice, and the hotel has many facilities like pool and roof-top bar (which we did not visit). Our disappointment is just that with "Tivoli" in the name, and looking for a hotel for a holiday trip to Copenhagen, we expected more of a family hotel in a bit more central location. The main problem was that it is located in a business district, for other visitors this might not be relevant at all.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank knollogtott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Châtel-Saint-Denis, Switzerland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We went to this hotel especially for the swimming pool and child oriented.
Swimming pool was very nice but very crowded. The children play ground was a bit poor.
The room was quiet, but the mattress were too flabby, almost like a water bed.
The room floor was very dusty for a 5* (a problem with the vacuum ?).
The staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Philippe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Copenhagen Island Hotel
Copenhagen Island Hotel
#17 of 119 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 stars 1,790 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Copenhagen Marriott Hotel
Copenhagen Marriott Hotel
#7 of 119 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 stars 877 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Scandic Palace Hotel
Scandic Palace Hotel
#18 of 119 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 stars 1,625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
#21 of 119 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 stars 3,309 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
First Hotel Mayfair
First Hotel Mayfair
#31 of 119 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 stars 1,871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tivoli Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tivoli Hotel

Property: Tivoli Hotel
Address: Arni Magnussons Gade 2, Copenhagen 1577, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Inner Vesterbro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 119 Hotels in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tivoli Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 679
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the first themed hotel in Copenhagen – Tivoli Hotel & Congress Center. Designed with a twist of Tivoli Gardens and modern Scandinavian design. Whilst you discover wonderful Copenhagen, we will do our best to make your stay comfortable and enchanting. After a long day of sightseeing or meetings, you can dive into our beautiful pool, relax in the sauna, or use the fitness centre before having dinner and enjoying the most beautiful views of Copenhagen from our Sky Bar restaurant. If you feel like going beyond the guide books traditional must visit attractions, our Concierge - Currently the President of Les Clefs d’Or Denmark - will be pleased to recommend the best spots in Copenhagen.Tivoli Hotel & Congress Center is situated 800 meters from the Central Station and the Tivoli Gardens. If your feet need a rest, we recommend you to use the public bus 11A which departs approximately every 15 minutes right outside the hotel and takes you to all the main attractions of Copenhagen within minutes. We look forward to enchanting you at Tivoli Hotel & Congress Center! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Tivoli Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing