We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique!”
Review of Hotel CPH Living

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel CPH Living
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Unique!”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

A very unique and special experience for sure! The boat is tiny so keep that in mind but that being said...The room itself was bigger then I expected. By no means large but room for 2 people and your bags. The shower was actually one of the bigger I have seen in Europe with excellent water pressure. Not a ton of privacy though so I probably won't recommend it to people not super comfortable around each other! Small but filling breakfast buffet, mainly breads and yummy danish! Breakfast can be eaten upstairs on the deck (up a spiral staircase). It was too cold to spend a ton of time on the deck but I imagine its lovely in the summer time.
Our luggage was lost and the hotel staff was very helpful in letting us use their phone and helping translate.
The only downside is the location. During the summer it wouldn't have been an issue but in the colder months the 20-30 min walk to downtown seemed a bit long. It's maybe 10 min to Christiania. But the overall experience made up for the location!
*I was 7 months pregnant during our visit and had been concerned about possible rocking of the boat but it was totally a non-issue.

Room Tip: All rooms face the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jess1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    92
    22
    5
    2
See reviews for
21
151
11
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for a different experience other than a regular hotel this may be for you! Centrally located. Small with 12 cosy rooms which are clean,warm and secure. Bathroom facilities may not suit everyone as only glass door/partition separates from sleeping area. Continental Breakfast is adequate. Quiet and intimate setting with nice views up and down the river. In our opinion would not suit families with small children. Staff friendly and helpful. We found Copenhagen an expensive city for food and drink. An enjoyable few days.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Flyerboy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
377 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Alternative accomodation on the water. This hotel ship is well situated on the main canal away from the buzz, but still in walking distance to most restaurants and sights. Also this place might get you to experience nice areas and some lovely restaurants in Islands brygge or Christianshavn. Two less frequented parts of Copenhagen by the average tourist.

The hotel is relatively small but the rooms are not. You feel like in a boat cabin and it all got a maritime feel about it. Breakfast is simple, but enough to fill you up before the days adventure starts. I would say a few slices of tomato or some cucumber would have helped.

All in all this hotel is about the alternative way of living. To lay in your bed watching the canal life pass by is great. We loved it.

Room Tip: Don't think floors matter much. A little better view on the top, but closer to the water on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank high_low73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tehran
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

the hotel is an old barge with lovely view , close to city center , large shower but it's visible from the room , great roof deck , it would be wonderfully i think in the summer , the room will get a lot of light . but hotel is great!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hnouri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
109 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

This was an entertaining alternative to a regular hotel with our 7-year-old. The room was a bit cramped with the extra bed, but we really enjoyed seeing kayaks, water buses, and birds float by at eye level. Breakfast is simple but quite sufficient before heading into town, and we appreciated the always-on cappuccino/hot chocolate machine. The staff was completely friendly, but there really isn't usual "service" as you would expect in a hotel. Lovely roof deck from which to watch the city. Nice quiet place and really not that inconvenient -- just a pleasant 10-minute walk over the bridge and you head to Tivoli, water bus, etc.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
171 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This hotel is an old barge that has been converted into 12 rooms, 6 on water level and 6 on the next. All rooms face the water. There is a sun deck on the top where you can have breakfast if it is not too windy or raining. When we were there it was sunny and warm. Breakfast is basic and everything you use is disposable. It is a 10 minute walk into the main city area. The rooms are very simple, there are no extras provided at all, and at that time of year get very hot in the afternoon. Trouble is once you open up the door and window to enjoy the view and get some fresh air, you are on display to every boat that goes past. There is NO privacy. The blinds do not block out so in summer the room is quite light at night. The hotel is right near a busy bridge so there is rattling traffic noise and people in boats sound their horns and call out to get your attention. It is like being in a fish bowl. The bathroom even has a glass door and glass where you shower so if you have the door to the water open for the reasons given above, everyone who passes by in their boats can see you! In July the canal was full of boats and coming from a city that also has a harbour, we were amazed that there were no water police in sight as boats were at times full speed, with people drinking and music blaring through the night. The view when you weren't trying to sleep was nice although there is a construction site on the opposite shore and luckily we were out sight seeing most of the day.

Room Tip: The upper level rooms may give more privacy although there are narrow winding stairs if you have sui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sueand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Mo.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for three nights. The room was comfortable with a good size bathroom. The hotel is about a 15 minute walk across the bridge to Tivoli Gardens and the main square. Coffee, tea, and pastries are served in the reception area every morning.
What was seriously lacking was any kind of service. The room was usually just vacuumed and the comforter thrown over the unmade bed. If you left towels on the floor, they would just be refolded and hung on the towel rack. There was never anybody around if you had questions about restaurants, the best tours to take, etc... The day we left, we barely got a "goodbye" from the guy. He never thanked us or asked us if we enjoyed our stay. I really don't know how they stay in business, aside from the fact that it is kind of a novelty hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dadnked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,765 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
#23 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,809 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#7 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#2 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#9 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,256 reviews
Outer Vesterbro
Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel CPH Living? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel CPH Living

Property: Hotel CPH Living
Address: Langebrogade 1 C, Copenhagen 1411, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Christianshavn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 38 Specialty Lodging in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel CPH Living 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Floating hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel CPH Living reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing