We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wakeup Copenhagen Carsten Niebuhrs Gade
Ranked #38 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
New York
Level Contributor
239 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Decent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2009

Hotel is clean and stylish but amenities are minimal. Breakfast was mostly meat and bread. No phones anywhere but good wireless. Business Center has no fax machine. Location close to center of town but in middle of construction site. Staff nice.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sojourn3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,702 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    553
    1,308
    592
    163
    86
See reviews for
312
1,118
290
450
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2009

This is a fabulous hotel and well worth the stay. I paid the equivalent of $150.00 for 1 night, including breakfast. I took the train from the airport, it cost 63 Kronor for a round trip. The Copenhagen train station is only 3 stops from the airport, so when you get off the train take the escalator up and at the top of the escalator turn right. Once outside the train station turn right again. The hotel is approx 7 mins walk. Check in was swift, and the only small inconvenience was that the Receptionist told me that breakfast was at 7, This is confirmed in print on the room key wallet, however, when i went down to breakfast the next day at 7 i found that breakfast is served from 6.30. If you are a vegan or a vegetarian the breakfast includes fruit and bread rolls, and that's it. Carnivores will get there 10 kronors worth.I booked and paid for a 'heaven' room online. I was lucky that I had a corner room, so I had two windows. A big crane from a building site opposite obscured the view, but from the other window, next to the bed, it was lovely to lie in bed and the only thing you can see is clouds. Check out was also swift as it was self serve. The price, the colours, the decor, the location, the design, the comfy bed and cover is just right. A perfect stay.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janetmbau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2009

My husband and I were looking for a clean bright mid range hotel in Copenhagen and could only find expensive hotels or dingy looking dull hotels.... Chanced upon wake up and then read the few reviews available (mixed), but decided to take a leap of faith.....


PLEASANTLY surprised.....hotel is in fantastic location, around 600-800 mtrs from Central station and on the Island Brygges, so around 100 mtrs walking from Mariott and exceptional prices....very cheap .

We paid for a Wake up SKY but checked in late and a small request to the recption ensured us one of the best rooms on the 8th floor...very happy about that. Ladies at reception who were only too eager to help and advise.

Room - Very neat and clean - bright lights and modern fittings....WHITE linen (maybe as the hotel is new), and extra linen in the bed drawers...

BED huge and extremely comfortable....the Large LCD TV was a boon to tired eyes...and the view from our rooms were open but largely overlooking construction as there is just alot of construction around that place - but did look into the canal...so nothing to complain...

Bathroom - tidy and compact - nothing like the bad reviews ...spotless clean and the shower room was very spacious - didnt look like though....

Bus Stop: very near takes to Old city...

Business centre: The best I have seen in any hotel so far - colored printers had me excited as we printed lots of maps etc.

Lounge: very modern, trendy and spacious....looked very high end

BOTTOMLINE: A very elegant and modern hotel, full value for money. Maybe as the hotel has recently opened, it was exceptionally clean. BUT if maintained properly wrt service and physical condition, this could be a rage in times to come.


CAVEAT: Room only meant for partners as bathroom is a Ground glass cubicle and low privacy, but I dont think That should be a problem.

Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank palnrz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2009

I looked at all sorts of hotels and apartments which could accommodate 2 adults and 2 children in separate but connecting rooms in Copenhagen, and all cost nearly double the price of Wakeup Copenhagen. So I took the punt and booked in for WUC for a week after it opened, and was very impressed with the decision we made!

Copenhagen is incredibly expensive. It's difficult to find anywhere 'cheap' to stay in CPH, particularly when you want space like we do with the kids.

All the previous positive reviews are correct... while we stayed at the hotel, our only issue worth mentioning to reception was the air conditioning issues, which sound like they have been fixed :)

It's a cozy hotel, doesn't have bar fridges, nor telephones, but has a fine TV (make sure that any connecting doors are shut so that remote controls don't turn on or up the wrong TV!!!) Showers are cozy, but enjoyable, beds are very comfortable, lighting is adequate, double glazed windows open a little bit with a safety chain attached, curtains are bright and vibrant. Wifi throughout is fantastic & reliable.

It's no frills, but exceptionally clean, neat, simple and efficient. It does what a typical tourist in CPH wants to have it do... sleep them and feed them... And it does it close to the main station and Tivoli :)

The construction site out our window was very active day AND night, possibly in the lead up to the Climate Change Conference... This brought great delight to our 2 boys who were caught with their heads under the curtains late at night watching the cranes!

Breakfast was very basic, bread/rolls, liverpostej, hams, cheese, condiments, cereals, some fruit, milk, coffee, juice. Nothing exciting, but something to get the day started.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Wake Up Copenhagen to business people, every day tourists, families (with young and older children) and family and friends.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LucyAU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2009

Room: 2.00 x 4.50 metres, including bathroom with frosted glass walls. Modern looking, minimalistic design in white and chrome, a dark wooden floor and bright green curtains. Comfortable double bed with duvet and pillow. One big squared window, a small glass desk, flatscreen TV. No storage. Airconditioning works, but can not yet be adjusted individually, i.e. room temperature is the same throughout the entire hotel (19 degrees Celsius). With the window closed the room is quiet.

Bathroom: Clean. New towels + soap and shampoo every day, cramped round shower unit (not for 100K+ people) with high pressure hot water. The glass walls of the shower are only cleaned in between guests.

Staff: friendly, helpful. Cleaning crew starts knocking doors at 9:00 AM.

New good bicycles for rent for 115 Danish Krones per day. (Ask for a bike with lights, as not all of them have those, and without them you can get fined by the police.)
Luggage storage costs 20 Krones.

Breakfast: see other reviews

Location: Hotel is situated on a construction ground, but this does not pose any real inconvenience. 10 min. walk to and from Copenhagen Central Station. (Central Station is 15 min. by train from Kastrup Airport.) Tivoli: 12 min. walk. Stroget (=main shopping area): 16 min. walk.

The hotel is very good value for money; the budget traveller who has passed the stage of youth hostels, will have a hard time finding a better deal in Copenhagen.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robertkleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2009

Other reviews are all correct. The hotel is bright, new, neat and clean and all that you need for visiting Copenhagen. The Air-Con had been fixed and it worked perfectly throughout the hotel. The breakfast seemed improved from some of the previous comments. It is still only a continental breakfast so no hot foods, but plenty of cereals, breads, spreads, meats, cheeses and fresh fruit. Oh and also coffee!

The staff were very friendly and helpful and seemed to know the area well and could help with any tourist information. The snacks they sell at reception seem to be reasonably priced, the free wifi all over the hotel is fast and always available. The room was very clean and the rooms was serviced to a high standard. There were bikes (in good condition) for rent which was very convenient. The hotel had good access and the parking was fine and plentiful (although currently open air only). There is still a lot of construction going on in the area but it wasn't noisy during the weekend. The rooms are the same on all levels but just have different views. At the moment most views include the cranes and construction sites so it doesn't really matter what level you end up on.

All in all we enjoyed the hotel and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ren209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2009

If all you need about a hotel is a bed to sleep in and a decent shower when you want one - this is the place to go! Wakeup is designed in a very modern style, the small rooms can swallow two persons plus their stuff - and that's about it.
We loved the design, breakfast offered anything we needed for a relaxed start into each day in CPH. Thre restaurant looked cool too, the lamps were (as we found out) pretty expensive, though they looked like candles, hung up on the ceiling upside down. Nice detail!
It made us grumpy that the AC did not yet work, although the hotel had opened almost a month earlier. Pretending to "have a problem with air condition" and "having people work on that" sounded like a lame excuse for "sorry, our AC people are VERY late getting the system up and running". Sleeping with open window (a must if you did not want to die of heat and bad air due to that AC being down) brought tons of noise from rattling trains and rock-around-the-clock construction work at a congress center-building next door. No good!
And it was either a bad trained rookie cleaning our room or a management order to keep costs low. Tons of dust on the floor and under the bed (creeping out whenever the wind freshened up), no cleaning of the shower after we used it, so stains of soap and lime gathered at the glass walls of the shower cabin.
Overall a good pick for the budget oriented, style-loving crowd with some weaknesses to be dealt with. And, yes we also wonder, how the house will look in two years...
Good luck, wakeup, you have it in your genes! Just give it a shot.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank starball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
Wakeup Copenhagen, Borgergade
Wakeup Copenhagen, Borgergade
#32 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,318 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Cabinn City Hotel
Cabinn City Hotel
#49 of 116 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,629 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Ibsens Hotel
Ibsens Hotel
#21 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Vesterbro
Hotel Nebo
Hotel Nebo
#50 of 116 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
First Hotel Mayfair
First Hotel Mayfair
#29 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Copenhagen Island Hotel
Copenhagen Island Hotel
#16 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wakeup Copenhagen Carsten Niebuhrs Gade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wakeup Copenhagen Carsten Niebuhrs Gade

Property: Wakeup Copenhagen Carsten Niebuhrs Gade
Address: Carsten Niebuhrs Gade 11 | 1577 Kobenhavn V, Copenhagen 1560, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Inner Vesterbro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Copenhagen
#25 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
#29 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Wakeup Copenhagen Carsten Niebuhrs Gade 2*
Number of rooms: 510
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wakeup Copenhagen is located in the heart of the city within walking distance of Tivoli Gardens, Town Hall Square, the pedestrian shopping streets and the waterfront.Measuring 12-15 m2 in area all guest rooms at Wakeup Copenhagen are comfortable and modern, en-suite, air conditioned and come with multi-channel, flat screen TV, a good-sized desk and a free wireless internet connection as standard. Bed size 160 cm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wakeup Copenhagen Carsten Niebuhrs Gade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wakeup Copenhagen Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing