We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small - clean - affordable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wakeup Copenhagen Carsten Niebuhrs Gade
Ranked #40 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Hearst, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Small - clean - affordable”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The Room are very very small ( and i really mean small ) like 7 feet by 16 feet and that includes the bathroom area. Its about 115 square feet. But once you get past the size - the room is functional, very clean and the price was right ( we paid approx 125$ ) if you are visiting and going back to the room to sleep - its perfect... Breakfast is healthy .. It is located just far enough from downtown to be quiet, yet some noise is heard from the tracks depending on what side of the hotel your room is !!

The hotel next door - the Trivoli - has great restaurants if you are in the mood for a more upscale meal... be sure to visit Nyvan Street

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the back or side of the hotel - not the front - because of the trains !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HSRFH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,813 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    572
    1,348
    631
    171
    91
See reviews for
332
1,167
295
472
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for one night in March this year. The location is near central station, about a 10min walk. Whilst the location is good as it's near the station, it is on the opposite side of the city centre so it does take a little while to get to / from the hotel. It's also next to a canal so expect some extra wind chill. The hotel itself is very clean, new and modern. The staff were polite and friendly. We arrived around 11am and told our room wasn't ready till 3pm. We were offered to pay for an upgrade to a room available now but we decided to go explore Copenhagen instead. They have a luggage holding facility for 20 Krone. As we didn't have any Krone on us one of the staff gave us 20 Krone for free which was a lovely gesture. Our room was nice, a bit small but nice none-the-less. I actually enjoyed how the room was set-up with the shower as apart of the room. Gives it a "futuristic" feel. As others have mentioned the shower doors don't fully close. This is because one of the doors gets stuck, so if you look up and see where the rails are you can easily move the door to allow it to fully close. The bed was comfortable, it was a decent sized double bed, easily fit me and my partner in there. The blanket was only a single though, which I found odd. They provide another blanket but again it's only single, so my partner and I ended up having to have our own blanket thus preventing us from snuggling. The TV isn't in-line with the bed so if you're wanting to watch tv whilst in bed I suggest moving the bed over and then moving it back once you're finished.

Overall our stay there was pleasant. You definitely get what you pay for but I would be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mathew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

+ Good value for money based on the fact that you get a modern and central hotel

+/- The room is nothing extra, but has an okay bed, size, etc. Cleanliness allright, the shower should however have been cleaned much better (easy to see due to glass doors/walls)

- Poor breakfast (costs 70 DKK) with very (!) little to choose from
- Even though the hotel is located nearby the main train station (so much so you can hear the trains quite well if your room is facing the "wrong" way), you have to walk some distance to get to a kiosk/shop or restaurant

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oslolosen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

I arrived super early and was told my room wasn't ready yet so I opted to upgrade to a "Heaven" room for an extra 100 DKK/night instead of waiting until 3pm. I happily paid extra because I had an early flight into Copenhagen and just wanted to take a power nap, but otherwise, a standard room is fine. The 12th floor view overlooked the train station so it was blah in the daytime but you do get an amazing view of the sunset in the evening. Plus, the wifi was great.

I was worried about the location but it was a quick 10-minute walk from the train station. However, you wouldn't want to do the walk too late in the evening because while Carsten Niebuhrs Gade is well lit, there are parts of Bernstorffsgade that are pitch black (no street lightening from either side) when walking from the station. I was surprised because Bernstorffsgade is actually the bigger street. I didn't feel unsafe at 8pm, but I don't think I'd want to do the walk too much later than that because it's a really quiet area.

Another thing I didn't love was the design of the shower. When the sliding doors shut, there's still a small gap left and the doors can easily open if you accidentally bump the handles; the bathroom floor always ended up fairly wet. A big thing to note is while you can't really see anything going on in the bathroom (just shadows or an ankle at the most because there's a clear panel along the bottom of the glass wall), you will hear everything so that's something to consider if you're staying in a room with a friend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank framboise8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norge
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Stayed here when going to a concert, didn't want to spend much on the hotel since we were only going to be there for sleep.

Hardly a ten-minute walk from the train station (with rooms overlooking it), we found the hotel to be in a bit of a dead area. No shops or anything nearby, just offices and residental buildings.

Our rooms weren't ready when we arrived, but for a small fee we could upgrade to "heaven rooms" on the top floor, which were ready. Apparently they start cleaning top-down, hence the top rooms are always ready first. You may want to order a heaven room already if you need it to be ready when you arrive, though they have some luggage storage in the basement.

Rooms were clean and seemed quite fresh, the bed was comfortable and there was hot water in the shower. What more do you need? I also had a chair and a small desk, a tv and free wifi (that actually worked!).

Didn't use the "snack bar" or the breakfast buffet, but it looked like they had the most basic stuff.

I happily recommend this if you want a budget hotel (or bed and breakfast), central in Copenhagen. Just don't expect a gym, restaurant and all extras.

Room Tip: Rooms on top floors are cleaned first, and earlier available for check-in (the other rooms are avail...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for a month, during my business trip. This is a new hotel, and you will get what you pay for, I would say that it is a good budget hotel. Its near to Copenhagen Central station so easy to commute anywhere (10-15min walk from hotel).

I stayed on different floors and would suggest high floors to stay facing Tivoli as you might be lucky one to see great Fireworks quite often :)

The rooms are pretty small and very congested with table chairs and bed, they don’t have almira in the rooms (at least not in the rooms in which I stayed).

As far as restaurant is concerned I would rate it Ok. The internet speed of this hotel is very good.

There is a mall near by so in the evening you can get lot of options to have your supper.
Overall my experience is ok except one thing: I didn't like drinking water from the tap of tiny washroom. :-(

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank GrigariousTraverler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Good value for money, centrally located and clean. Rooms are basic with shower, no bath. No kettle in room. Ideal location near Tivolli gardens but be warned it was not open when we visited, re-opens April. Would visit again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dimples_41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
Wakeup Copenhagen, Borgergade
Wakeup Copenhagen, Borgergade
#32 of 116 in Copenhagen
2,496 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Tivoli Hotel
Tivoli Hotel
#28 of 116 in Copenhagen
3,030 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Cabinn City Hotel
Cabinn City Hotel
#45 of 116 in Copenhagen
1,753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Vesterbro
Hotel Nebo
Hotel Nebo
#52 of 116 in Copenhagen
988 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Saga Hotel
Saga Hotel
#72 of 116 in Copenhagen
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wakeup Copenhagen Carsten Niebuhrs Gade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wakeup Copenhagen Carsten Niebuhrs Gade

Property: Wakeup Copenhagen Carsten Niebuhrs Gade
Address: Carsten Niebuhrs Gade 11 | 1577 Kobenhavn V, Copenhagen 1560, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Inner Vesterbro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Copenhagen
#25 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
#29 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Wakeup Copenhagen Carsten Niebuhrs Gade 2*
Number of rooms: 510
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wakeup Copenhagen is located in the heart of the city within walking distance of Tivoli Gardens, Town Hall Square, the pedestrian shopping streets and the waterfront.Measuring 12-15 m2 in area all guest rooms at Wakeup Copenhagen are comfortable and modern, en-suite, air conditioned and come with multi-channel, flat screen TV, a good-sized desk and a free wireless internet connection as standard. Bed size 160 cm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Wakeup Copenhagen Carsten Niebuhrs Gade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wakeup Copenhagen Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing