We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small rooms but very nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wakeup Copenhagen Carsten Niebuhrs Gade
Ranked #37 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
colorado
Level Contributor
109 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Small rooms but very nice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2011

This hotel was exactly what I was expecting. If you have ever been to Studio M in Singapore it is exactly like that. It has the feel of a trendy botique hotel while being newer and modern. It is about a 10 min walk from the train/metro station. About a 5 min walk from Tevoli (amusement park) and about a 20-30 min walk from either the castle or palace buildings. So all in all it is a great location. Other hotels in the area that are of the same price are not nearly as nice and the ones that are comparable in niceness are way more expensive. There is no in-room coffee but you can buy it by the cup in the lobby along with snacks. They do provide a small bar of soap as well as a one-time use of shower gel/shampoo. Rooms are quite small but how much room does one need to sleep? The bed was comfy and other than small the room was very comfortable. Free computers/Internet in the lobby. There are 6 computers and there was never a wait when I was down there. Luggage storage for 20K in the basement in case you have a late flight out like we did then you do not have to lug it around with you all over which would have been awful. Just be sure when you lock the door that it is closed because once you lock it you pull the key out and if you accidentally lock it before it is closed then you have to pay again. Trendy and modern lobby to hand out in with a TV in case you have time to kill before heading to the train station to get to the airport.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lzinsmaster11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamWakeUp, Guest Relations Manager at Wakeup Copenhagen Carsten Niebuhrs Gade, responded to this review, June 15, 2011
Thank you for your nice and positive review. We´re looking forward to seeing you again at WakeUp Copenhagen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,703 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    554
    1,308
    592
    163
    86
See reviews for
312
1,119
290
450
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Monument, Colorado
Level Contributor
207 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2011

Yes, the rooms are small, but this hotel is clean, stylish and affordable. The rooms had everything you need, but they are very cozy. We really enjoyed the free internet at the business center. We also stored our luggage at the hotel, which was convenient, since we had a midnight flight to Turkey.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pedrothelion77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2011

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. There are good reviews on Tripadvisor but it is a 2 star hotel for a reason.

GOOD - Good price. Very clean rooms. Nice 32" HD TV. Triple glazed windows keep out noise. Modern.

BAD - Aircon in the 2 rooms we tried was broken and would leak if left on for any length of time. However when we complained we did get free breakfast and bike hire for a day. Unfortunately the hotel is near the train station / other building work and is noisy if you have to open the windows. The breakfast is not worth the money. All you get is cereal / bread & jam. There were only 2 pillows (really thin ones) in the bedroom and the hotel would not provide any more. There are no shops nearby and snacks / drinks for sale in the lobby are twice the price of those at the 7 Eleven shop in the train station.

Room Tip: Large rooms look to be near the lifts so may be no
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TommyBBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamWakeUp, Guest Relations Manager at Wakeup Copenhagen Carsten Niebuhrs Gade, responded to this review, June 15, 2011
Thanks for your review. We appriciate very much to get feedback from our guests. I´m sorry that you had the unfortune of two bad airconditions.
We ARE a 2-stared hotel, and rooms are small, breakfast is "danish" breakfast. We were build near the main train station, which lots think as a positive thing, because it is central and others see it as a negative thing, while when going to sleep, you can hear the trains from some rooms (rooms turning towards the trainstation).
We have gotten the "green-key, which means that we are thinking of the environment and therefore only have one pillow per person, not to have to much laundry, using too much soap etc. Unfortunally some like pillows big and fluffy others like them small and thin. I can only regret that it wasn´t in your favour.
Our shop is a bit expensive, so is our exchange rate, but we are a hotel and the shop offer we have is just an extra service for those that wont walk for cheeper. That the nearest shop is at 7 Eleven at the main train station is not our fault.
Hope that you all in all were satisfied with WakeUp Copenhagen. We try our best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2011

The location is just 5 minutes away from Main Train Station, and from Airport the Train takes you just for 5 minutes to Main Statin. You can rent the Hotel's bike which is upsolutely perfect to see all Copenhagen by bike. Very nice rooms , a little bir small but enough. So clean , quite , breakfast was enough , walking distance to Tivoli Garden and everywhere. Such a huge nice place to stay in Copenhage. Stuff was so nice and polite , so helpful. Thanks for everything WakeUp Copenhagen :)

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johncell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2011

The Hotel was very good value - ( managed to get a deal stay three nightsand pay for two - via Asda's website) The room though compact was more than enough for one person. The room and bathroom were very clean and the power shower was good. I had no problems on the very Busy Sunday morning with breakfast as the Hotel was full, the choice available was good value, and the Restaurant was nice overloooking a patio.

My request for a room away from the lift was taken care off and I didn't experience any noise from rooms adjacent or in the corridoors. As I had paid a bargin price, my room was on a lower floor but I hadn't come to Copenhagen to stay in my room for the week-end - I also didn;t experience any queues at check-in or out and the staff on the desk were helpfull!! For a very expensive city an all round good choice!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrtibs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haaksbergen
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2011

Stayed here with a few friends for a short stay in Copenhagen. A very unfriendly and 'cold' hotel.
The rooms just outspace a small closet and have tiny beds that can only be entered from one side. When complaining about the poor quality of the hotel at hotel staff i was told that the were going to 'kick me out of the hotel' when i complained any longer. I only asked them if we could get one more room for a fair price. Staff an hotel policy resemble 'easy jet/ryan air style....

Some more disadvantages:
-Long rows at check-in (self service counters not working)
-Unfriendly staff
-Overcrowded breakfast
-poor breakfast quality
-Too expensive for whay you get
-And more

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Achterberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamWakeUp, Guest Relations Manager at Wakeup Copenhagen Carsten Niebuhrs Gade, responded to this review, June 15, 2011
Thanks for you review. Also good for us to get the bad reviews!
First of all we have to point out that we are a 2-stared hotel, which means that we are restriced in the service among others just beeing two receptionist at work at the time. We have 510 rooms and are often fully booked, so ques and lines is impossible for us to avoid. That the self serving maschines doens´t work, can only be unfortunally and we apologize for that.
Our breakfast menu is "danish breakfast", and probably not what some expect of a hotel breakfast meal, but it´s actually cheap compared what you might pay somewhere else in Copenhagen.
Second of all, we always try our best to give the best service possible for us, but it is also difficult to maintain a smile, when beeing face to face with sometimes unresonable complaints. Not saying that was the case in you matter! In this præcise case I know that you asked for an ekstra room less the price, that we offer, and you beeing unsatisfied with the size of the rooms, which we list on our web page beeing only 12 m2 should have been to your knowledge. The receptionist in matter didn´t tell you, that she would kick you out of the hotel, she most extra ordinary offered you your money back, so you could find another, better hotel to your satisfacion, which is something we normally never do. We are ofcause very sorry, that you had a bad experience at WakeUp, and I´m sure that the communication was turned in bad direction. Hope this respond has made you less dissapointed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, Vermont
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2011

We just spent 6 nights at Wakeup Copenhagen and were very happy with our room and the hotel. The room was small - don't plan on unpacking your bag - but if you plan to spend most of your time out of your room, exploring the city, then it's no big deal. The huge window that opened all the way was awesome and our room had a great view of the inner courtyard. The bathroom and shower are ingenious for a small space. We did not experience any noisy neighbors - in fact, we only encountered other guests on our floor twice or three times in 6 days! Our room was clean and comfortable and I loved the funky mod design and decor of the whole hotel.

As others have said, it's only a 5-10 minute walk to the central train station, and the #11 bus stops right outside the hotel. We found it to be very convenient to Stroeget, Tivoli and the rest of Copenhagen's sights.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crashcatblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
Wakeup Copenhagen, Borgergade
Wakeup Copenhagen, Borgergade
#33 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,324 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Cabinn City Hotel
Cabinn City Hotel
#49 of 116 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,634 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Ibsens Hotel
Ibsens Hotel
#21 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Vesterbro
Hotel Nebo
Hotel Nebo
#50 of 116 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
First Hotel Mayfair
First Hotel Mayfair
#27 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Copenhagen Island Hotel
Copenhagen Island Hotel
#16 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wakeup Copenhagen Carsten Niebuhrs Gade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wakeup Copenhagen Carsten Niebuhrs Gade

Property: Wakeup Copenhagen Carsten Niebuhrs Gade
Address: Carsten Niebuhrs Gade 11 | 1577 Kobenhavn V, Copenhagen 1560, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Inner Vesterbro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Copenhagen
#25 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
#29 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Wakeup Copenhagen Carsten Niebuhrs Gade 2*
Number of rooms: 510
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wakeup Copenhagen is located in the heart of the city within walking distance of Tivoli Gardens, Town Hall Square, the pedestrian shopping streets and the waterfront.Measuring 12-15 m2 in area all guest rooms at Wakeup Copenhagen are comfortable and modern, en-suite, air conditioned and come with multi-channel, flat screen TV, a good-sized desk and a free wireless internet connection as standard. Bed size 160 cm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wakeup Copenhagen Carsten Niebuhrs Gade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wakeup Copenhagen Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing