We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great meat, but at a price......”
Review of MASH

MASH
Ranked #75 of 2,433 Restaurants in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $100
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Danish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Neighborhood: Indre By (Inner City)
Description: MASH – Modern American Steak House offers something completely new –a sophisticated modern american steakhouse with a twist of danish informal eating and drinking. The idea is to deliver an authentic steak dinner with lots of flavour served in very nice designed surroundings.MASH – Modern American Steakhouse – A sincere approach to elegant and refined dining set in relaxed and comfortable surroundings. We present a culinary pleasure and experience that will captivate the senses. The contemporary design of the restaurant is aesthetically pleasing on the eye, as are the outstanding meat cuts on offer.We welcome you to the MASH adventure.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“great meat, but at a price......”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

This is ALL about being trendy, you can eat at Michelin starrred restaurants in Copenhagen, for what you pay here, so if you are meeting up with a hip crowd, this joint doesnt get any hipper.... that being said, prices are ridiculous, and I do not c this as realistic, grab your friends and go lots and lots of places elsewhere and spend less than half.

Still if you are running with the in pack and/or doing a business event, it is really hard to beat.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leslie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

915 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    386
    337
    121
    53
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“great steaks but does not come cheap”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

I visited MASH with clients in June. The quality of the meat is just excellent. Certainly one of the best steak I ever had. At MASH they take steaks very seriously. Quality does not come cheap and therefore the price reflect the quality of the food.
I would go back and I would feel to recommend.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank A A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Michigan
2 reviews
“Greedy and poor service, but decent steaks!”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Before you even say hello, you spend 10USD on a bottle of still water they would open and then bring to your table! This is a trick, as most of us would not spend 10USD on a bottle of water!

The steaks are decent, but nothing compared to a premium steak house in the US or Canada. However, the prices are premium. A normal size steak is about 80USD!!!

When you get the bill, they would add the credit card charges, which is not permitted by VISA or Mastercard. This is just another way to trick you and separate you from your money!

The steaks were decent, but the value is really poor!

In my opinion, the place is just too greedy.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tonymichel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent steak!”
Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

Really enjoyed my recent visit to Mash! The restaurant was busy and its definately advisable to book in advance. I visited on a Tues evening and it was full.
There are standby tables at the entrance next to the bar if you do not have a table reserved but this area is busy and could be noisy sk I would book ahead for sure.
I ordered the 200g rump steak with a side of fries and I was not disappointed. The steak was perfect, the cut was more like fillet, and cooked just as ordered.
Yes the food is expensive but I think its worth it!
The service was good, staff were helpful, knowledgeable and attentive.
I thought the decor was a little uninspiring but thats the only slight negative for me.
Will definately return!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LottieG2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Good, but expensive”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Yes, the steaks are amazing and the sides are well prepared and tasty. They could work on their desserts though. Desserts are way below standard.

Service attentive, but a bit unfocused. I also asked for a glass of wine to accompany my meal and they gave me the most expensive wine by the glass. That's NOT good service!
The bartender (a bearded one) was great - attentive, professional and smiling.

Atmosphere really good, but noisy when the restaurant starts filling up. Didn't bother us though.

Prices - well, as a lot of reviewers have mentioned, the prices are a bit too hight for what you get. We spent 1700 DK (320 USD/195 GBP) for 2 steaks, 4 sides,2 glasses of champagne, 2 glasses of wine, coffee and dessert.

Never the less - a good restaurant worth visiting - at least if you're not on a budget.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kaprifol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MASH also viewed

Copenhagen, Zealand
Copenhagen, Zealand
 
Copenhagen, Zealand
 

Been to MASH? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing